We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cross at Kingussie
Nearby Hotels
Columba House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
McInnes House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Highlander Hotel(Newtonmore)(Great Value!)
$121
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
$124
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
151
42
10
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
42
10
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menured squirrelsriverside roommichelin starupstairs loungethree course mealrushing waterhalibutbalcony overlookinglambbackground musicdelightful placefabulous foodan early startreviews on tripadvisorpuddingsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 214 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

A last minuite booking made by friends for a party of 9.
We only stayed 1 night thank goodness, this is not a 4* hotel the food was ok but not worth a set price of £50! The rooms are basic & need a face lift.
The staff are the most bossyest people I have met it was like being back at school with all the rules & regs.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caz076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

As we all do and having read other reviews it would be easy to follow a thread about room quality versus dining experience BUT as an overall impression The Cross delivers everything for the price paid , once you get to know it. Outstanding food , not the same food, a daily changing menu that was served impeccably , comfortable rooms , WiFi , accessible wine list , pleasant staff , superlative breakfast ( it worries me that few reviewers mentions this ) , lazy lounging and minutes from some of Scotlands finest scenery , choose your holiday to suit your pursuits and you could never argue against the standards here. Look forward to returning for a fourth time , thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Worried about previous reviews , ask the owners , they are there to help !
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank VisitScotlandFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Just stayed at this little gem hidden in a mini glen at the edge of Kingussie. You go up the brae and nearly at the top turn left down into a mini glen with the mill at the bottom alongside a beautiful burn. Although in the midst of housing etc it is completely hidden and all that kept buzzing in my head was Brigadoon!

Anyway, it is very much an individual restaurant with rooms and not a hotel so don't go there if you are looking for everything with bells on! Our room which was at the back, was spotlessly clean, not large but had a nice selection of mags, good toiletries, good quality tea tray, tv and a stereo with small selection of cd's. Best bit was the bed for us! We had the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel. Reading others' comments, I would imagine sound proofing could be a problem if you were unlucky enough to be there with other noisy guests but we weren't!

Our dinner was of the highest quality and an absolute treat, only two choices in each course but if you love your food this is not a problem! Amazing winelist to go with it which took quite some reading. The young staff are all very charming and friendly.

All in all we had a wonderful stay at The Cross and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask the owners advice!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldiebane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Owner and staff offer warm friendly welcome and service.However this is not a four star hotel, rooms and common areas all very tired with very poor insulation, noise travelling up through the floor and adjoining rooms. Restaurant food not five star although it does have an extensive wine list.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussiePhill010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent a really enjoyable night at the Cross earlier this month. The food, the terrace, the ambiance, the staff were all of high quality and we left feeling relaxed and wishing we could have stayed longer.

The food was truly lovely with complementary flavours creating a culinary delight. And then there's the wine.....!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arcadiansteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews