We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great room and hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Upon arriving I was pleased to see there was ample parking for myself and the other guests. Upon entering the hotel we were met by a cheery gentleman who showed us the facilites available and directed us to our room. The room was very clean and welcoming and the shower room was excellent. The food served both at night and at brekfast was very good and the prices for alcoholic drinks was below average. Overall a very pleasant experience and someplace I would not mind staying for a longer duration.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beef-Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    28
    20
    22
See reviews for
28
77
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

we stayed 2 nights here on a motorbike tour of the highlands. We had a room each (2 of us). Good quality room, and comfortable. Food in restaurant was good quality and not too expensive. There is a good selection of single malts behind the bar and also a good selection of bottled ales. The proprietor seems quite knowledgable about whisky. i guess he should be, this is one major reason why people visit the area. Kingussie is a nice place and has a main railway station linking with inverness and edinburgh/glasgow, within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingman062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The unkept garden and stains on the bedroom and shower curtains were offputting to start with but the place grew on us by the last of our five night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful (bar one who couldn't raise a smile) and Kingussie makes a good base - not a beautiful town but its got everything you need. Don't dine at the Scot House though -mediocre pub grub at restaurant prices. You'll get better for an equivalent sum at several other places in town - we liked the Tipsy Laird.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DLCE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hotel is one of many in Kingussie and doesn't really stand out from any of the others along the main street. On entering, we were greeted by a charming kilted gent (who may also double as the chef judging from his attire the next morning) who checked us in and directed us to our room. We had booked one of their superior rooms (room 9) which had a spa bath (a birthday treat for my partner which she loved) and was nicely decorated with a lovely quirky shaped ceiling being on the top floor. The room was clean and spacious, the furniture modern but the bed was only a double despite the description mentioning a king size. The TV was a small portable that had seen better days but that wasn't particularly important. There was a crack in one of the windows (covered with sticky tape) but it seemed secure and safe so we didn't worry about it. There was also free wi-fi. We ate in the hotel in the evening and the food was adequate rather than special, prices were reasonable, the service was good though and the bar had a nice selection of drinks that were again reasonably priced. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, fruit juice, grapefruit segments and a full Scottish fry up which was nicer than it initially appeared, looking a little bland when it arrived. A second round of toast was offered once we had finished our first and the tea and coffee were good. Overall, the breakfast was much better than I had expected having read previous reviews. To sum our experience up, the staff were friendly and seemed helpful, the hotel was clean and the room comfortable (the double bed was a disappointment), the bathroom and spa bath excellent (9.5/10 according to my partner), the restaurant food was okay but I wouldn't eat there a second night but the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell_Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

On first arrival we were quite put off by the overgrown shrubs and weeds around the front of the hotel which gave a very bad first impression, then on entering we were met by a chap behind the desk who promptly told us that we were half an hour too early to book in and to come back later. No offer of a coffee or a seat in the lounge after a long drive!! By this time we were wishing that we had booked into the hotel next door as this looked like a far more welcoming establishment.
On arriving back an hour later we were met by a far more welcoming chap who showed us around and to our room. The room was very well appointed at the top of the building (No 9) with a fantastic large bathroom. This was booked as a superior room but unfortunately one of the windows was cracked and held together with 2 pieces of cellotape, the television didn't work properly, the skirting boards and behind the radiator needed a good clean and breakfast was a very poor affair indeed (my husband didn't even bother with breakfast on the second morning). Overall you get what you pay for, but I do feel that this hotel could improve things - the building is beautiful and even just tidying the front garden would make the place look better.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingussie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We booked last minute and got a lovely large room (Room 1 in fact), quiet location and within walking distance of everything in Kingussie. We decided to eat out because the Happy Days chippy had been recommended and it was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This turned out to be an excellent hotel. The building is very interesting, and the staff is friendly. Breakfast at the hotel is recommended, but we ate elsewhere for dinner. The pubs a 5 minute walk away in 'downtown' looked more appealing than eating dinner at this place. Frankly, I'm not sure why anyone would want to eat all of their meals at the same hotel they are staying at. You wouldn't get to see any of the town that way. It is nice to have a bar to stop by on the way back to your room if you aren't quite ready to turn in for the evening.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueghost75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scot Hotel Kingussie
The Scot Hotel
The Scot House Hotel And Restaurant Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing