We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
Gosford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Our room was spacious, warm and had a great view of the town and mountains. However, it was the staff that really made this place memorable, particularly the manager. We also ate at the restaurant. On the first night my husbands lamb fillet was a bit overcooked, and we were not charged. The second night we brought some venison, and they marinated and cooked it for us, with veggies, for virtually nothing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, we could not speak more highly of this as a place to stay visiting the Cairngorms.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    28
    20
    21
See reviews for
27
77
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Shade, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Scot House Hotel in October 2009 and loved it. The location was convenient for walking downtown, and the staff was warm and welcoming. We actually showed up a little early, and the manager allowed us to get into our room as soon as it was clean. We did not eat at the restaurant but enjoyed playing Scrabble in the bar area one evening. Though Kingussie isn't a very large town, this was a great place to stay for exploring the Cairngorm National Park and was just a short drive from Inverness.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojournaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Where do I start...
Bar staff had never heard of a 'Shandy' or 'Fresh Orange & Lemonade!!!

Ordered Fillet Steak stuffed with Haggis, what arrived can only be the worst meal ever.... 'Fillet Steak' on the plate was in fact a grissly beef olive,
Called the manger over as this was really a joke, explained that the 'cut' of meat could not possibly be a piece of Fillet Steak and that it would take consderible butchery skills to transform a piece of fillet into a Beef Olive... Initially he tried blaming the Kingussie Butcher, but this is outrageous as I've sampled the great meat from the town butcher...
Eventually, give him his due he agreed with me, he then called out the Romanian chef to my table to try explain the unusual 'cut of meat' on my plate. The Romanian chef tried to argue that it was Fillet Steak, I asked for the plate to be removed from the table and refrain from insulting my intelligence any further...
I paid for what I had eaten and we left very dissatisfied with the service and unbelievable level of low quality food...
My wife had the Salmon which was a pretty below average meal.

Really felt sorry for the guests who were at othe tables...
Gordon Ramsay would shy away from having this place on 'Kitchen Nightmares', even he would need a glimmer of hope to turn this place around....

If you reach Kingussie starving, travel another couple of miles and go to the Glen Hotel in Newtonmore.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starkreality1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingussie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I booked one of the more expensive rooms here, looking for a little luxury on a weekend away. When we got there the proprietor told us the internet wasn't working and he'd never gotten the reservation, so we were placed in one of the less nice rooms. It was a bit dim and outdated, and because we'd been charged extra for the better room (I paid online in advance), the host told us we could have a drink on the house when we got back in the evening. But when we got back, reception and the bar were deserted for the night. We went to bed and had an adequate but lackluster breakfast in the morning. We complained to the owner about having paid extra for the room, and he gave us a refund in cash but made sure we knew it was coming out of his own pocket. Felt very uncomfortable and changed our plans to leave Kingussie early.

Room Tip: If you book online, follow up your reservation with a phone call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayspring J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigstock, Northants
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Having paid for this booking for 4 people in advance (compulsory requirement), my stomach dropped as we turned in to the car park!! Having seen photos from previous reviews I was astounded at how untidy and tired the car park and hotel entrance appeared. The plants & shrubs were overgrown and the whole area looked in need of smartening up.
The reception once inside the hotel was not the most welcoming I have received and as there were no other cars in the car park or other guests around I was surprised that the receptionist could not manage to struggle to her feet and show us to our rooms rather than point in the general direction. We had booked 2 single rooms for our guests (mother & son) but were given doubles for each. As the single rate was £50 each and the double room was only £70 we asked if we could cancel one of the rooms as our guests were willing to share a double room if no singles were available. I would have thought that this was perfectly possible but our receptionist said she would have to speak to the owner who was out at present. We asked again later but were told that, because we had paid in full in advance, she did not think it was possible. The owner was still not contactable and the receptionist made no further contact with us.
The rooms we just about adequate although our room had a window that was cracked from top to bottom and were an attempt to selotape it had peeled off there was a long brown stain. There were also big cobwebs in the window alcove and the carpets looked as if they had not been vacuumed in some time. Paintwork on and around doors had scuff marks and needed a good wash down.
The bathroom was OK apart from a musty smell and signs of mildew at the bottom of tiles around the bath.
The small TV had only 4 channels - BBC1 & 2, STV & Channel 4 which in this day and age seems pretty pathetic.
The bed was comfortable.
We did not wait for breakfast in the morning as we could not wait to get away from Scot House and hope that we would not have any similar experiences on the remainder of our holiday (which we did not thank goodness).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georginabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

A small hotel in the centre of Kingussie. Warm welcome when we arrived. Room clean, albeit a bit of a musty smell. WIFI advertised but never worked in the duration we were there. Breakfast ok, we never ate in the restaurant

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hmcdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great quiet hotel, with parking, bar and restaurant. Me and my partner stayed here for two nights it was really nice and very clean. If i am looking to visit kingussie again I will definately be staying in this hotel. The whirpool bath is very relaxing :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
292 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scot Hotel Kingussie
The Scot Hotel
The Scot House Hotel And Restaurant Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing