We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmmmm! Feel a little ripped off!! Sadly so as they are so nice but this place really needs a facelift.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cross at Kingussie
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
north northumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm! Feel a little ripped off!! Sadly so as they are so nice but this place really needs a facelift.”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Cross. We stayed there because of the excellent Trip advisor ratings.

I really really wanted to like this place. They work so hard and are really nice - We were in Kingussie for a wedding and decided to stay an extra night so we could eat there.

I can't fault the service it was absolutely first class and they were extremely welcoming.

We stayed in a riverside room which was £140.00 per night. -This is where the disappointment started. For that price the very least one would expect is good quality bedding and crisp cotton sheets - not hollow fibre pillows like bricks and a hollow fibre pillow. I did ask if they had any feather pillows and was given one - much appreciated however I found it extraordinary that I was also told by the owner that she also hated hollow fibre bedding and only had feather herself...............Oh well at least they are comfortable! It is a real treat for us to get away and after a long journey there is nothing nicer than putting your feet up and reading the papers or watching a few minutes of television - again a treat. Forget it. The TV reception is non existent and I was told that Sky TV was their only option until they introduce digital and they weren't prepared to pay for it - as it happened when I turned on the TV it fired out sparksand died and that was that. In fairness they did replace it with another but no point really due to snow storm on screen. I was also told not to worry about "breaking" the TV as it was the oldest one in the place - The fact that it had given me an electric shock didn't seem to bother them. However again they are so polite I just couldn't get cross!

I really wish we had just stayed for 1 night bed and breakfast. The food was good but really not the gastronomic experience we were expecting. 3 of the people staying were chefs 2 work in the travel industry. My familys business supplied scottish fish game and poultry to many leading hotels and restaurants worldwide so we kind of know what we want. All thought it was good competent food but really not very exciting. - My steak with wild mushrooms was good and the pudding was delicious however I had an onion tart tatin to start and the onions were still crunchy. My husband had some very bland fatty farmed salmon tasteless and cold and their selection of cheese - not what he would have chosen at all but he was not given any choice. It would be an idea to show the customer the cheese and give them the choice and perhaps fewer larger pieces. After dinner they won't let you sit at your table by the "Faux" log fire to enjoy your coffee but make you go upstairs to their lounge where we had to endure listening to the after dinner activities being enjoyed by the couple in room 1. we were perfectly happy where we were but the waitress although again terribly polite, clearly wasn't. Very good breakfast though!

I am still trying to work out how on earth it is so expensive. £460.00 for 2 nights bed and breakfast and 1 dinner - admittedly the boys had a couple of Whiskys after dinner and we bought 2 bottles of wine - The "hotel" has no bar.

I feel really ripped off. It is a restaurant with rooms - Not a hotel. The rooms need a serious facelift. Beige plastic baths are very dating.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lillie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithStanhope, Owner at The Cross at Kingussie, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Cost: The price of the room your reviewer booked was £108 per night, including tax. For that, the room was freshly decorated this year and has been newly furnished. It has a king sized bed and is spacious. It is provided with TV, clock/radio/CD, glossy magazines & other books, a high quality hospitality tray and complimentary local mineral water. And a view of the tumbling river below. The en-suite, also redecorated this year, has full sized (white!) bath and a separate walk-in shower. It comes with fluffy, generous towels and Arran Aromatics toiletries. Your reviewer’s accommodation and meal requirements and prices were confirmed to her in writing, all of our drinks prices are clearly advertised and her final bill was presented fully itemised so I cannot understand how your reviewer can still be trying to work out the price. We benchmark our prices carefully against other similar establishments and we’re competitive. For a price tag of around £450 a guest can expect at least two nights accommodation, four breakfasts, two four-course dinners, two bottles of wine with dinner, pre-dinner drinks and more drinks after dinner, all with service and tax included. Many of our packages include much more than that.

Bedding: All of our linen is crisp, fresh, cotton. Our launderers can confirm how picky we are. Because of the preference of the majority we use hollow fibre duvets and pillows. All are in pristine condition. Upon request we can provide alternatives, which we did in this instance. My wife was misquoted as she did not state that she hated hollow fibre bedding.

Television: Once again, your reviewer’s account of what occurred and what was said when her television broke down, regrettable though that was, is somewhat at odds with our own record. Most importantly, we were extremely concerned for her safety but we were told that she had not been hurt in any way. The possibility of electrocution or any sort of injury that might befall our guests is one that we take very seriously but in this instance it would have been unlikely and was certainly not mentioned at the time. She is correct in her assertion that analogue TV reception here can be poor. The digital switchover occurs in 2010. We are currently replacing TVs in anticipation but we are sure that in the meantime almost all of our customers would agree that it would be inappropriate or unnecessary for us to install Sky in each bedroom.

Dinner: We try to, but accept that we cannot always, please everyone on every occasion. Again, your reviewer’s criticisms lacked the accuracy that might have resulted in a more wholesome account. Her tart tatin was made with shallots, not onions as she stated, and we do try to leave a slight bite in the vegetable to contrast with the rich caramel, the buttery homemade pastry, and the goat’s cheese and beetroot that the dish is served with. The (organic shetland) salmon was part of a warm salad that also included three plump fresh scallops, shaved fennel, chickpeas, coriander, rattes potatoes, saffron and lemon. The cheeses, served with hand-made oatcakes and fresh muscat grapes consisted Landana (goat), Tomme de Savoie (cow), Highland Blue, Isle of Mull Cheddar, and Berkswell (sheep), I’d have thought an interesting selection. If her husband had asked when he ordered he would have been told which cheeses were being served and he could have elected to have chosen fewer, larger pieces.

After dinner: We and our staff invite diners to take coffee and petit fours in one of our lounge areas as most guests find it more comfortable, but we do not – ever - insist. Had we been asked to serve coffee at their table we would have been delighted to have done so. We don’t understand what your reviewer might have heard from Room 1 after dinner as the room was unoccupied that evening. We did receive a complaint from a couple who thought that guests returning in the early hours from a wedding the following evening had made an unreasonable amount of noise, but we chose not to mention it.

Hotel: We are not an hotel. We are not a guest house. We are not a B&B. We are a Restaurant with Rooms, rated as such by VisitScotland and the AA and independently voted Scottish Restaurant with Rooms 2009. There is nothing in our printed material or our email signature blocks or on our website to suggest that we are anything other than a Restaurant with Rooms.

As always we learn from every piece of feedback we receive even if we and our hard working staff find it difficult to understand what motivates people to write to TripAdvisor when (as was demonstrated in this instance) we try so hard to accommodate all manner of concerns and requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    40
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
129
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

The Cross is situated in a romantic spot, just above the river and is very atmosferic. The rooms are spotless clean, not big but cute. The lounge was atmosferic too and the restaurant superb.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taksidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

If you seek excellent service, beautiful surroundings, fantastic food, amazing wine and the best of Highland Hospitality, go to The Cross. You wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We had a lovely stay at The Cross. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a bit of homely comfort and friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We have stayed here three or four times now. The Cross is a nice place to stay, has personal touches and Katie and David are natural hosts. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are a little on the dissapointing side for the price, especially bathrooms could do with some renovation. For the money I would expect something a little more luxurious, something more than my own home, but things are quite basic really - a bit ikea.....

The food is especially good, and we always enjoy the meals, which are well cooked with locally sourced, delicious ingrediants. Meals are a real treat, which is the main reason we stay.

On recent ocasions I have felt a little dissatisfied with a number of issues where I felt value for money was poor. For example, on arriving at The Cross, we were asked if we would like a cup of tea, something we have often enjoyed on arrival at other places we have stayed. Unfortunately when the bill arrived at the end of the stay, we found a charge of £9 for this! Had we been advised we were being charged for this 'welcome' drink, we would not have been surprised, but for rooms which cost at least £100 per person per night, we felt this charge was a bit cheeky, especially when there are not any tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms.

In conclusion, I would definately pay The Cross a visit for the food, although I'd probably not stay. We may not be back again.....

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shiny_Tangerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My wife and I spent only one night at The Cross and wish we had booked to stay longer. Katie and her staff were very welcoming and had a cup of tea ready in not time at all.
The bedroom was roomy and comfortable and we were fortunate enough to overlook the burn outside and delighted in the red squirrel that attended a feeder there, accompanied by many small birds. Seared scallops, rare roast beef with a great bottle of Australian shiraz made us both feel right at home.
Brenda & David Milne, Melboune, Australia

  • Liked — Like home
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UKHolidayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May08 for our first wedding anniversary. We ate out the first night at a newly opened small bistro (Blasta) in a small town just south of Kingussie - which I would recommend. On the second evening we stayed in for dinner, and the food and wine was of a exceptionally high standard - certainly on a par with michelin star restaurants (if not better) - as was the service!

The rooms were good, but in my view did not live up to the quality of the restaurant and slighly let the establishment down. Furnishings and decor appeared 'cheap' - given the room charges and restaurant standard. They are however in a beautiful building, and the gardens alongside the brook are lovely.

I would definitely recommend this hotel on the basis of the food and service alone.

  • Liked — Amazing food
  • Disliked — room furnishings
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidayfinder_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
20.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
20.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
16.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross at Kingussie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross at Kingussie

Property: The Cross at Kingussie
Address: The Cross Tweedmill Brae Ardbroilach Road, Kingussie PH21 1LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross at Kingussie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary five star restaurant with eight comfortable bedrooms set in a converted tweed mill and situated in 4 acres of riverside grounds within Cairngorm National Park. AA three-rosette award winning dinners feature the highest quality fresh, local, and seasonal produce, all complimented by a 300 bin wine list and around 40 specialist malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cross at Kingussie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Kingussie
The Cross Hotel Kingussie
The Cross At Kingussie Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing