We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a marvellous visit”
Review of Slemish B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slemish B&B
Ranked #3 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Slemish with another couple for our visit to the Kingussie Food on Film Festival, from Friday evening until Sunday morning. And what a great weekend we had. The festival was great, but the B+B was fantastic. Lorraine and John made us all feel really welcome right from the off. We were treated with pots of tea and several cakes and biscuits on our arrival - just what we needed after our drive north. Both rooms were spacious, well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Loads of wardrobe space, plenty of teas and coffees. Breakfasts were served in a lovely airy dining space, and no request was too much for our fabulous hosts. Highly recommended, and hope to return soon. The only slight downer, and I am being very picky, is the short climb uphill from the main street to get to the house. Good exercise though!

Room Tip: We had the Kingsize Double. Our friends had the room with threee single beds. Much preferred our roo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambolonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is nice to be told when we have got it right...
Hope to see you for next years event....We are always happy to give our guests a lift up or down the hill. with thanks john & lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Slemish B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 155 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and myself decided on a last minute night away and I knew where to book. We've stayed with John and Lorraine before and honestly can't recommend Slemish B&B highly enough. Our hosts were wonderfully helpful and friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The room (king size) was just wonderful. Big, clean and the ensuite has the WOW factor! Breakfast is a delight. And they cater for all tastes with home made breads and jams. The full scottish is grilled (apart from the egg :} ) so it's extra tasty. We left Slemish feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for the king room.. And enjoy a swim in the bath!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Thank you John and Lorraine, for letting Kevin, Sandra and myself to enjoy your home and hospitality.Our weekend in Kingussie for Paul and Ewelina's wedding, was a real treat and being made so welcome by everyone. I can wholeheartedly recommend booking in at the Slemish's immaculate accommodation, wonderful breakfasts, lots of information on what to do,homemade bread and jams, all your skills used to make us so welcome and relaxed.Thank you Lorraine for the use of the iron and ironing table, yep it's me.. John for your blethers in the morning,makes me smile and want to come back and we will be back soon. Keep up the good work, and, for everyone reading this review, do not hesitate to book this B&B,a home from home, with unobtrusive pampering, Janette

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a brilliant, comfy, friendly place to lay your tired head. Owners are so friendly and welcoming it's like a home from home, try out and you won't be disappointed!!!!!
Rooms are very clean with excellent en-suit facilities and for the computer internet buffs free wi-fi aswell.
Hill walkers are well catered for too as the mountains are right on the doorstep.
We booked the family room as we were attending a wedding that weekend and the owners could not be more helpful with anything we needed and the breakfasts that they serve are out of this world whether you like traditional porridge to cooked breakfasts and the amount of home made Irish bread and Jam of all sorts is well worth a try all freshly cooked an locally sourced produce too, dining area is great too as it looks right into garden where all sorts of wildlife visit of a morning an if you can't recognise a bird for example there are books provided to satisfy your curiosity.
Private parking facilities
are provided so you know that your car is safe an sound.
We will definitely be booking here again in the future.


  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My mum, aunt and I have been travelling about the UK and Ireland for 5 weeks now, staying in B&Bs all the time, and this one was THE BEST. The hospitality offered by John and Lorraine was, for us, one of the highlights of Scotland. Our lovely hosts were tirelessly friendly, helpful, and always going out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were perfect, the house is spotless and the food is SENSATIONAL! You should try the venison sausage... It's a revelation. I wish we could have stayed longer, as (with John's recommendations) there is so much to see and do around Kingussie and surrounding villages. 2.5 days was not enough!
If you're spending any time in the beautiful Cairngorm National Park, do yourself a favour and book this B&B, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmablahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We are delighted by your wonderful review. Lorraine and I take pleasure in hearing that
we have fulfilled our aim in giving you a good holiday experience. So glad that you enjoyed our locally sourced venison sausage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September for 1 night. We visit Scotland yearly to see family, then drive around the country seeing the sights. What a delightful surprise the Slemish was! The double room is very large. The bed was perfect for a good night's sleep. The entire property was very clean. The bathroom was a real treat with a fabulous tub and shower. The shower was a good size and had multiple heads that had lots of water pressure.
The breakfast was very good. The breakfast room is very sunny and well appointed. Lorraine makes fresh bread from scratch using her mother's recipe. You order the night before because everything is cooked by Lorraine per your requirements. Try the the venison sausage....tasty!
John is very helpful with recommendations for local restaurants for dinner. He was a delight to talk to about the area.
The grounds are very neatly kept and attractive.
We looked at the triple room because we will be traveling with family from the US in the next couple of summers. While not as spacious as the double, I think it would be very comfortable.
We would definitely stay here again.
Thanks so much, John and Lorraine, for a much needed good night's rest in a very comfortable bed that was long enough for my 6' tall husband.

Room Tip: The double room is very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Read about the Slemish B'n'B on tripadvisor and decided to book a two night stay. one of the best decisions for a short break that we have made. coffee and home bakes on arrival, an absolutely fantastic room (kingsize en suite) and the perfect hosts in John and Lorraine. fresh homemade bread and preserves alongside a cooked breakfast,using locally sourced produce, grilled to perfection, tasty and filling. spotlessly clean and immaculately presented house from top to bottom, it's easy to see why Slemish is in the "Best B'nB in Scotland" listings. John even chauffeured us to a local eatery for our evening meal, try getting that from your short stay hotel break! so the next time that we plan a short break away, this will be our number one choice of place to stay. thanks again to John and Lorraine, from Jackie and Gordon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogsandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slemish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slemish B&B

Address: Slemish Dunbarry Road, Kingussie PH21 1JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Slemish B&B Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing