We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!! B&B Iwe have stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruthven Steadings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruthven Steadings
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
2 reviews
“The Best!! B&B Iwe have stayed in.”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This was one extra night stay at the end of a week in self-catering cottage. The B&B was worth its 4 stars and more. It was warm, welcoming comfortable and the breakfast was fab. Would recommend this as the best place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
115
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Our comments echo the other reviews. The room is beautiful, comfortable, and spacious with all sorts of nice touches to enhance the stay; food is great; hosts are helpful and friendly. The area was one of our favorites in the UK, too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfernb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was our 5th (or even 6th?) stay at Ruthven Steadings. As always, a home from home, and our 3 day stay soon extended itself to 5...
Julie and John are superb hosts, and really make you feel welcome. The rooms are very spacious and immaculately clean. The Tractor Shed is the larger of the two rooms, and the one we normally stay in. The room has a massive bed, wooden floors and beams, and a really nice, elegant bathroom (with a hefty power shower to wake you up in the morning). Every morning there is a breakfast menu to choose from, with choices ranging from apple and sultana-filled pancake served with fresh fruit, to a traditional cooked breakfast (with local venison sausages). You can have porridge, cereal, fruits, yogurts and there is always fresh home baked bread and home-made jam too.
In the room, you also have a TV and DVD player, access to books and maps, and a tea-tray stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits to make sure that you have a cosy and comfortable evening after a long day out in the hills
In all honesty, the only drawback about staying here is that it spoils you - every other B+B seems second rate in comparison!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

It's a couple of years since we stayed at Ruthven Steadings but returned again last month and were not disappointed. It's still the best B & B we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We've not long returned from another visit & I can only really endorse everything said here by others, we have been to Ruthven and stayed in both the Dairy Room and the Tractor Shed a number of times, don't be fooled by the title of the rooms, they are both superb, plenty of room and spotless.
John and Julie are tremendously nice folk and quite rightly very proud of Ruthven Steadings which they renovated/rebuilt from scratch. The breakfast here will take some beating in our opinion, really set you up for the day, beats a hotel breakfast buffet hands down. (Hmmm home baked bread every morning for as much toast as you can eat!)
We stay twice a year and we find it one of the easiest places to relax, there's loads of walks within a short distance and very easy to get around the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Tractor Shed in October 2008 and overall this must be our 6th or 7th visit. This indicates just how much we like the place, not just the accommodation but also the area and the friendliness of the Hosts. We have stayed with our daughter in the past and enjoyed hiring bikes to explore the area and played table tennis with John and Julie. The Kingussie museum tells a grim tale of a Crofter's hard life in the Highlands before the clearances and the extension of the museum in Newtonmore is also well worth a visit - but make sure you pick a dry day! We have also visited many local attractions by car and also by train - it is only 3/4 mile to the station. Overall there was a lot to do with our daughter and also the last 2 trips made on our own. I have also managed to get in some golf on my visits and would highly recommend Kingussie Golf course to anyone, of any standard. The views from the course are truly magnificent and surely cannot be beaten by any other course in the UK!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnorLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2009

You know what it's like when someone you know raves about a place they've stayed at? It can't possibly be that good; but at the price, it's got to be worth a try.
Well, Ruthven Steadings is that good. On the back of such a recommendation, I've used this B&B as a base for various outdoor activities for a number of years now.
Mountain bikers aren't always made welcome, but these guys garage your bike for you! And the hearty breakfast put enough fuel in the tank for any outdoor challenge (including the Corrieyairack!) For a Geordie, John makes the best poridge out.
After a hard day in the hills, there's no better place than the Old Tractor Shed, and it's massive bed, to crash.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMountain_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
449 reviews
17.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthven Steadings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthven Steadings

Property: Ruthven Steadings
Address: Ruthven Steading Ruthven Steading Ruthven, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthven Steadings 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4-star fully renovated steading in a quiet and scenic location just l mile from Kingussie, 12 miles south of Aviemore, in the Cairngorm National Park, set in 2 acres. Two spacious ensuite rooms with lots of character and handmade elm furniture. Superkingsize beds, wooden beams, wooden floors, flat screen TVs, DVDs, leather sofas. Hall with wooden burning stove. Full Scottish Breakfast, vegetarian options, home made bread and jams. Central for Visitor Attractions, golf l mile, watersports 6 miles, snow skiing 19 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruthven Steadings Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing