We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columba House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely relaxing place to stay. Very clean and a comfortable bed.
The food is really good as us the wine selection. The owners and staff are excellent and can't do enough to ensure a delightful stay. I would definitely stay again and would recommend to others

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 353 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stay here for a week and it was perfect. We had planned a whisky trail The location was ideal and throughly enjoyed our visit. Excellent food, Kind and caring hosts, the service was a high standard. The room was clean , spacious and very comfortable we will definantly be returning.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jboothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Columba House Hotel as a Christmas present from our son. It was tucked away off the main street so was secluded and had safe parking.
On arrival we were greeted by Mark the owner & his wife. They were very genuinely friendly throughout our stay & wanted to make your stay special.
Our room was not in the main hotel just a short walk across the car park. It was big with a lovely large king size bed & had a very clean bathroom too. The heating had been left on for our arrival so it was lovely & cosy. It had a sofa in the room & a decent TV.
The food was much better than I was expecting & Mark told us he had been a chef for many years. The main hotel had a lovely sitting room where we had a pre dinner drink & looked at the dinner menu. It had a well stocked bar & the prices of the drinks were reasonable. Our wine with dinner was also good quality & again a reasonable amount. It's nice to get good wine & not be charged excessive amounts as often is the case with hotels especially the big hotel chains.
They had just employed a Spanish waitress from Madrid who had a lovely smile & although she was just new to the hotel I think she will be a great asset. She had a really pleasant manner and she was really interested in providing good service to the hotel guests.
The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and it set us up for the day.
We only stayed the one night but if I was ever in the Kingussie area again I would stay at this hotel.
Definitely worth a visit.
I felt both Mark & his charming wife are trying very hard to make their business successful & they really do take an interest in keeping their customers happy. Good Luck with your plans for the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in an outside room called Coach Man. Good views from the room as it was high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel exceeds expectations,accomodation very clean and very comfortable and the staff make sure that your stay is an enjoyable stay.
For myself the cuisine is excellent and must say that the breakfast especially ,is the best I have ever had.
Thank you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

For the last evening of our trip we couldn't wish for a better place. A perfect evening in a beautiful place with nice rooms. The owner is also a very good cook! When I couldn't find a vegetarian dish on the menu he offered to cook whatever I wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend at the Columba House Hotel after finding a bargain deal on Groupon. The owners and all of the staff were very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay as well as being very attentive to all of our needs. The Burn's night celebration that was organised by the owner was excellent and provided a fantastic night's entertainment.

Looking forward to visiting again in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aleximo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked out trip through Groupon and got a fantastic deal. As it was my husband's 30th birthday, I upgraded to a four-poster room which didn't disappoint. It was a lovely, big warm room - very romantic and cosy! The room was perfectly clean which is always really important to us when we stay somewhere - not a spec of dust to be seen.
We had a meal on the first night, which was prepared from scratch. The meal was lovely and there was a good choice of meals, including a tasty vegetarian option. We also sampled the wine and prosecco - there was a good choice. My husband later enjoyed sampling a few whiskys from their decent collection.
The lounge had a lovely open fireplace and was a relaxing place to have a drink after dinner. Despite the fact it was very quiet during our stay, there was a nice atmosphere - enhanced by the presence of hosts, Mark and Johanna. They couldn't do enough for us and we'll definitely go back. We have two children and we were shown a room which has a connecting door to another room - perfect for families!
The hotel in areas could definitely do with updating, but the new owners have plans to do this in the next few years.
There is everything you need at this hotel - the views over the Cairngorms are stunning, the grounds are idyllic and the service and welcome you receive from Mark and Johanna is fantastic. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
505 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
316 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: $54 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba House Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing