We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“France in the highlands”

Auld Alliance Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $56
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Being one of the finest dining experience in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, the Auld Alliance is definitely worth a visit.The cuisine is French, prepared by classically trained Chef/owner Lydie Bocquillon whose passion for outstanding produce reflects in her mouth watering Table D'Hote. A truly unique experience!
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“France in the highlands”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The ambiance of The Auil Alliance was one of warmth and friendliness, with log fire and a warm welcome from Lydie Bocoquiiion, whose cooking is superb. Full of French flair and Scottish produce.( and some french cheeses).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alimac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent food, comfortable room, special experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This (French) lady provides a very good establishment indeed. The Auld Alliance is beautifully decorated in an exquisite style. We arrived without the appetite for Lydie's special dinner, so we booked for the following night and ate elsewhere in Kingussie that evening. Our room was elegant and delightful (upgraded from the ground floor to the one on the balcony with a view across the valley to Ruthven barracks) and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The next day we ensured that we were hungry for the evening and we were not disappointed: we started in the lounge with an aperitif and delicious nibbles, then to the dining room for a series of perfect dishes, each served by Lydie herself. The night's sleep in the lovely bedroom was again excellent.

We can heartily recommend the Auld Alliance: it is stylish, warm, friendly and a special treat, with excellent dining experience a given. We will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThreeShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AWESOME - THE BEST FOOD IN SCOTLAND”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food is without a doubt some of the best I have ever eaten and certainly the best I have ever had north of the Tweed. The downside (if it can be called that) is that there are no options. Lydie cooks one set meal each night and that's it. However, the menu changes daily and the quality is superb. If you know little about wine, go for the recommendations on the menu, which are available by the glass.

As you'd expect at a restaurant run by a Frenchwoman, the coffee is first rate too.

It calls itself a "restaurant with rooms" and we stayed there four 4 nights as well as dining. Our room was clean and spacious with large built in wardrobe and good size en-suite bathroom. The lounge is large and comfortable and sitting out on the terrace on a warm evening a real pleasure.

This place is awesome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top notch service and food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Liddy, the proprietor, catered my brother-in-law's wedding so we knew we were in for a treat. She did not let us down. I had the best lamb I ever tasted. She even made me a special loaf of amazing gluten-free bread. Other extra touches and excellent service made the whole experience very special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenfluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional - loved it!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'd read the reviews, looked at the restaurant website, seen the sample menu and from the moment we arrived loved the whole experience. The beautiful old victorian house, the large drawing room where we had pre dinner and post dinner drinks, the fantastic warm, friendly waitress service and then the culinary delights of Lydie. We liked that the menu was a set menu (best to check what it is beforehand if you have any food 'issues' to avoid disappointment) and chose a bottle of the recommended red (reasonably priced) which matched the food perfectly. If you like/love french cuisine and you are in the area this is a must. We enjoyed a courgette veloute, goats cheese pannacotta, and the best loin of lamb I've ever tasted. My boyfriend and I then had the choice of a plum tart or cheese board for dessert so we chose one of each before retiring totally satisfied to the drawing room for two large whiskys. Definitely recommend it to all foodies!! And fans of french living/stye/food!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auld Alliance Restaurant also viewed

Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Auld Alliance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing