We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish”
Review of The Tipsy Laird

The Tipsy Laird
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Under new management since August 2016, The Tipsy Laird is a traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park with a great range of local Malt Whiskies, Scottish Gins & Cask Ales, and a fantastic food offering at affordable prices, with daily specials as well. The Tipsy Laird boasts a stunning South facing beer garden, perfect for lunch on a weekend or a quiet pint in the evening. Or if you prefer the indoors, we have plenty of seating in the bar & restaurant areas, with a roaring fire for the winter months. We are family & dog friendly, although please note persons under the age of 18 (this includes babies) are not permitted on the premises after 8.30pm unless consuming a meal. Please note that restaurant service concludes at 9pm every night. Dinner reservations are recommended, especially from May - September & during school holiday times.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delish”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I recently visited this place with my partner on a couple of occasions for food and drink,food was fresh and very good, friendly staff and quick service,I had steak on my first visit and fresh battered cod on the next both were delicious,the place was clean and the decor and seating was nice I will definitely return for a meal next time I'm up that way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    137
    43
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bar food for a big party”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

there was 12 of us and we arrived without booking but they took care of us. we all ate well and the beer was very good too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Conward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great place to eat”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

a great choice of menu that does not disappoint.
beautifully cooked and presented to a high standard. very busy at the weekend and advance booking seems to be essential.
nice atmosphere and attentive staff made for a great dinner with friends and family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasse, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good adress”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

nice pub , good food ,tasty beers ! fast service, that's all i love !
very pleasant adress . Classic scotish food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank alain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Enjoyed meal when staying close by recently. Really good menu and food was delicious. friendly staff and nice atmosphere. would recommend as good place to eat in Kingussie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tipsy Laird also viewed

Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Tipsy Laird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing