We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kirkstone Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed email nights midweek at the beginning of February and had a wonderful time! The lodge was perfect: modern, clean, beautiful scenery, and the hot tub and sauna were great! It is so refreshing to find a place welcoming of our pets- they are after all part of the family! Will definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2016
Thanks Chris for your feedback! you are right about pets :-) Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintSauce...
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Well Kirkstone Lodge certainly has the wow factor. What a funky house! beautifuly designed inside and out. Perfect for a quiet break or a base for you adventures in the surrounding area. The hot tub and sauna were superb, what more can I say! I'd love to visit the lodge again! Superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkinglo...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“FAB!”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This place was great it has all you need and was warm and clean on arrival.The hot tub and sauna is an added bonus. We have been visiting Scotland for the past 17 years and this is in our top 3!! well done you. Brilliant Im sure we will be back..................

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2015
Thank you for lovely review, glad we made your top 3 :-) have a fab Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce M
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable well equipped house”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Had a lovely stay here 6-13 Nov. Enjoyed hot tub under the stars. High quality beds, bedding and kitchen. Comfortable and warm, the log stove enhanced our stay. Lovely forest walks from the door - when it wasn't raining! Enjoyable welcome basket. Would stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and hot tub
Liked least: Spiral staircase
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Thank you Joyce for your lovely review, look forward to welcoming you back again. Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AM F
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accomodation”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This lodge is in a area of outstanding beauty with lots to do for those who want out door pursuits. For dog owners like us it was perfect with miles of safe walking within the forest and surrounding area. The lodge itself is extremely comfortable , spotlessly clean with everything to make you have a chilled relaxing holiday . We loved it and will certainly return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: It was all good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the first live chat to departure. High degree of interaction to make sure we felt welcome and special. There was nothing left out. Instructions to get there, instructions for the technology and where to recycle your bottles. Even recomended butchers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property
Liked least: internet connection was slow for a few days but so what
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Thank you for your fantastic review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil D
Huntly, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Kirkstone is a gem, lovely location, great facilities, stunning views.”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Booked a 3 night stay at Kirkstone for our party of 6 including 2 teenagers. Wasn't the easiest of properties to find and may be difficult to reach if staying in snowy/icy conditions but once we arrived there, we were met with stunning views from a lovely secluded location. There are other properties nearby but Kirkstone sits within it's own fenced off driveway and gardens with plenty parking space for cars. The house itself was superb, the entrance area had a tiled floor with loads of space/racks for shoes/boots, hanging jackets, it even had a rack for your skis if skiing is your thing. A pet basket and food/water bowls are even provided here if you have your pet with you. Into the open plan kitchen/dining/living area where there is ample seating/dining space for 8 guests. The enclosed log fire was one of our favorites and was lovely to sit there on an evening with a glass of malt whisky in your hand. The kitchen was well stocked with plenty cooking equipment and utensils as well as a coffee machine. The view from the large window in the living area was superb, looking out to the hills to the North & west of the property. 2 bedrooms downstairs, the 1st a large double room with ample fitted wardrobes and drawers/dressing table with 3 large velux windows also looking out to the North of the property. This bedroom also had a large en-suite bathroom with shower. The 2nd downstairs bedroom contained bunk beds which the 2 teenagers in our party used and had a shower room next to it. There was also a utility room next to that which had a washing machine and tumble drier etc. Up the spiral staircase was a large landing area which contained a bed settee if required. The upstairs bedroom was also well fitted out and also had an en-suite shower room. Outside, there is an area of decking which contained the hot-tub (nice and warm), a sauna and a large BBQ as well as outdoor table and chairs. We utilised the hot-tub and sauna every day and thoroughly enjoyed having them. The village of Kingussie is only a few miles away with a small supermarket, butcher shop etc and Aviemore is only slightly further with a Tesco's, small shops and plenty Restaurants, pubs etc. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at Kirkstone and wished we had longer than the 3 nights we had booked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, hot-tub/sauna, log fire
Liked least: Road to the property
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your feedback - thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing