We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cross at Kingussie
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Highlander Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
151
42
10
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
42
10
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menured squirrelsriverside roommichelin starupstairs loungethree course mealrushing waterhalibutbalcony overlookinglambbackground musicdelightful placefabulous foodan early startreviews on tripadvisorpuddingsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 214 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I am tempted not to write this review in case this wonderful place gets too busy. It is a beautiful, peaceful, comfortable restaurant with rooms and what rooms. They are so well decorated and furnished, actually to the standards enjoyed in 5 star hotels. We lay in bed with the window open listening to the burn trickle past and the birds singing. The tasting menu was a delight with goats cheese snow being a new one on me and I've eaten in a lot of places. The tasting menu was available without extra cost on the D,B&B rate which is very generous. They have a chef who is a true professional and who will have a career that will gain him great accolades. A Heavenly Escape and we're going back in May.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside room for atmosphere and there is one with a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stytamorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had dinner here at the weekend!it was amazing to say the very least! Excellent food, beautiful restaurant and a truly magical experience! The chef is (young chef of the year!!2012) fantastic and the owners are fantastic hosts.Hats off too you all and thank you for a wonderful experience! I will for sure come back and bring some friends!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fatboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for three nights in a lovely room overlooking the river.we had the tasting menu each night and it was wonderful and varied from night to night.the little amuse bouche on the wooden board was amazing and delicious all thee taste bits made with

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a nice hotel, easy to get to Aviemore locations. Nice comfortable bed and friendly professional staff. The breakfast was large and hot and fresh. I would stay here again when I come back to Scotland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights last week and had a wonderful time. We got the sleeper train up from London and did local walks and bird-watching, meaning we didn't even need our own transport. Celia and her husband were fantastic - very welcoming without being intrusive, and our room was lovely and warm and cosy. We had two meals at the Cross - lunch and dinner, and dinner was absolutely outstanding. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The chef is incredibly talented, highlights were venison with game farci, and foie gras terrine - smooth and utterly delicious. Lunch was fabulous as it was still light and we could see all the autumnal colours on the trees and shrubs outside and watch the leaves blowing by. The Cross is in fabulous setting on a stream, on a very pretty short walk upstream and through the village. As a winter break this is a lovely hotel in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HesterPlumridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews