We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Slemish B&B
Nearby Hotels
$133
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columba House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sonnhalde(Kingussie)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale House(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
$87
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Greystones B&B(Kingussie)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
158
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn and lorrainehomemade breadhuge bathtubhome madeimmaculate accommodationdressing areadouble bathporridgerecommendations for local restaurantswarm hometrain stationperfect hostsbed roomlovely homemaderelaxed friendly atmospherewithin walking distanceperfect room
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 160 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

To borrow from Mary Poppins, this stay was practically perfect in every way!

Excellent service, fully equipped room, bathroom. We wanted for nothing.

Food was a wide choice and professionally prepared.

Very quiet location but handy for the village, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: My wife and I are quite tall so we need a king-sized bed. This was our choice at Slemish. It had the added bonus of a very large bath to accommodate two people!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for choosing to stay at Slemish and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We could not fault this lovely B and B, and the extremely pleasant, helpful and attentive John and Lorraine. The bedroom and its en suite bathroom were spacious and beautifully appointed, and we were made to feel very much at home. Breakfast was memorable, with lots of fresh fruit and home baked breads. Yes, not just one sort but 3 different ones. And the whisky marmalade was delicious. Then there was a huge choice of cooked breakfast dishes. It's a good job we had our bicycles with us to burn off some of the calories. It was an excellent place to stay, and we would highly recommend this great place and people. John was also very thoughtful, helping us to plan our cycle route for the day, and he is obviously very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkIslandwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your time with us. We are happy that you found kingussie as an excellent base for your cycling excursions. Remember that our garage is always available
to store the cycles when not in use. We hope to see you again in the future to set you off on new
routes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

If you are thinking of a couple of days in the Kingussie, then Slemish must be hard to beat. I have now stayed in both bedrooms and everything about them is ideal. Everything about the hosts John and Lorraine is excellent as well, from the helpful local knowledge through the magnificent breakfasts and down to the final leaving present of some home-made cake which I ate on top an obscure Corbett. John has even had the forethought to arrange a discount for food at some of the local restaurants. There are few places where I actually plan a short break around a particular B&B, but this is one such, and it probably won't be the last. Apart from all the other recommendations in other reviews, it is just great to meet some really nice people like John and Lorraine

Room Tip: Don't worry - both rooms are superb
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review..Lorraine and I do our best to ensure that every guest, leaves us feeling that they have had a great holiday experience....Glad you found Kingussie to be an ideal base for your outings.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next Corbett sortie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I spent 2 nights here at Easter whilst walking in the area, and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Slemish is beautifully appointed, and a credit to Lorraine and John, who were the most attentive and friendly hosts. They were a wealth of knowledge on local attractions and eating places, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The home baking was scrumptious, especially Lorraine's whisky marmalade! A real gem!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our B & B. We are glad that we met your expectations of our accommodation. It is always nice to be told we are getting it right. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights in the King Size suite and have nothing but positives about the Slemish Guest House. Our hosts Lorraine & John were lovely, so helpful, kind & easy company; providing most welcome tea & home baking on arrival; offering advice about things to do, & places to eat; & generally being on hand with nothing any trouble. The suite we had was beautiful, very spacious with a stunning bathroom which included the biggest bath we'd ever encountered.......next time we stay we will hopefully have the time to use that! The suite was also very well equipped with tea/coffee facilities, filtered water, homemade biscuits, sweets, & little surprise Easter gifts. Food wise, the breakfasts were excellent, cooked to order with the best of local/Scottish ingredients, and accompanied by freshly baked home made bread & home made jams/marmalades - wish we'd asked Lorraine for her bread recipes! The packed lunches were also excellent, fresh sandwiches, home baked fruit cake & biscuits, crisps, piece of fruit, & fruit juice; incredible value for £3.50. The house itself is lovely, spotless, tranquil & ideally situated for both travelling in the area & for walking to shops/restaurants/etc in Kingussie. This was our 4th trip to the area & our 1st stay at Slemish. We've been very content with previous accommodation, but on future trips, Slemish will definitely now be our preferred choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad that we were able to ensure your holiday experience was a good one. Send us your e mail address and we will be happy to forward
the recipes for the soda and wheaten bread. Also glad you enjoyed the packed lunches.
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews