We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes it really is that good !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruthven Steadings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruthven Steadings
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yes it really is that good !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We've not long returned from another visit & I can only really endorse everything said here by others, we have been to Ruthven and stayed in both the Dairy Room and the Tractor Shed a number of times, don't be fooled by the title of the rooms, they are both superb, plenty of room and spotless.
John and Julie are tremendously nice folk and quite rightly very proud of Ruthven Steadings which they renovated/rebuilt from scratch. The breakfast here will take some beating in our opinion, really set you up for the day, beats a hotel breakfast buffet hands down. (Hmmm home baked bread every morning for as much toast as you can eat!)
We stay twice a year and we find it one of the easiest places to relax, there's loads of walks within a short distance and very easy to get around the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
115
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Tractor Shed in October 2008 and overall this must be our 6th or 7th visit. This indicates just how much we like the place, not just the accommodation but also the area and the friendliness of the Hosts. We have stayed with our daughter in the past and enjoyed hiring bikes to explore the area and played table tennis with John and Julie. The Kingussie museum tells a grim tale of a Crofter's hard life in the Highlands before the clearances and the extension of the museum in Newtonmore is also well worth a visit - but make sure you pick a dry day! We have also visited many local attractions by car and also by train - it is only 3/4 mile to the station. Overall there was a lot to do with our daughter and also the last 2 trips made on our own. I have also managed to get in some golf on my visits and would highly recommend Kingussie Golf course to anyone, of any standard. The views from the course are truly magnificent and surely cannot be beaten by any other course in the UK!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnorLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

You know what it's like when someone you know raves about a place they've stayed at? It can't possibly be that good; but at the price, it's got to be worth a try.
Well, Ruthven Steadings is that good. On the back of such a recommendation, I've used this B&B as a base for various outdoor activities for a number of years now.
Mountain bikers aren't always made welcome, but these guys garage your bike for you! And the hearty breakfast put enough fuel in the tank for any outdoor challenge (including the Corrieyairack!) For a Geordie, John makes the best poridge out.
After a hard day in the hills, there's no better place than the Old Tractor Shed, and it's massive bed, to crash.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMountain_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

What a wonderful and relaxing 2 days spent in this spectacular house. This level of service is second to none. The room spacious warm and comfortable, Julie was kind enough to give us another bed so that I could be in the same room as my two children. Breakfast was brilliant, puts most hotels to shame. Would highly recommend and would consider no other accommodation if staying in the area. Had aquick look at the self catering cottages which look every bit as good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArbroathMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITALIA48
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed in the Dairy Room at Ruthven Steadings as a one off weekend break last year, just to get away from the smog of the city. We never expected the quality of our stay to be so high. The room was beautiful, really cosy with well-chosen videos to watch too (although the weather was too nice). We booked to return this February for 4 nights but in the larger room, the Old Tractor shed - my husband is now re-doing our bathroom, based on theirs! Again it was so cosy and homely. The weather was so awful but Julie and John played table tennis with us, lent us bikes (although it was too windy really), gave us info on what to do and where to go and made us really fab, warming breakfasts in the morning. What a pleasure to find such a lovely place, with fabulous scenery, and wonderful hosts. We now want to book one of the cottages during the summer season, but can't tally up availability as others have also discovered our little find. What a lovely, quiet, delightful place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITALIA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

We found the Steadings through an Adventures website and i'm really pleased we stayed there, if only for the magnificent view of Ruthven Barracks lit up at night.
We stayed in the Old Tractor Shed which looks like it has been fairly recently converted as all the fixtures and fittings were new and modern. The owners are a nice couple who are available when you need them, but give you your own space.
A round of golf is definitely recommended in Kingussie. The Golf course has some stunning views, but unfortunately this didn't improve my game.
A nice, relaxing stay, although the heating system did make a bit of noise through the night.

  • Liked — The view of the barracks
  • Disliked — The noisy heating
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott74Hastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
17.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthven Steadings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthven Steadings

Property: Ruthven Steadings
Address: Ruthven Steading Ruthven Steading Ruthven, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthven Steadings 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4-star fully renovated steading in a quiet and scenic location just l mile from Kingussie, 12 miles south of Aviemore, in the Cairngorm National Park, set in 2 acres. Two spacious ensuite rooms with lots of character and handmade elm furniture. Superkingsize beds, wooden beams, wooden floors, flat screen TVs, DVDs, leather sofas. Hall with wooden burning stove. Full Scottish Breakfast, vegetarian options, home made bread and jams. Central for Visitor Attractions, golf l mile, watersports 6 miles, snow skiing 19 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruthven Steadings Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing