We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of Glengarry B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glengarry B&B
Ranked #11 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Wonderful hospitality. Great breakfast. Local knowledge was helpful with dining.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

A very comfortable and spotlessly kept bed and breakfast elegantly situated on East Terrace, just above the main street of Kingussie. Great breakfast, warm welcome and many thoughtful touches.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sd17_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I arrived at Glengarry after spending a few nights in another B&b in Kingussie -what a difference! The home sits quietly back from the street, and is surrounded by an amazing garden (front and back!). Janet and Roger could not have been more welcoming. My room was a single, ensuite that overlooked the valley and nearby castle ruins. The entire home was clean and well-cared for. Janet gave me a little tour before the other guests arrived, and each room has been thoughtfully decorated -some have fireplaces, and all have lovely picture windows and plenty of space. Janet prepares a great breakfast -made to order, and Roger presents the breakfast while making sure all the guests are set for their day's adventure.
My stay was a lengthy one, as far as B&b's go (8 days), and after the stay at the other establishment, I was a little apprehensive. This feeling, however, vanished immediately upon entering the front door. My hosts welcomed me as a guest, took time to get to know me throughout the week, made sure I had everything I needed, and even went so far as to take me out to see the area on one of their afternoons off. I may have been welcomed as a guest, but I left feeling like a friend.
Some advice for Kingussie: Book Glengarry early as it fills up (another indication that it is a good B&b. If you like fish and chips -Happy Days Fish and Chips is amazing! The buses don't run very often (maybe 4 or 5 a day, both North and South), so a car is really the best way to enjoy the area. Inshriach nursery outside of Aviemore is well worth seeking out -not so much for the plants, but for the tea house. They had at least 10 homemade cakes and pies displayed on the tea house counter, and once these tasty bits are dished up, you can sit infront of a wall of windows and watch the multitude of birds and wildlife that are feeding in the forest.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laddiesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Staying at Glengarry b&b is like visiting wealthy relatives! the house is a victorian villa, and the guide they provide tells you all about its history (which is very interesting) the furnsihings are plush, carpets spotlessly clean, and all amenities provided.

It was a culture shock for us to come here admittedly after staying in two new build properties, but not an unwelcome one, the furnishings were sympathetic to the victorian property, as were the fittings & fixtures, a really polished offering, literally!

The owners were amenable, and interested to know what we had been up to that day, and what we were planning for the upcoming day, with plenty of advice about where to visit, and Breakfast was very pleasant. There is a single dining table, where you sit and tlak with the other guests, which as unusual, but generally good and added to the family feel.

The owners love their carpets, and have trays in the rooms into which you must place any of your shoes, we found that a little prescriptive, and found our indoor shoes moved into the trays a couple of times whilst we were out? just a minor point. Other than this a great b&b

If a little expensive at £70 a night.

Room Tip: all the rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balding_Bon_Viveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just what the doctor ordered, a home from home.

Janet & Roger ensured our stay was perfect, the breakfasts were first class and set us up for the day's hill walking ahead.

The rooms were comfortable and well appointed with numerous extras not normally found in a B&B.

We will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres donnant sur les montagnes sont vraiment très agréables !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.2 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry B&B

Address: Glengarry East Terrace, Kingussie PH21 1JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glengarry B&B Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing