We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Both of our rooms were large and clean, the beds were very comfortable and we had a large bathroom. Breakfasts were very good.The owners were very friendly and helpful, making excellent suggestions as to where to eat in Kingussie and what we could do in the region.The small town is really well located for visits to whisky distilleries, clay pigeon shooting, sight-seeing and other attractions, and, conveniently, there is a train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
140
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent a night at Arden House but from the moment we walked in we wanted to spend a few more nights in! The location is stunning and if you want to get a real taste of a small Scottish town. We were made to feel very welcome and up on arrival got a taste of Scottish hospitality with sherry for the elders and milk for our child.

The owners (Norrie & Jenny) are lovely and they will make sure you have an unforgettable stay! We stayed in the "Drumguish" room which had a comfortable bed and an immaculately clean bathroom. I wouldn't suggest missing the breakfast though, which is delicious and our first experience of full Scottish breakfast [Great Cooks!]

We had a wonderful stay in the warm atmosphere and we are definitely coming back soon for some more cairngorms adventure!

Thank you Norrie & Jenny and Arden House has our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just visited this fantastic B and B. The hosts were absolutely brilliant(we were welcomed with a wee dram of the golden fire) and led to a really nice room upstairs to the front of the property. Spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped, our every whim was catered for. Norri and Wendy are the perfect hosts. This place comes very high recommended and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, the room was very comfortable and clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts good, and in reasonable distance to good pubs and attractions in the Caingorms region. All in all we would highly recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyPally81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Look no further than Arden House when deciding on a place to stay in the Kingussie area.
We had an enjoyable one night stay last year and looked forward to returning this year with more members of our family for a golf competition. We occupied the four rooms on the top floor and everyone was delighted with their two night stay - "home from home".
Norrie and Jenny are the perfect hosts - from the warm welcome through to the end of our stay nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the breakfast choices are excellent. It goes without saying this will be our base for future visits to this area. Thanks Norrie and Jenny.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our second visit to Arden House but this time we had a extra little ( I say little, more along the lines of a mini Rugby player ) bundle of joy, our four month old baby boy Percy. So the question is would Norrie and Jenny off Arden House cope???? Answer.... Of course!!! Nothing changes here, no matter what you throw at Norrie and Jenny they respond, come back with answers.... Customer service A class, top notch. Norrie and Jenny make everything perfect and as stress free as humanly possible. We stayed in the newly decorated Dalwinne room, which is a perfect room for a family of four. ( yes we have another bundle of joy, Daisy. This bundle is more like a nine year old cheeky monkey!!) Stay here if you want to be looked after in the Highlands, it's a simple choice.... Arden House!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Uk
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We loved our first night there so much we changed plans and stayed again two nights later!!
It is convenient for the Highlands as well as Speyside for the distillery adventures. It is also near Aviemore if you visit in the ski season.
The rooms are large, beautifully decorated, spotless, and there is plenty of room around the 6ft bed for the sofas and chairs for a comfortable stay. Our bathroom would have looked good in a five star private hotel. Simply huge.
Good WiFi service free. Advice helpful on local food and attractions walks etc if needed.
I loved the breakfast. The fresh fruit salad....just so.
The owners (Norrie And Jenny) were the most friendly we have ever met. We would love to go again.
Quite simply it is the best B+B i have stayed in. This place sets a very high standard for others to strive for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentFamilyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing