We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, welcoming spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hermitage Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hermitage Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cozy, welcoming spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of 4 recently spent a lovely night at the Hermitage Guest House with Andrew and Pauline. The guest rooms were very comfortable (inviting an almost-nap as soon as we arrived!), as was the guest lounge. Andrew recommended an excellent restaurant (SilverFjord) for dinner just a couple of blocks away, so we were able to wander over at our leisure. A nice touch was the collection of (family friendly) DVDs for guests' use. We were all able to relax with a "family movie night" after a long day of travel. Just what the doctor ordered!

Breakfast was one of the best on our trip... we loved the English pancakes as well as the salmon and oat cakes. Each delicious in its own right, but also a nice change of pace from the eggs, sausage, and bacon which dominates so many breakfast menus. We will definitely return to this gracious home the next time we're in the neighborhood!

Thank you Andrew and Pauline!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizardSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
35
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My brother and I recently completed a John O Groats to Lands End cycle ride and stopped at the Hermitage with Andrew and Pauline for one evening. The Hermitage is a delightful guest house nestled in Kingussie which we found to be extremely welcoming and accomodating. Being that we had to leave the following the morning very early, Andrew and Pauline were more than happy to accomodate us with a full cooked breakfast, which was very welcome! I can whole hearteldly recommend this guest to anyone lookng for a quiet and relaxing stay in Scotland. The guest house is very well decorated and the rooms are well supplied. A gem of a find and will be bringing my wife back with me soon for a slightly more relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hodnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well situated on the edge of Kingussie for accessing the local countryside. Warm welcome from Andrew and Pauline. Comfortable bed and the peace and quiet of the countryside ensured a good nights sleep. Very good choice at breakfast all beautifully cooked

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great B&B with lovely rooms and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts were fab and provided so much choice. I only wish I could have stayed longer to try more on the menu! I especially liked having a pot of tea in my room at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very warm welcome from the hosts, fab rooms all at great value. Good central location within Kingussie but on a quiet street. With a great bonus of lovely home cooking, if interested evening meals available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just come back from Kingssie after three night stay at the Hermitage. What can I say........

Fab Owners
Fab breakfast
Fab BB
Fab night sleep
Fab everything really.
Oh fab doggie, Shelby

No seriously, it is the best place to stay in Kingussie, if you want to feel at home and let Andrew and Pauline look after you, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were made very welcome by having a roaring log fire lit in the lovely guest lounge. We had an evening meal cooked for us which was really good to have a home cooked meal with vegetables.
Our request for an early breakfast was no problem and our host even scraped the snow of our car for us.
Rooms spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Hot water bottles hanging in bathroom were appreciated as I had got cold through during our journey.
Definitely always stay here when in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely and single occupancy was not a problem when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annegardiner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Guest House

Property: The Hermitage Guest House
Address: The Hermitage Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Guest House Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing