We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B!”
Review of Slemish B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slemish B&B
Ranked #4 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great B&B!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went up to Scotland for a ski trip and stayed at Slemish for a long weekend. It is a great B&B, facilities are very good, beautiful full Scotish breakfast, and John and Lorraine are very nice and friendly, they gave us very good tips for dining out, drives, etc. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisV798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Luis, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed Kingussie and your snow boarding.
Still great weather for sking and snow boarding. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
86
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stumbled across this place by complete accident-we were snowboarding in the Cairngorms and were left homeless in Aviemore on New Years eve! Found this place on line and lucky for us they had a room available! From the moment we got there we were made to feel right at home-after a day of snowboarding we were greeted with a beautifully decorated comfortable, clean, warm room, (John and Lorraine even took our wet snowboarding gear and put it in their hot room to dry) We had tea and freshly baked shortbread, Our hosts gave us excellent recommendations of what was going on in the town for New year. The next morning we had the most amazing breakfast-absolutely outstanding-freshly baked bread and excellent quality grilled breakfast, with home made Jams- we were even sent off with a very generous helping of Christmas cake! I would really, really recommend this as a place to stay for a snowboarding trip, 15 mins into Aviemore-but the quality of the accommodation/welcome and breakfast and tranquility of the place makes it well worth the 15 min drive. We are already planning our next trip to the highlands-maybe in Spring or Autumn, going to take the hiking boots, the bikes, the canoes and our camper van- and we'll certainly book into Slemish as a treat for a few days-can't wait! It was honestly better that any 5* we've ever stayed in and completely reasonably priced for what you get!

Room Tip: The Double room has a massive power shower and double jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.....We are very happy that we made such a lasting impression on you . As you have discovered Kingussie is a wonderful base of all types of outdoor sports and we offer drying facilities and sports equipment storage...Look forward to seeing you next time.....remember discount for 3 or more days
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Slemish with another couple for our visit to the Kingussie Food on Film Festival, from Friday evening until Sunday morning. And what a great weekend we had. The festival was great, but the B+B was fantastic. Lorraine and John made us all feel really welcome right from the off. We were treated with pots of tea and several cakes and biscuits on our arrival - just what we needed after our drive north. Both rooms were spacious, well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Loads of wardrobe space, plenty of teas and coffees. Breakfasts were served in a lovely airy dining space, and no request was too much for our fabulous hosts. Highly recommended, and hope to return soon. The only slight downer, and I am being very picky, is the short climb uphill from the main street to get to the house. Good exercise though!

Room Tip: We had the Kingsize Double. Our friends had the room with threee single beds. Much preferred our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambolonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is nice to be told when we have got it right...
Hope to see you for next years event....We are always happy to give our guests a lift up or down the hill. with thanks john & lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and myself decided on a last minute night away and I knew where to book. We've stayed with John and Lorraine before and honestly can't recommend Slemish B&B highly enough. Our hosts were wonderfully helpful and friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The room (king size) was just wonderful. Big, clean and the ensuite has the WOW factor! Breakfast is a delight. And they cater for all tastes with home made breads and jams. The full scottish is grilled (apart from the egg :} ) so it's extra tasty. We left Slemish feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for the king room.. And enjoy a swim in the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Thank you John and Lorraine, for letting Kevin, Sandra and myself to enjoy your home and hospitality.Our weekend in Kingussie for Paul and Ewelina's wedding, was a real treat and being made so welcome by everyone. I can wholeheartedly recommend booking in at the Slemish's immaculate accommodation, wonderful breakfasts, lots of information on what to do,homemade bread and jams, all your skills used to make us so welcome and relaxed.Thank you Lorraine for the use of the iron and ironing table, yep it's me.. John for your blethers in the morning,makes me smile and want to come back and we will be back soon. Keep up the good work, and, for everyone reading this review, do not hesitate to book this B&B,a home from home, with unobtrusive pampering, Janette

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a brilliant, comfy, friendly place to lay your tired head. Owners are so friendly and welcoming it's like a home from home, try out and you won't be disappointed!!!!!
Rooms are very clean with excellent en-suit facilities and for the computer internet buffs free wi-fi aswell.
Hill walkers are well catered for too as the mountains are right on the doorstep.
We booked the family room as we were attending a wedding that weekend and the owners could not be more helpful with anything we needed and the breakfasts that they serve are out of this world whether you like traditional porridge to cooked breakfasts and the amount of home made Irish bread and Jam of all sorts is well worth a try all freshly cooked an locally sourced produce too, dining area is great too as it looks right into garden where all sorts of wildlife visit of a morning an if you can't recognise a bird for example there are books provided to satisfy your curiosity.
Private parking facilities
are provided so you know that your car is safe an sound.
We will definitely be booking here again in the future.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My mum, aunt and I have been travelling about the UK and Ireland for 5 weeks now, staying in B&Bs all the time, and this one was THE BEST. The hospitality offered by John and Lorraine was, for us, one of the highlights of Scotland. Our lovely hosts were tirelessly friendly, helpful, and always going out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were perfect, the house is spotless and the food is SENSATIONAL! You should try the venison sausage... It's a revelation. I wish we could have stayed longer, as (with John's recommendations) there is so much to see and do around Kingussie and surrounding villages. 2.5 days was not enough!
If you're spending any time in the beautiful Cairngorm National Park, do yourself a favour and book this B&B, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmablahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are delighted by your wonderful review. Lorraine and I take pleasure in hearing that
we have fulfilled our aim in giving you a good holiday experience. So glad that you enjoyed our locally sourced venison sausage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slemish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slemish B&B

Property: Slemish B&B
Address: Slemish Dunbarry Road, Kingussie PH21 1JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Slemish B&B Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing