We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food and friendly”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic food and friendly”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Arden House, our family room is lovely, warm and well decorated. Sherry and Whiskey on arrival was a great start to our holiday. The choice of breakfasts on offer were many and superbly cooked. The owners were great at letting us know what places to go and see in the area. It is a great base to explore this beautiful area. Would highly recommend it to anyway and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
141
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Booked the superior room which was very nice and spotless. Comfortable bed, loads of sapce with armchairs and a sofa plus roll top bath. The complimentary sherry and whisky on arrival was a lovely touch and very welcome after a day in the hills. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: The superior room has a large bed, lovely views out the front and a roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvellous_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was a superb Bed & Breakfast! The rooms were spacious, clean, and well decorated. The breakfast the next morning was terrific. There was lots to choose from (they just ask that you let them know the night before what you want) and the food tasted great. The hosts were the best part. They were quite friendly and did their best to make sure that not only was our stay perfect, but also that we enjoyed our vacation as a whole. They provided us with scenic directions to the places we wanted to go and gave us suggestions of more places to visit. They even told us the best places in town to find dinner. I only wish that we would have had more time to stay there longer and explore all that the area has to offer. The B&B is located in a perfect location for exploring the Scottish Highlands.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

A last minute decision to jump in the car and take a few days out meant we needed somewhere to stay. A quick search and a few reviews read later we decided to stay in Kingussie at Arden House. We were not disappointed.

The location was perfect, easy to find and close to all the local amenities. As we were heading up to Aviemore for a few walks it was an ideal location and only a short drive away.

Our hosts gave us plenty of information and advice on places to visit and eat.

It was perfect.

We especially loved our room (we stayed in Tomatin) which had an en-suite with a roll top bath - perfect to unwind after a day of walking.

The breakfasts were wonderful, prepared to a high standard and piping hot, preparing us for our long day of walks.

Our hosts were wonderful! They offered advise, recommendations and were always available, kind and made our stay that extra bit special. On arrival we were made to feel warm and very welcome. We had decided to go for a walk locally and were given advice on a good walk that would take in the local surroundings. We asked for recommendations as to were to eat and the suggested venue, the Silverfjord, did not disappoint.

We will certainly be going back to stay again. This was a perfect and amazing short break made all the better by our hosts and their wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tomatin which was stunning with an amazing en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We will definitely be staying at Arden house again.
Only stayed for one night Friday (3/Feb) as we wanted to visit the Highland Wildlife Park, but I wish we had stayed at least two. The rooms were freshly decorated to a high standard, and very clean. Very good value for money.
For breakfast we chose pancakes with maple syrup, which we both highly recommend.

We usually stay in hotels, but after this experience with such friendly and helpful hosts we’ll look for B&Bs more in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were visiting the nearby Highland Wildlife Park and wanted a good value, clean, local bed and breakfast. Instead what we got at Arden House was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed, anywhere in the world. Norrie and Jenny are the perfect hosts and the room (we stayed in Tomatin) was lovely with a beautiful bathroom.

Breakfast had an excellent selection and was cooked perfectly.

We got good recommendations for dinner (the Silverfjord) as well as the top tip of looking out for Walker the Polar Bear's predilection for eating hard hats.

Would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for accommodation in the Strathspey area. Overall Kingussie is a much nicer spot than Aviemore with just as good access to all the local attractions.

Room Tip: Tomatin is a lovely room with beautiful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumbrianscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I rarely give 5 stars to hotel but this place deserve it!

We arrived very late, about 11pm, but still got warm welcome from Norrie. The room is spacy and bed and duvet are just perfect. I've never had such comforting duvet before. High quality sleep guaranteed.

Plenty choices for breakfast, which is delicately served in a well decorated dining room. Jenny is very amiable and made sure we are 100% happy with the food.

I agree with out reviewer re host's good local knowledge. When we mentioned we are going to the national wildlife park near by, Norrie told us plenty stories to make the trip more fun.

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed my stay there. Thank you Jenny and Norrie!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simondx85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing