We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok”

Highland Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Scottish wildlife and endangered animals of the world's mountains and tundra in our spectacular setting. Drive around the Main Reserve in your own car and then investigate the walk-round area on foot. With everything from Scottish wildcats to polar bears don't miss the Highlands' wildest day out!
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Park is ok, not a huge range of animals to see so its quite expensive but the snow monkeys, tigers & polar bears are worth a look. I thought it wasnt very well laid out & found most paths are unsuitable for buggies & wheelchairs. Blair Drummond is better. The view from the view point is very beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    371
    105
    40
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always entertaining”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Love going to the Highland Wildlife Park - where else would you get to see Pallas cats and Scottish Wildcats?! Fab. Friendly staff, too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wifey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a lovely day here on Saturday, our 2nd visit. The main reserve is so pretty to drive round, and the animals come so close to the cars you get a really good view of them.

There is so much to see in the walk-round area as well, the monkeys were hilarious!

We will definitely visit again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thehendrys3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Polar Bears!!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not a 9-5 day out but you can certainly spend a good 3-4 hours here. Polar bear feeding time is great - especially if you catch Walker playing with his hard hat... I will never forget the sight of a polar bear belly surfing down the snow-covered hill to get to his hard hat!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I visited the Highland Wildlife Park with my mum and stepdad in june. I really love this place. The animals are amazing and look so happy. The highlight of my trip was the monkies, I absolutely love monkies and was mesmorised by them, I could've stood and watched them for hours. As we don't drive, we had to get the bus to the bottom of the hill and walk up to the park, once we paid and got all the leaflets, a landrover came and picked us up and took us into the park. We booked a slot to go on the landrover around the "safari" the man who took us round was brilliant, he knew a lot about the animals and was very happy to answer any questions. The cafe, to me, was a little overpriced. I would say take a pic nic if there are a few of you visiting, there are lots of benches scattered around the park so you can sit down in comfort.

On our way back, we needed the landrover to get us out of the park so we could go get the bus. We had already asked to use the landrover and told them what time. We went to the shop and asked the girl, she radioed through to the staff but unfortunately nobody was available to take us, we started panicking and then the girl told us to go to the wee hut where they sell ice creams, we went there and knocked and to our surprise, a lovely lady who was cleaning grabbed her car keys and took us down to the bus stop... we had just a couple of minutes to spare for the bus... it was late anyway so it didn't really matter!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank anneliese g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Wildlife Park also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Highland Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing