We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our favourite holiday home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kirkstone Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Watt2206
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favourite holiday home!”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We returned for the 3rd year running to Kirkstone this month and still love the place - by far our favourite holiday home and a real home from home. Everything you could ever wish for is there to wind down, relax and just take in the peaceful surroundings!
From the house facilities, to the hot tub and sauna, to the fantastic enclosed garden which is perfect for dogs, to the beautiful remote surroundings with great walks on the doorstep.
There's plenty to do in the local area. The lodge isn't far from Kingussie - whilst there's not much exciting happening in the village, Aviemore isn't far away and has plenty of things to do. We visited the Wildlife Park and the Funicular Railway with our (toddler) daughter and we all enjoyed both. Lots of good places to eat in the surrounding areas too - that said we spent a lot of our time in our lovely lodge, having home cooked meals and take away. Could not recommend this place enough, we've already booked for next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back :-) thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethColl1...
1 review
“Perfect week!”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just came home after the most wonderful week here! I searched the web for days to find the perfect place to stay and I was not disappointed. Even though it sleeps 8, it wasn't too big for just my husband and I (and our 2 dogs). There is so much to do in the local area, and just short drives away. We could have easily spent a second week without running out of things to do. The house was exactly what we wanted and wouldn't have changed a thing! We will absolutely be going back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thank you Beth for your review really appreciate it. Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed email nights midweek at the beginning of February and had a wonderful time! The lodge was perfect: modern, clean, beautiful scenery, and the hot tub and sauna were great! It is so refreshing to find a place welcoming of our pets- they are after all part of the family! Will definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2016
Thanks Chris for your feedback! you are right about pets :-) Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintSauce...
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Well Kirkstone Lodge certainly has the wow factor. What a funky house! beautifuly designed inside and out. Perfect for a quiet break or a base for you adventures in the surrounding area. The hot tub and sauna were superb, what more can I say! I'd love to visit the lodge again! Superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkinglo...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“FAB!”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This place was great it has all you need and was warm and clean on arrival.The hot tub and sauna is an added bonus. We have been visiting Scotland for the past 17 years and this is in our top 3!! well done you. Brilliant Im sure we will be back..................

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2015
Thank you for lovely review, glad we made your top 3 :-) have a fab Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce M
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable well equipped house”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Had a lovely stay here 6-13 Nov. Enjoyed hot tub under the stars. High quality beds, bedding and kitchen. Comfortable and warm, the log stove enhanced our stay. Lovely forest walks from the door - when it wasn't raining! Enjoyable welcome basket. Would stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and hot tub
Liked least: Spiral staircase
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Thank you Joyce for your lovely review, look forward to welcoming you back again. Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AM F
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accomodation”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This lodge is in a area of outstanding beauty with lots to do for those who want out door pursuits. For dog owners like us it was perfect with miles of safe walking within the forest and surrounding area. The lodge itself is extremely comfortable , spotlessly clean with everything to make you have a chilled relaxing holiday . We loved it and will certainly return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: It was all good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing