We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
ballater
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked for our second visit to High Land Wildlife park this year thru for us a new online agency and upgraded to a superior ensuite.What a large room with two large windows on first floor with the backdrop of the high Cairngorms to look out on,great start.The ensuite was large and clean and had a separate vestibule off bedroom which meant for great for noise insulation.The bed was large and a great nights sleep was had.On arrival we had a friendly check-in and then choose to eat in bar.Great service and good choice with great service,so much so that we dined there the second night too..Breakfast was very good with fast service.For price paid for room and for meals this Hotel is excellent value.

Room Tip: Room number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    28
    20
    21
See reviews for
27
77
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in total and enjoyed our time at this hotel. George the manager and Sheila his partner could not do enough for us. It's true the outside of the hotel needs to be spruced up a bit but George has started that and it's on going as I write this review and I'm sure it will look great in next few weeks. Room was immaculate with jacussi,tv,stereo,coffe/tea,hair dryer and wifi was also free .
Breakfast was awesome.
Hotel interior was nice and hotel situation was splendid .
Thanks again George and Sheila!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it is run by friendly, down to earth people. Rooms very nice and spotless. Hair dryer, tv, free view, toiletries , tea and coffee in your room all provided. . The breakfast was delicious, full english breakfast, hot and tasty. one of the best i have had for a long time in a hotel. This hotel was great, and would not hesitate to recommend it or return. Thank you scotts house for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very low standard. You can find better B&B accommodation in the area. Hotel is shabby, threadbare carpets and room was dusty. Not a good advertisement for Scotland a all. Nt much else to say other than try and find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingussie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is completely worn off even for low Scottish standards. We got room in the attics - two bulbs in the lights had to be changed when we got to the room, central light switch didn't start working even after promised repair. Manager was surprised that the towel rail doesn't work and promised to fix it which he didn't. He actually couldn't - the towel rail was cut off from the electricity. We booked there for three nights but the room was so tiny that it was almost claustrophobic experience. Breakfast wasn't even edible. Sad end of once beautiful house.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have marked this excellent because of the value for money and the very attentive hotel manager who really couldn't do enough for us. The room we stayed in was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The price we paid £64 was more than reasonable. It is undeniable that the hotel could do with a little sprucing up externally and the rooms a more up to date décor but if this were to happen then the price would go up to reflect this. The hotel is very well situated and we were able to walk easily to the station. We would definitely stay there again and probably will. I believe the manager is a relief manager and it was obvious that he is used to hospitality and really did go the extra mile, a big thank you

Room Tip: We probably had one of the smaller rooms, it would look like the ones at the front are much grander
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a lovely two night stay here 24 & 25 June. An inexpensive yet charming hotel with amazing hosts who went out of their way to make our stay special. Stayed in Room 2 which has a whirlpool bath en-suite. Very clean and comfortable with a gigantic king size bed. Dinner menu was basic but good quality and a good breakfast. Cannot say enough about the hosts who made us feel so welcome and special. An excellent base to explore the Highlands. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 2 which was very spacious and had a whirlpool bath en-suite very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabydee_ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scot Hotel Kingussie
The Scot Hotel
The Scot House Hotel And Restaurant Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing