We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Highland Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Scottish wildlife and endangered animals of the world's mountains and tundra in our spectacular setting. Drive around the Main Reserve in your own car and then investigate the walk-round area on foot. With everything from Scottish wildcats to polar bears don't miss the Highlands' wildest day out!
NR GLASGOW
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We visited here while on holiday. The gentleman at the gate was friendly and of great help. The cafe is lovely and all the staff were friendly and provided us with lots of information and even kept my disabled mother company while we did the walking route. At the cafe there is a clear viewing area of the snow monkeys....spectacular!! On driving around the park we saw all the animals up close, it was amazing and I would happily recommend this place to anyone. On the walking tour we saw a very cute red panda who seemed to love the attention and appeared to be showing off...he was fab! The tigers came right up to the glass but I have a sneaky feeling they were due to be fed..and we looked yummy :-) . The little snow foxs were beautiful. So much to see...!!! Enjoyed by all!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FORSYTH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    367
    103
    40
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visited Many times”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We always come here if we are in the area just to see the lovely animals it has been a joy to see the changes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A family favourite”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The exhibits are well presented and you don't feel that the animals are unhappy. There is plenty to see and the cafe was lovely with homemade food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BandBSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A favourite attraction we keep returning to”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We try to get along to the Highland Wildlife Park at least a couple of times a year, whether for a day trip or by staying nearby in Kingussie.
Initially decided to visit because they had Scottish Wildcats (felis silvestris grampia, endangered, last native feline in Britain), and we love the whole park.
It has a great mix of the drive-through 'safari' area, the zoo-like but spacious enclosures & a shop/cafe, but the animals & the keepers are what keep us returning.
From our favourites - the scottish wildcats, to amur tigers, polar bears & european lynx (and many others) the animals will keep you enthralled! Especially worth attending the feeding times viewings, where the animals tend to be more energetic & the keepers entertain you with information & anecdotes.
It is a joy to visit even when the weather is snowy or raining (adds to the adventure of it all!)
We really appreciated the efforts of the keepers this visit - as they all wore kilts for St Andrews Day (despite the freezing temperatures)! And they support important conservation efforts for species like the wildcats.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamF_Entrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have visited this park on a few occasions but still find there is plenty to see , I like the new wolves enclosure and got a brilliant photo of my favourite animal ..the red pandas . well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Wildlife Park also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Highland Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing