We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We are amazed to read the reviews for our beloved Star Hotel - we have been regular guests for 23 years, we went in late October for one of our annual visits an we were a bit wary of what might be in front of us with the hotel having been sold. We need not have worried in the slightest our stay was as pleasant as it always was. We personally loved the changes in the meal times giving us much more flexibility to come an go as we wanted. The food was better than before and the staff were as friendly as they always were and Marie the manager was a fantastic host. There was little change in our room but I am sure given time the rooms will change. This for us has always been a home from home and are now relieved to see that it is not going to go out of our budget for a weekend away. Dont be put off by some of the scathing comments and go an enjoy the hospitality that you get for the money you pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the ballroom if yo dont want noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I have passed your comments on to the staff who will continue to make your stays with us as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again

Mhairi Moffat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

was looking for somewhere cheap to stay near Aviemore and found this place! the staff were really nice and the bar had a nice local feel to it!. The rooms are quite dated and could do with a refurb but it was clean!. Will defiantly use again when I am up snowboarding!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StuartF330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your review it is always encouraging when people enjoy their stay.
We will through time be refurbishing the rooms you are maybe aware that the purchased by the current owners only in September so it will all take time.
We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again.

Mhairi Moffat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Was the worst place I have been in a long time different to a few places in scotland.next time I will travel further in order to ensure I get the best place to take a well earner rest people around we're friendly enough but it wasn't the cleanest place I have had to stay at

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adele1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you found the staff pleasant . If you could phone me at the hotel 01540 661431 please we can discuss your other points as I would hate to think that there was somewhere that had not been cleaned properly.

Thank you again.

Mhairi Moffat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

stayed 2 nights at this hotel,was highly recomended by friends that had stayed there a few years ago so was very disappointed with what we got. on the Friday the food was so terrible we could not eat it it seemed like it was heated up in a microwave and the choice was very poor who wants to go to a hotel to eat mince and tatties, breakfast was slightly better and the manageress promised a better menu on the satarday night when we went to diner on the saturday we were given the same menu as the night before we were so disgusted we just left and went to the local takeaway, when we got back to our room there was a new menu put under our room door,we went to this hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding aniversary so you can emagine how disappointed we were we never got any kind of appologie , so i would not recommend this hotel to any one. All the good comments you see on this page and their website must be from the previous owners

Room Tip: not the star hotel kingussie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dissapionted1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.
From my understanding when I talked with you there was in fact nothing wrong with our food but you did not like the choice - the Mince and Tatties we a request as you know from other guests. The gentleman told me his Steak was beautiful. You also raved about our Black Pudding and were going to buy it online when you went home.
Ashley our young waitress was most distressed when she realised that she had given you the wrong menu but you did not give her the chance to explain this. This is why she put the menu under your door.
Most people who have stayed with us since the changeover - have in fact enjoyed their stay and again I can say I am disappointed yours was not enjoyable.

Mhairi Moffat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

First time into this hotel. We weren't staying or eating. We simply case along to see a bands they had on there for the nite. Had a great time, staff very friendly, food looked really good with reasonable prices to match. Well def come back, poses even stay over, seems a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank yogihtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your review - We are trying a variety of music here to suit all tastes. We would be delighted if you came back again to visit us.
I have put or festive entertainment package on our website so you can see if anything takes your fancy.
See you soon hopefully.

Mhairi Moffat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

By sharing your experiences, you're helping travellers make better choices and plan their dream trips. Thank you!We have been to this hotel this past 14yrs and always have enjoyed it. At different times throughout the year It is under new management but the main thing it has new chefs and the meals now have all changed and are great. All the staff are so friendly if you don't like what is on the menu they will make what you want,

Room Tip: We were in the front where the traffic lights are but it did not bother us one little bit (have a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you so much Marydoll for your review we are looking forward to you coming back at New Year to celebrate with us.

Mhairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Room single size with double bed.
Couldn't open wardrobe doors or bathroom doors fully.(Fouled the bed)
Room cold and damp.Central heating rad cool, and black fungus on wall and ceiling. (we had to borrow a small fan heater)
Room decor tired and 1950s.
We were booked in 2 nights "Dinner, bed and breakfast"
Nice breakfast, but dinner was poor. ((only had dinner in hotel the first night.)
Staff were friendly, but young waitress at dinner didn't know the menu.
We could not recommend this "Hotel" and we would never go back there.
(This is the first time I have ever reviewed a hotel, but don't want others to endure this experience)
Chas. East Kilbride

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chasmac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Chasmac_12,
I am extremely sorry for what you have experienced.

We have just purchased the Hotel and are in the process of upgrading the property. Most of the Hotel bedrooms are of a good 2 star standard. We are also in the process of putting new menus and Kitchen Teams in place.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our new breakfast menu using handmade sausages and good quality locally produced produce and we can assure you that our other food offering will be brought up to the same standard.

I would really appreciate it if you were call me on 01397712622 to discuss your stay in full detail or email me your telephone number and I will call you.

Thanks & best regards

Donald Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
316 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Address: 32 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: $79 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Kingussie
The Star Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing