We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfection”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My second visit to this wonderful beautiful wee hotel.My first visit was perfect this visit was perfection.
Room was immaculate and very comfy.Food was sublime and service was excellent.(Mark is a great chef)Dinner a treat and breakfast great.
Mark and Yolanda welcomed me back like a old friend.Felt so relaxed and rested after my wee stay.
Wonderful golf courses, great fishing,whisky distilleries, the famous highland wild life park and the Cairngorms all close by.(great location)
Will definitely be back again to enjoy everything wonderful this hotel and surrounds has to offer.
Nothing to much for Mark and Yolanda perfect hosts.
Looking forwards to my next visit with my friends and family already Dennis

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denoose69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    75
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
223
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife, dog and I were in need of a getaway; we located this hotel (pet-friendly) via booking.com. What a fantastic find! Wonderful little inn in a quiet setting in Kingussie, which was not overrun with tourists and a lovely town itself. The hotel was a 19th century building refurbished into a series of individually decorated rooms; we enjoyed a four-poster with a large bathroom. The common area of the hotel consisted of a comfortable dining room and bar, a 'library' area (with wifi) and lovely garden with multiple picnic tables; our dog was welcome there. The proprietor, Mark, was a great host and an excellent cook as well - we heartily recommend the Steak & Ale pie! We hope to get a chance to return someday; this is a wonderful hotel worthy of a repeat visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magoo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My partner and I booked a dinner bed and breakfast stay at the hotel when we seen a deal on a voucher website at the end of 2013. The reviews are well founded to say the least. We were welcomed by Yolanda and given a tour of the hotel before being shown to our wonderful room, which was clean, well stocked and housed a wonderful 4 poster bed. We then had dinner in the restaurant, which was again tasty. We spoke with the proprietor and chef Mark who was great host. I can see that they have only taken over the hotel however if Mark continues to put his ideas into practice we will have a true home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Many thanks Mark and Yolanda for making us so welcome. We are happy to have found such an excellent place to stay to celebrate our recent anniversary and hope to call again soon. Much appreciation for the food, nicest smoked trout I've tasted to name just one item! Lovely break with no pressure - and a well stocked gantry! - Jill says there is also a nice wine cellar! Best Regards

Room Tip: We stayed in the Paddock Room which has a four poster bed, is roomy and has a large en-suite bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2night stay at this lovely Hotel. Well where do I start ! My wife and I were made so welcome by the Proprietor Mark who ! is also the Chef and what a Chef, the food is some of the finest we have ever tasted in a Hotel.This Hotel is AWESOME !! If you want a nice relaxing break then this is the place to stay. We had a lovely Spanish waitress that was so attentive and polite as was the other staff. The dining room is lovely and there is a cosy lounge with a Log Fire that you can sit and relax with your after dinner coffee and drinks. Our room was lovely with a huge bed, the room was spotless and very clean. We can't wait to go back again, as there is not many Hotels nowadays that you get a standard and personal service as you do at this Hotel. We would like to thank Mark and his wife also all the Staff for giving us such a lovely time and wish you all the very best.
A very happy customer.
Terry Sharp
Newburgh, Aberdeenshire

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TerSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a wonderful break at the Columba House Hotel. Made very welcome by Mark and Yolanda. Food excellent, bedrooms very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Marlene and Dougie Pearson.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Thank you to Mark and Yolanda (the owners) for making us so welcome and providing a fabulous break with good food in a relaxing atmosphere. A lovely hotel, with rabbits, ducks etc wandering around the grounds and good views to the Cairngorms. Although secluded it is a short drive to many different places of interest from the busier ski resort of Aviemore to the tranquility of walks in the mountains. Yeah a good time had and the other guests seemed happy as well. we look forward to a return visit. Jon and Lesley, Lochcarron.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Lesley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
187 reviews
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Property: Columba House Hotel
Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba House Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing