We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit now!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cross at Kingussie
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visit now!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Cross is run by extremely welcoming owners who clearly take a deep personal pride in what they do. It shows in every aspect of this hotel and we sincerely appreciate that. The place feels very 'homey' with a comfy lounge and bedroom with many personal touches. But the food! If you were in London to get this quality and creativity you would need to sell a child into slavery but here, it is very reasonably priced indeed for a truly memorable meal. Being in Scotland I had the grouse that just melted in the mouth with wonderful rich flavour and this after having just enjoyed a lobster ravioli. (My mouth is watering again as I write and recall). Top this with a perfect rasberry soufflé and all the bits (canapés, stunning chocolates with coffee) and statutory Talisker and great wines and I was is heaven. Only downside was being thrashed at dominoes by my wife afterwards but another glass of Talisker helped ease my pain.

Now, The Cross is under relatively new ownership and they are doing an amazing job with tremendous value for money. It is clear too the team in the kitchen are passionate about their work. My feeling is they will need to have a pretty good flow of custom to finance this or...the price has to go up. My motivation in writing in TripAdvisor is to help people who I think really deserve recommendation and with The Cross we really want them to develop their business and do well. It would be hard to beat, anywhere, the meal we had here.

Room Tip: ask to look over the stream (as long as you like the sound of running water)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    41
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
138
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Hotel very much felt like home with very well considered decor and ornaments. The guest areas were very well done. The room was very comfortable, we chose one with a river view which of course had the sound of the water all the time which was very relaxing. One annoying thing was the dripping shower head, which will be fixed very soon apparently, but did impact my sleep.

The food was one of the best that we experienced on our trip to Scotland. I would highly recommend eating here. Not cheap, but not expensive either for the quality and beautiful presentation of the food.

Staying at The Cross was a lucky find for us, thanks to Trip Advisor reviews and a last minute booking. A very memorable hotel, where we met a couple who return annually for the US for their Cross experience. We would definitely return in the event that we return to Scotland for our holidays.

Room Tip: The river view is noisier due to the fast flowing river, but very relaxing if you like water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is hard to find a weak point describing The Cross. Things like location, service, etc. are really very good. In my very personal opinion, one small disadvantage is the cuisine (but my friends liked it very much).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmmSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We discovered The Cross over New Year 2012/13. Apart from the a la carte food and wine exceeding our expectations Derek & Celia, the hands-on proprietors, showed they know how to make someone feel welcome and even special.
Add in too many fabulous walks overlooking the Spey Valley to count within a small radius, the only Polar Bears in the UK 3 miles down the road (the whole Highland Zoo is full of animals actually behaving like they live there; worth a visit), skiing at Aviemore (yes, we got snow!) and you start to get a feel of the memorable impression Kingussie left on us.

But this isn't the subject of the review.
The real subject is my daughter's wedding at The Cross on the 23rd July 2013.

Words fail me. The pictures are on......

www.flickr.com/photos/audualdotcom/sets/72157635047841415/

If you have a small wedding party and are looking for a compact oasis of relaxed peace privately nestled amongst nature........ it's here!

We booked the whole place, rooms and restaurant, for two nights (one before the wedding as an ice-breaker because we wanted to bring both sides of the family closer together) and, being the bride's parents, paid for everything, both nights. We aren't millionaires and were pleasantly surprised by the final account, bearing in mind what 'traditional weddings cost'. Our daughter wanted quality, not quantity, and we got it in spades!

Derek and Celia were completely collaborative throughout the planning and preparation (so easy these days now that we have on-line connections) offering alternative menu choices catering for both adventurous and your more 'meat and two veg' types. As an example one choice was "Pea Velouté with Langoustines/ Cured Foie Gras Ballotine with Cherries/ Perthshire Rump of Lamb, Provencal Ravioli, Aubergine Purée/ Local Strawberries from Alvie Estate, Soufflé, Tart and Balsamic Ice Cream".....or you could have steak!!? But what a steak!

The local registrar, Leslie, is a bride's dream. Warm, funny, sunny and completely attentive to the happy couples' wishes, spending time to get to know what makes them tick. This all surfaced in an intimate and amusing wedding ceremony which only added to the joy and commitment felt by everyone there.
Derek and Celia know the ropes in organising this.

The Cross has a stone-paved courtyard overlooking a tree-filled brook vale that proved to be the perfect altar (we DID get lucky with the weather but a couple of gazebos for emergency rain contingencies would be a good insurance policy to make sure the idyllic setting is usable).

From there, straight through the French patio doors to the function room (and bar if required) so no steps. This again can be laid out to your specification.

The setting lends itself to being photographed in a relaxed atmosphere. We were lucky to know the photographer really well (it was our son) so nobody was posing stiffly, all fairly natural. The overall effect is a fantastic wedding album full of memorable moments in an unforgettable place.

The common thread running through this was Derek, Celia and their staff being solicitous and accommodating without being obtrusive.
They left us to it at midnight by which time we were all relaxing in the upstairs lounge and dancing to a specially-selected iPod playlist on a half-decent docking station (you have to provide your own music). If we'd wanted an all-nighter we'd have had to order all the drinks before midnight but by then we were ready for bed.
Very, very happy, every single one of us.
And two of us were very, very proud indeed.
Job done!
Thank you, Cross!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet except for rustling foliage and a gurgling stream. Ask for a river view (the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A warm welcome on arrival, lovely comfortable room with view of garden, trees and mill stream plus red squirrels. Food is excellent, we chose fish dishes which were really imaginative and well cooked and presented, breakfast was all from local butchers prob the best black pudding I've ever tasted. Not cheap - we paid £260 for one night dinner bed and breakfast plus a few drinks - but worth it for a special stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandieLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I had booked a very much needed 2 night break, we had carefully selected The Cross as we enjoy good food and were looking forward to at least one night of fine dining from the young highland chef of 2012. Checked in, coffee etc very pleasant and requested to book our table for the night only to be told the chef was off, restaurant closed! And why did we not have the foresight to book our table before we left home! We were bitterly disappointed and asked if we stayed was there anywhere comparable nearby by? No, not within 40 minutes car drive! Not exactly our idea of a relaxing night, and sharing some wine! Hostess very curt and attempted to place blame with us for not pre booking our table. We were then offered the option to leave if we were not happy, which we duly did. Thankfully The MacDonald Resort Aviemore were able to take us in, I'm sure the restaurants were not as good as The Cross but at least we had a warm welcome. My advice? Check the restaurant will be open just in case you want to use it!

Room Tip: The room we were allocated was nice, if a little dark, Room 7, no outlook.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my wife and we were very pleased. The rooms are smart and very clean. We also had a nice view of the brook and it made a great background to fall asleep to. The food is great and I would highly recommend the lobster.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-bird2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
465 reviews
20.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
16.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross at Kingussie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross at Kingussie

Property: The Cross at Kingussie
Address: The Cross Tweedmill Brae Ardbroilach Road, Kingussie PH21 1LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross at Kingussie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary five star restaurant with eight comfortable bedrooms set in a converted tweed mill and situated in 4 acres of riverside grounds within Cairngorm National Park. AA three-rosette award winning dinners feature the highest quality fresh, local, and seasonal produce, all complimented by a 300 bin wine list and around 40 specialist malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Cross at Kingussie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Kingussie
The Cross Hotel Kingussie
The Cross At Kingussie Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing