We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hermitage Guest House
Ranked #6 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2008

This is a superb guesthouse! We had tried and failed to find two twin rooms in Aviemore on the bank holiday weekend, but a quick check of Tripadvisor on the blackberry threw up this place, thankfully they had 2 rooms left!

4 muddy guys, 4 muddy bikes and 2 cars were welcomed by the owners at 8pm. The chap was very helpful, allowing us to lock the bikes in his shed and handing us a 10% discount for the local bar/restaurant..... where we went promptly after a quick shower for a well deserved steak and chips.

The rooms, the massive breakfast, the owners and the facilities were all top notch. I'd happily recommend the Hermitage to anyone and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank v0lc0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

Booked last minute and were fortunate that a room was available for the 2 days we wanted. Peter and his wife were very welcoming and were very helpful with possible meal options and discounts at local attractions. A really nice touch was offering a flask of tea/coffee for us to use during the day and a couple of scones at breakfast that we could take to have a snack out.
The room we had was on the ground floor, king size bed in a very tastefully decorated room. Very clean and with enough storage. Being a large room in did need the heating on all the time. Some might find it a little chilly.
Breakfast was of a high standard - fresh friut, cereal, cooked breakfast , toast, juices and the aforementioned scone.
Really enjoyed our stay and good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sondriosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Really very nice B&B. We booked a larger room which was lovely, really comfortable bed, proper high quality cotton bedlinen and lovely clean bathroom (with great shower). Nice touches like products (decent quality brands, not half empty and not out of date) left for guests to use in bathroom. The owners obvisouly care a great deal about service and this is really evident in the cleanliness of the rooms (spotless and comfortable) and the breakfast the next morning - nice quality cooked breakfast, good proper butcher sausages and bacon and nice touches like homemade scones (which Peter was happy to wrap up for us to take away). I am not a fan of B&Bs in general -always finding them a wee bit grotty and forced, but this one was really great and will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

What a great little guest house. This is our second time at the Hermitage and it has been great both times. The owners are so accomodating - we were travelling with a baby the first year and then a toddler the 2nd. They were able to book us into the family room which was great, and accomodate us with an early meal so that our daughter could join us. Because it is small it is possible to put a baby in your room with a baby monitor to enjoy dinner ( we did this last year ). Food is lovely, home cooked and plentiful and if you let them know in advance they can avoid certain things for you. You can also get a bottle of wine to enjoy. Breakfast is equally as good and sets you up for the day. It's warm, clean and nicely decorated, so all in all you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachthegeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

An excellent Guest House where the rooms are immaculate and the evening meal a good "home-cooked" dinner. Would thoroughly recommend. Our bedroom was a twin with en-suite shower and it was spotless and very comfortable, the hosts are welcoming.
We had a delicious breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rathgael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Excellent guest house, very friendly and welcoming. Lovely room, which was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Member20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
214
Reviewed August 11, 2003

Great little B&B the room we stayed in was clean, the soft furnishing were a bit flowery for my taste. The owners were very helpful, breakfast and dinners were tasty, hot and well presented. Would recommend this B&B for anyone wanting a break away for some peace and quiet.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.4 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sutherlands Guest House
Sutherlands Guest House
#3 of 23 in Kingussie
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Guest House

Address: The Hermitage Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range: $49 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Guest House Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing