We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for our 30th anniversary weekend and it was delightful. The king size four poster bed was very comfortable and there was plentiful hot water for the double bath. The hotel was very clean and the food exceptional, cooked by our host Mark. The afternoon tea with his wife Yolanda's home baking in the peaceful garden was a great added extra. Watching Mark feeding the ducks while having our breakfast started our day with a smile. Mark, Yolanda and their staff could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay and I have already recommened this hotel to friends and colleauges. Will happily return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: well worth upgrading to a four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    76
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
226
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wonderful hotel with private converted barn room with four poster very comfy bed and double bath with wonderful views. The owners were very accommodating ensuring we had everything we required. The restaurant food was extremely good as was the wine!

Room Tip: There is the Pent House, King size four poster beds, double four poster beds or standard double and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a lovely night in the Penthouse Suite in the Columba House Hotel & Garden Restaurant. The room was totally private and spacious with lovely views from the windows. Had everything that you could wish for. Large double bath with double shower. Bed was extremely comfortable. Staff were lovely - nothing you asked for was a problem. Under new owners, who were feeling their way, but again, we couldn't have asked for any more. The food in the restaurant was very good and breakfast was lovely. The garden setting was beautiful and peaceful, only the sounds of the birds were audible. Can highly recommend this hotel for a lovely romantic break. Easy to find and a good place to stay to take in all the places of interest close by.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms seemed perfectly adequate, but the Penthouse Suite was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberwolfuk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Whilst on a tour of Scotland we spent 3 nights in Kingussie,in the beautiful Cairngorms.We chose Columba House for our stay,and we are so glad we did.

Just off the main high street is Columba House, a beautiful period property, with lovely stone walls boasting 14 bedrooms, sweeping staircase and a wonderful large lawned walled rear garden.

We were met by the proprietor, mark with a broad smile and strong handshake. he and his wife Yolanda unbelievably only bought this property at the start of June 2013.yet it is superbly run and well organised.

Our upstairs room had great views of the still snow topped Cairngorm mountains.The room itself was large and had a bath and shower in the en suite bathroom.

Mark spent years as a chef in quality hotels, this was evident in the meals he cooked.Just outstanding food. superbly supported by his wife helping out at the tables along with a beaming Hungarian lady Andi and a young member of staff.

As you eat your meals ,you can watch the wild rabbits and birds that frequent the lawns,out of the large windows only adding to the atmoshphere.

On booking out Mark insisted in carrying our suitcase and waved us off, not going inside until we were in the distance.a really gracious friendly gent supported by his lovely wife and staff.

Great quality of service, a lovely hotel, top class food at a competitive price,and a good room too. I can definitely recommend this hotel and we would love to return here,thanks Mark.

Room Tip: Our upstairs room, Ruthven, gave great views of the Cairngorm mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timberwolfuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had an amazing weekend at Columba House Hotel.
The room was superb - great four poster suite and spotlessly clean.
The food was fantastic - all prepared by owner/chef Mark
Our hosts, Mark and Yolanda made us so welcome . Nothing was too much to ask of them and they made 100% sure that we had everything we needed.
Our waitress, Andrea was lovely and very efficient and helpful.
All in all a wonderful weekend. Can't wait to go back again

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster king size suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine12326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having stayed here almost eight years ago, when it was under different ownership, my wife and I recently made a long overdue return to this cosy hotel. Once again, we had a fabulous stay, thanks to the world class service from new owners Mark and Yolanda - difficult to believe they took over a couple of weeks ago. From being upgraded to a deluxe room at check-in to the great service and delightful company of the owners throughout our stay, as well as very good food cooked skilfully prepared with top quality local produce, the Columba House Hotel was a great choice for this short break. I'm sure the commitment of the new owners (Mark patrolling the premises with his chef's jacket below his suit jacket is a wonderful site to behold!) will see them make a deserved success of their new venture - we shall certainly be back. One area with slight room for improvement might be the service skills of some of the younger, local waiting staff, but it's early days yet, and the owners will surely soon have them trained up to their own impeccable standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My friend and I had a week-end at the Columba House House Hotel and on arrival were met by the owners Mark and his wife who had just taken over the hotel recently. We were shown our room which was immaculately clean and very comfortable.

Mark was very attentive to all his guests ensuring we had everything we required and the food was excellent with home made bread at breakfast. We had booked for B&B plus dinner on night of arrival and as the food was so good we dined in the hotel on the second night of our stay.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowanrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Property: Columba House Hotel
Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba House Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing