We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our twin room was very small but the beds were comfortable and the service was first rate. Norrie welcomed us with sherry/whiskey and recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner.
Arden House is very clean and well kept. The breakfast in the attractive dining room was plentiful and tasty. Highly recommended as the place to stay in Kingussie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 457SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
135
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boughton Monchelsea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Friendly hosts and very nice Breakfast.
The B & B is kept warm and cosy which is an important factor when staying in Kingussie in the winter. At another B & B I had to wear my thermals and a wooly hat in bed and still felt cold!
Everything about the property is quality.
There is plenty of parking (off street) and the location is close to restaurants.
I recommend staying there.

Room Tip: They all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent three nights at the guest house and our stay was just lovely. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, professional and nice. When we arrived, there was a welcome whisky/sherry. Shower gel, shampoo, and hand lotion were of Kelp (beautiful scent), and there were towels galore, (unnecessarily) replaced every day. The bed was vast and comfortable with ornamental cushions and blanket, and the room had a distinctive holiday feel.
Breakfasts are chosen from a long list of possibilities, and we indulged in quite a lot of the choices on offer: the scrambled egg with salmon was delicious, but the pancakes served with fresh fruit and yoghurt were yummy, too. The traditional breakfast, of course, was also on our list, and that, too, was perfect.
Suggestions where to go for dinner or where to spend the evening were very welcome, and there are even discount vouchers (20%) for at least two locations in Kingussie, both of which had great charm and great food.
Our stay was a quiet but not uneventful one, spent on Loch Morlich beach, in broad sunshine. Excellent! We'll definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I know that is weird title but am allergic to cats and didn't know there was a cat until we arrived.

Owners are very friendly and were kind enough to rearrange our stay when we couldn't make original date.

We stayed in the family room which had a double and two singles. One single was in a sort of alcove bit which you had to walk through to get to the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cr1mson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Arden House in Kinguissie for 2 nights, 29 and 30 July 2013. Norrie and Jenny were perfect hosts, lovely and friendly, excellent service with Norrie knocking out a wonderful and tasty breakfast (poached eggs to die for)! The bedding and towels were soft and so lovely. Bed was comfy and the whole place was perfectly clean. Both Norrie and Jenny could not do enough for you, but at the same time, respecting ones privacy. Both my husband and I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone wishing to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is as good a B&B as you will find. A beautiful large house with good size rooms (we were in Tomatin). We were given a very warm and friendly welcome. Our room had a huge bathroom and was very clean.

Could not fault the breakfast, all you need and plenty of it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneNote11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a beautiful old house with a nice garden at the front and ample off street parking for guests. The whole place is well maintained.We stayed in the room called "Speyside " which is very comfortable with a nice en suite, lovely decor and clean.
Norrie and Jenny are the perfect hosts who have thought of everything to make their guests feel welcome. The breakfast was fantastic , with plenty choice - you must try the scrambled egg with smoked salmon - it the nicest I have ever tasted mmmmm!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.5 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sutherlands Guest House
Sutherlands Guest House
#3 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing