We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good day out”

Highland Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Scottish wildlife and endangered animals of the world's mountains and tundra in our spectacular setting. Drive around the Main Reserve in your own car and then investigate the walk-round area on foot. With everything from Scottish wildcats to polar bears don't miss the Highlands' wildest day out!
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A good day out, we loved seeing all the animals - it was amazing seeing the tigers and the walkways and viewing galleries for the tigers were really good. Obviously a lot of money has been invested and it is really well done. A lovely cafe too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank reviewmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    357
    97
    38
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant park, value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff were great, clearly loved their jobs and the animals there. We went on a very cold, snowy day which would put most people off however park still had a number of visitors which indicates its popularity. Ticket for one day £14 for adult but as part was inaccessible in our own car they reduced the price per ticket. Would still have paid full price, this is a charity and you can see this with the 'basic' look of the place. Money spent on the animals and conservation work rather than going too commercial.
Dumping ground? Polar bears will be much happier than in edin zoo, they have more room and weather more appropriate for them. The guides know info about all the animals it is great to here what they plan for each of them as regards conservation projects, breeding programmes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenlmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have visited the park many, many times, and I felt compelled to write this review after reading some negative comments below - someone needs to set the record straight.
The Highland Wildlife Park is, in my opinion, one of the best attractions in Scotland. It started out as a conservation site for native Scottish species. Yes, in recent years it has diversified to include things like Amur (Siberian) Tigers and Polar Bears. My understanding is that these animals were brought in partly to entice visitors through the doors, with the gate money helping with conservation efforts for both those animals AND the native species.
To say the park doesn't have wolves anymore is ridiculous - a new wolf enclosure was opened a couple of years back, and they even had baby wolves born last year.
There are also otters, monkeys, musk ox, pine martens, red pandas, capercaillie, owls - to name but a few - not to mention that the site is (I think) the leading conservation site for native Scottish wildcats.
As for the polar bears... that enclosure was originally built for the late Mercedes when she moved to the Highlands from Edinburgh Zoo. She was not 'dumped' by the zoo, but actually moved to the Highlands to improve her quality of life in her later years. The enclosure is significantly bigger and better than what she had been used to. It now houses Walker and Arktos, two young males whom I have visited many times. Every time I have seen them they have been bounding around and frolicking in their pond. To say they are 'out of place and sad' is very odd indeed.
This is an excellent attraction - a great day out for everyone, with lots to keep people interested young and old. The best bit about it is that despite it being easily accessible from the nearby A9, by the time you get inside the sound of the traffic melts away and you can spend your entire visit enjoying the silence and stunning views of the Speyside mountains.
Go! You won't regret it!
(Oh, and yes you have to pay to get in, but it's a charity and all profits go into conservation work)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ElspethB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Happy and Well Looked after Animals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just come back yet again from Scotland now visiting the park on a quarterly basis from London. I tend to take the train up and stay over night and go back late the following day as the park is very unique in that they have Polar bears, tigers, Wolves (not sure what park the person below went too), Tundra safari, lots of owls and of course the famous Scottish Wildcats and more.What makes it amazing obviously the animals but the space they have. I was talking to one of the keepers who was very helpful in explaining in detail how the polars came to the UK and wanted to say they are very happy with an enclosure of 5 acres!!
So dont miss out I cannot do it enough justice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sueper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a look but wear walking boots.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were planning our visit here for months and months and it didn't disappoint.
I have read all the comments for the Highland Wildlife Park and found some to be very subjective and narrow minded. People need to realise that this is not just an extension of Edinburgh zoo but an animal conservation home for those that once lived in the HIghland or Tundra environments of planet Earth. This is exactly why you would find Snow Monkeys and Polar Bears here and even Amur Tigers once existed in our Tundra regions. It is for the animals and not us humans. Tigers may be diminishing rapidly due to poaching and this may be the only way to see them in their near to natural environment. This is why there aren't any Penguins, Chimpanzees, Lions and even Buffalo here. If you truly love animals and have an ounce of respect and education you will appreciate that the drive through is not for you to click away taking pictures but to witness the animals in or as near to their environment that they once lived in. Of course there is a gift shop and a small food outlet. It would be needed given the location and temperature. If I can be constructive and NOT at all negative, maybe some of the pathways could do with a revamp, the drive through receive some tarmac and the signage/directions be more clear. Apart from those 3 constructive comments I would recommend a visit. Spend the whole day, wrap up warm and be patient. You will get to see everything in time. Remember that the park is for animal and wildlife conservation and not our entertainment. Genuine animal lovers will enjoy. WE DID.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Wildlife Park also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Highland Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing