We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the whole Xmas experience here.”
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Star Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
West Of Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the whole Xmas experience here.”
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed from 23rd Dec until 27th Dec and we thoroughly enjoyed our entire time there. The Staff are exceptional, nothing is too much for them. The food is plentiful and very well presented. You need another walking holiday to compensate for the meals you have eaten! On Xmas Eve we were out in the street to greet Santa and his Reindeer. The Hotel provides everyone with a camera to take pictures as a memento. Every guest received a present from Santa too, on Xmas day.

On our last day we went on the Funicular Railway and stood on the top of the Cairngorms. Magical moments. I had forgotten an item from the safe and the staff had already called me when I realised. Exveptional service and a great Xmas break.

We met some lovely people there and have kept in touch and have already booked for next year. There is a waiting list with regard to a New Year stay and we are already on that too.

  • Liked — That nothing was too much trouble. Friendly people & a great atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    71
    33
    19
    25
See reviews for
39
74
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in November, room was a reasonable size, toilet a little small, shower was big enough for me, and I'm 6' 2", nice and tidy, clean towels everyday.

The staff were always very pleasant and helpful, from the moment we arrived till the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The food was excellent, breakfast was cereal or porridge, toast, fruit juice, followed by a full Scottish or poached/scrambled eggs on toast. Dinner was 3 courses, with a different choice of courses each day, and good size portions. Final night was a 6 course banquet, with the haggis being piped in, don't eat much before dinner that day.

Entertainment on 2 of the nights we were there, first night was a man singing a selection of 60's, 70's, 80's and country songs. The second night was two men with accordion and guitar playing scottish dance music for people to dance to.

  • Liked — Very Friendly atomosphere.
  • Disliked — Toilet a little small.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank xyzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

As a family we regularly spend time at this hotel. As a suprise ruby wedding celebration for my brother and sister in law we booked a weekend break. The party included age ranges from early twenties to late fifties and not forgetting our trusted ten year old dog. As usual we cannot fault the food, accomodation, staff and entertainment. We sincerely hope that hotel and management continue to offer this standard of service and friendilness into the future, including the dog friendly environment.
Many thanks again the Qualters family (Falkirk)

  • Liked — Good food and friendilness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dogCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyll
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We have just come back from a 5 night stay at the Star Hotel.
I just cannot agree with the other reviews, Yes the food was excellent and we really can,t fault the food it was really good and plenty of it, Service was excellent staff all nice and worked hard.
The hotel itself is very dated we thought we were in an old folks home the way the chairs are set out in the lounge areas. The room we had was very small could not swing a cat, the bathroom shower room very small, my husband is over 6ft 2", so he came back with bruises ! He suffers from asthma and its triggered off by dander from dogs , we were not aware when we booked that there were going to be dogs in this hotel, I believe there was 5 staying at the same time as us, The first night we went to the entertainment there were two dogs there we thought the room was big enough for all of us but we were wrong, my husband had a dreadful asthma attack during the night so was ill all the next day, I do know people with dogs like to take their pets with them but how about the folks that get ill, (WE do like dogs its just that he gets ill.) I really do think we should know that this Hotel is a pet friendly hotel, had we known we would not have booked. Also one dog barked a lot, you get enough of that at home, do not need it on holiday! Will we be back, Sorry NO.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — Small room, and lots of stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Just back from a wonderful stay at The Star hotel in Kingussie. We stayed for a 5 night break in Sept. and cannot find fault.
We were welcomed by the owner, and shown to our room.
Good size, with large double bed, nice dressing table & warbrobe with plenty of space for all our walking gear. Tea & Coffe making facilities aswell as an iron & hairdryer. You can have the option of having a bath or shower, we chose bath, which was huge!
Ample car parking behind the hotel which also doubles as a little beer garden.
Breakfast & dinner included in price...and to be honest we have never eaten so much in our lives!!! Absolutely amazing especially for the price! A full range of choices for breakfast, fruits, cereals & of course porridge! Orange juice on tap! Once you've devoured that, a full breakfast menu to choose from...from the full traditional fried breakfast with all the trimmings, or a pick & mix, poached, scrambled or boiled eggs etc and lashings of toast with tea or coffee! More than enough to set you up for the day!
Heading out, Kingussie is an ideal spot and central for reaching most places, fort william, aviemore, mallaig etc...but even staying within the area, some lovely walks in and around for the beginner up. Newtonmore has a great "cats trail" 10k walk which is fairly flat and easy, and crosses some spectacular scenery.
When returning to the hotel and after a nice hot bath, prepare yourself for dinner...its mammouth! Select a starter, the soup is always highly recommended-pea & ham especially! Main course is varied every evening, and a great selection to choose from, wither it be the lamb, beef, pork, fish all are mouthwatering!!! And absolutely no scrimping on the size of portions!!!
If you can manage a pudding after all that...great traditional favourites, ruhbarb crumble is to die for!!!
The highland banquet is something else...haggis is even piped in!!!
Remember to starve yourself for this night....you've got 6 courses to get through...and everyones mamouth & mouthwatering!!!
After tea & coffee you can take yourself through to one of the bars, or one of the quiet lounges, or up to Ruthven Suite where a good mixture of entertainment is laid on, ranging from the traditional scottish nights, comedy & dance, country & western & 60's & 70's. All are great with a good atmosphere.
All staff were very very friendly, making you feel as one of their family, very hard working and always on call to cater to any requests.
Highly recommended to everyone, an absolute bargain & we will defo be back!
A nice mixture of guests, with some older guests returning year after year, we are in our late 20's and early 30's and had a thouroughly enjoyable time and would recomend this hotel to anyone at any age.
you'll love it!

  • Liked — FOOD - STAFF - LOCATION - EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cliffordandnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Have just returned from a very enjoyable 5 day stay at the Star Hotel.
All staff very helpful.

Rooms very old fashioned but have just had a facelift and are very clean with tea/coffee making facilities.

Food excellent although I have to admit I thought I'd gone back to the 1970s! eg Peach melba, Pear Belle Helene, Sherry Trifle!

Met lots of retired guests who return here time and again and who can blame them? At £129 for 5 days DB&B it is great value.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maldivesaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

hi i went here last year with my neighbour and friend and we both loved it and are planning a return visit soon, this hotel is the friendliest most welcoming one i have ever stayed in,( and i have visited all over the world) the staff are great and so nice, the decors a bit dated (me being polite)
but the hotel is clean and we didnt want for anyhting except perhaps a lift to our room which was in the gods so to speak. we stayed for 5 nights and only once did we decide to eat elsewhere, the atmosphere in this place makes it a great place to just unwind and have fun no airs and graces needed.
the wine at night with the meal was supermarket prices making for an even better time.
liz frae st andrews

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank nqueenmercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
199 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
664 reviews
2.3 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Property: The Star Hotel
Address: 32 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Kingussie
The Star Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing