We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, a little bit remote but enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice hotel, a little bit remote but enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

received a warm welcome at checkin, room was a bit dated and carpet was almost threadbare in places but hotel was undergoing a refurb at the time of our stay, very clean hotel

food for breakfast and dinner was lovely if not a little scarce on the plates for dinner but was always well cooked and there was plenty to choose from, very friendly staff

a great hotel if you want to get away from it all to explore the highlands but its a good hours drive or more to the nearest city of Inverness so my advice would be to plan your trip carefully so that you dont eb=nd up needing another holiday from too much driving, would stay here again and recommend it to friends for the great service we received an d also for seeing the stunning Scottish Highlands

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldielocks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    143
    51
    20
    30
See reviews for
50
192
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

rooms bit shabby out dated no sky tv .which is a basic in most hotels today . could be cleaner food was good staff in general were a credit to the hotel one young english girl on reception could not have been any nicer was exceptional . only one member of staff had an attitude . on whole staff great food ok rooms need improving but ok for the price .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cb19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed 16-21 May 2011. Hotel room was excellent. The Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful with various options on offer. The evening four course meal was good. All in all a very good stay and superb value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bilko45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review The Duke of Gordon Hotel. It is always nice to receive our guest comments and gives the team a boost when they read that guests have found them to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Highlands in the future.
Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were a group of 28 visiting the Duke of Gordon on a trip to the Cairngorms with Cairngorm Travel. Fantastic service from start to finish. Superb location, fabulous staff, with wonderful food beautifully served. Huge variety and top quality. Spectacular silver service with a smile. We were made to feel both welcome and wanted. Comfortable sitting in ballroom with good entertainment every night. We have a lot of experience of coach tours and this was one of the best. We will certainly go with Cairngorm Travel again as they go the extra mile to make sure their clients have the best. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: David and staff will facilitate all your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seagulls88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday with us here and look forward to welcoming you back to the Highlands again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night this weekend. I cringed when reading the previous reviews slating the place. It was in my opinion thoroughly clean and warm with extremely helpful reception staff. We were made to feel so welcome as soon as I walked up to the desk to ask for a room after an 8hr journey .There were lots of coach holiday people staying here and I must say everyone looked very happy to me, there was a very relaxed cheerful atmosphere in the dining room and throughout the whole place. Again in the morning the receptionist was extremely helpful and put herself out considerably for us(Re:info on fishing in the area). It was very much appreciated.I also had the chicken caesar salad in the bar which was indeed very salty as another reviewer remarked. It needs to be toned down a lot.Im a great eater but i couldnt quite finish it that night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llyngwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for your valued comments. It is refreshing to know that you found the hotel welcoming and the team helpful. I encourage all of the team members to read the comments on tripadvisor to help them improve and understand the guest needs and expectations. your positive comments will encourage us all.

As a result of yours and previous reviews, Chef is sourcing a new supply for the Caesar Dressing which will contain less salt.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe onward journey and look forward to welcoming you to the Duke of Gordon again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We didn't stay in the hotel, but stopped for some food on the way home from Inverness. It was utterly awful! Fish and chips...dry, overcooked, grey peas (with a black one thrown in for good measure) and what appeared to be a grilled or fried lemon!! Caesar salad... again grey.. old, tiny , yellow strips of lettuce suffocated in some kind of sauce (never been near an anchovy). The "croutons" were really deep fried pieces of bread that oozed fat and the chicken on top had been heavily salted and fried...disgusting! The curry... wet, over cooked rice and lifeless chicken which my friend couldn't eat at all.
We complained and after discussing the complaint with the chef were told by , I assume the manageress, that despit the fact the food look fine to them, we could get the curry for nothing and the salad for half price, but she was clearly not pleased.
The hotel looked tired and lacking in any kind of atmosphere and is definitely a place to avoid.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank nerudapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your bar meal in our Ghillies Lounge and Garden Room during your visit last week and I apologise that you found the food not to your liking. I understand that you were offered replacement meals at the time, which was declined and the unconsumed items removed from the bill with our apologies.

There are a couple of items in your review that I would like to comment on. The sauce on the Caesar salad, this is a traditional Caesar dressing which contains anchovy. The garlic croutons are tossed in a pan with garlic butter and finished under the grill for a few moments. The cut side of lemons, when served with seafood dishes, are placed on the griddle for a few moments to seal the open end. This helps avoid the juice spitting in all directions when squeezed. Menu items are cooked to order from fresh locally and nationally sourced produce and not prepared in advance enabling us to serve the food as fresh as possible to the customer.

We have an excellent reputation both locally and with our visitors for food here at the Duke of Gordon. We have had the Visit Scotland anonymous review and grading visit within the last 3 weeks and received excellent comments for both food and accommodation , It is unfortunate that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations and for this we apologise.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe onward journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I read comments with interest. Either the people reporting, saying that the place was Fantastic are either blind, are easily pleased or both. My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights (this was 4 nights too long) Our bedroom was room 567. This room was not particularly clean and the ceiling was cracked and obviously suffered a leak of some sort months ago. Paintwork in the room was a disgrace as was the bathroom. Tiles were coming off the floor and this was a health and safety issue as it could have easily caused injury. The bath side panely was damaged and the toilet almost came off the wall when one finished doing what one does on these things.
The food in the dining room was totally tastless and bland. I do realize that taste is an individual thing, however it could be discribed as baby food for the elderly. Having mentioned the elderly I must admit that I am 74 and my wife 64 so one could say that from an elderly point of view my discription has some validity.
Would we stay there again, guess what NO!!!!

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank daljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Duke of Gordon Hotel. Please accept my sincere apology that you found the meals at the hotel disappointing and not to your taste. All meals are freshly prepared daily and the produce is sourced locally. Majority of our dishes are not heavily spiced or seasoned allowing the guest to add further seasoning to their individual taste.
As you have read in previous reviews the hotel is in the middle of a 2 year redecoration plan. To date, 42 of the 65 rooms and several public areas have been fully decorated. It would be nice to get all rooms decorated at the same time, but from a practical point, this is not possible. Unfortunately the room you were in has not yet been done.
It is my intention to have all bedrooms complete by December 2011. The public areas we hope to have completed by early spring 2012. I asure you of our best intentions at all times and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing