We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Place”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Balnabruaich

Views, location and walks / bike rides from the door make this cosy cottage perfect.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views, location and walks / bike rides from the door make this cosy cottage perfect.
The lounge / dining room with spectacular mountain views. The extremely well equipped kitchen has everything you could need.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Views, location and walks / bike rides from the door make this cosy cottage perfect.
The lounge / dining room with spectacular mountain views.
The extremely well equipped kitchen has everything you could need.
Main bedroom (King-size bed) with en-suite off.
Single bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Red squirrels in the garden. You will also see Woodpecker, Jay, many small birds, Deer and Hare.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jnic999
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Had a great week at Balnabruaich which is a very well equipped and comfortable holiday home. Lovely views from lounge and the peace and quiet is awesome. Loads of wildlife in the garden which the grandchildren loved to see. Situated in a superb location for walking or cycling and easy access to Kingussie and Aviemore. Will definitely return and have no problem recommending the property to family and friends. Thanks for your hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2018
Thanks very much for the lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed Balnabruaich and will be very happy to welcome you back again. All the best Judy and Jules
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki S
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, clean and comfortable holiday home, Wildlife everywhere!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Balnabruaich is located not far from Kingussie, set nestled on the edge of a magnificent pine forest. The surroundings are peaceful and relaxing away from the business of the main tourist spots. Yet you are still in easy reach of all the main attractions. Including the Highland Wildlife Park, Highland Folk Museum, Landmark Adventure Park, Loch Morlich, Loch An Eilien, The Strathspey Railway and The Cairngorm Mountain all well worth a visit! The house has everything anyone looking to self cater would need, there is a very well equipped kitchen. We loved the views from every window, there was wildlife everywhere. We appreciated the binoculars found sitting at the lounge window. The garden is super for children and dogs to enjoy. Everyone in our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we are intending to visit again in the future. We saw red squirrels in the garden every day and also spotted a roe deer buck, crested tits, pheasant and grouse in the garden! I loved watching hares play in the surrounding farmland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2018
Hi Vicki. Thanks very much for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the house. We will be very glad to see you all there again! Best wishes Judy and Jules
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterboak...
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect location for a peaceful holiday”
Reviewed May 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our third visit to Balnabruaich which is just a few minutes drive from Kingussie, it is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday cottage situated in a very quiet location, adjacent to the Badenoch Way. It has good views looking over Insh Marshes (RSPB Reserve) to the Monadhliath Mountains. Plenty of wildlife can be seen from the cottage, Pine Marten if you are lucky. Several walks close by and many more in the forests nearby. The owners Judy and Jules are very friendly and helpful. We will be returning later in the year and have no hesitation in recommending the cottage for a perfect holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2018
Thank you very much Peter, for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoy Balnabruaich and look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Judy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridgeback...
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

3rd stay in location 1st stay at the cottage & it was great. Warm welcoming & attention to detail was obvious. Scenery from the main living room window was spectacular. The bird feeders in & around the garden were great & it was fun filling them & watching the red squirrels partridge & even a woodpecker come in to feed. Inshriach forest is right on the door step & the walks are, well, as long as you want them to be. No need to go anywhere but there are many things to do locally or even head into Aviemore if you fancy a bit of skiing or some outdoorwear shopping. Summer or winter its a great holiday with plenty to do & coukdnt find a more comfortable cottage to stay. Looking to get back as soon as. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Thanks for your very good review - we appreciate it, and would be very happy to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam W
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great house in a perfect location!”
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Cottage is quietly located nearby Kingussie and it is very good equipped with really everything! It has superb views on the mountains, it was a shame that we had only booked for a week. There is a lot of wildlife (birds, deer, squirrels) around the cottage. We are definitely coming back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2018
Thank you for your kind comments, Miriam. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Balnabruaich and would be very happy to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Second visit to this holiday home and everything was perfect. Lovely location and as an added bonus it even snowed for us. A lovely Xmas tree was also there and it was like home from home. Thank you Judy. Perfect. Margaret and Peter Preece

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2018
Thank you Margaret and Peter. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that it was a good Christmas for you all. Best wishes Judy and Jules.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue613
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home & far from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Only a 10 minute drive from Kingussie but the wonderful feeling of peace & tranquillity. Unlike some rental properties, Balnabruaich is stocked with everything you could want...more kitchen utensils than I have at home! A spacious property with magnificent views of the hills with a welcoming homely feel about it. The owners Judy & Jules are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The website doesn't do the property justice but at least it isn't a "modern" website that contains photos of just a tap or a cushion!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review Sue. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Balnabruaich and looking forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing