We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ruthven Steadings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruthven Steadings
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Without a question, the best place we stayed at in Scotland.
We stayed for about a week, at the "Old Tractor Shed".

The room was big, comfortable and spotless.
The breakfast was excellent.

But the best "feature" was Julie (hi Julie :-))
She made us feel truly at home, gave lots of useful information and was just great in general :-)

In short: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffGodOfBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Owner at Ruthven Steadings, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guests,

What lovely comments about The Old Tractor Shed and our B&B. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Ruthven Steadings
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Ruthven Steadings in the Tractor Shed room - what a pleasure from the moment of arrival until departure. The room was super, our hosts Julie & John couldn't have been more thoughtful or helpful, and the location was perfect. Without doubt one of the very best B&Bs we've stayed in and this will definitely be our preferred choice for future trips to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatteMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Owner at Ruthven Steadings, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guests,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ruthven and very much look forward to seeing you again next year.

best wishes,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed in a wide variety of different star rating hotels and b&b's across the world and would rate this as the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. The facilities are excellent, the bedroom was beautiful (we stayed in the Old Tractor Shed). The home-cooked breakfast was delicious.
Julie was lovely allowing us to arrive early on our first night of stay and providing a very warm welcome. Little touches like offering fresh milk and leaving welcoming notes, added a very personal and charming touch.
The location is perfect for exploring the Cairngorms and very any runners, the b&b is set on a very quiet road, perfect for early morning runs.
We have no hesitation in recommending for all and will certainly book again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Owner at Ruthven Steadings, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you for such lovely compliments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ruthven.

Best wishes,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the b and b for 2 nights and our room was fab really clean comfortable and super large beds. The hosts were really great too. Had a great break from city life and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morton73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Owner at Ruthven Steadings, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
Julie & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in Ruthven over Xmas and New Year 2012 and it was fabulous. Both rooms were great - good size, spotless facilites and a selection of DVD's for when the TV is awful. Julie was a pleasure to deal with and cooks a great breakfast. The venison sausages and homemade bread were a real pleasure to get up for. A pleasure to be there and we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: The Old Tractor Shed has a beamed celiing and is slightly bigger, but, the Dairy Room looks out over...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Owner at Ruthven Steadings, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and such a good one. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for four nights back in early October and we were blown over by our accomodation and the wonderful breakfasts. On arrival Julie was very welcoming and suggested plenty of places to eat in the evenings. Our room which was the Old Tractor Shed was beautiful and spotless. nothing was too much trouble for Julie and John. Fresh milk in our room was a lovely touch. The breakfasts were delicious and the choice was excellent. This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in and we look forward to returning in 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Owner at Ruthven Steadings, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments about The Old Tractor Shed and our B&B. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

There is a reason why Ruthven in #2. My husband and I were here early this month. Inspite of staying here for 3nights there were still lot more to see and do. Ruthven pampers you right from the time u walk in. In fact Julie has been very helpful right from the time we did our bookings. Julie&John were very very friendly,welcoming and quite informative about the local area -things to do & see & eat :) The B&B stands at a huge area with lovely views facing the Barracks. As soon as we stepped in to the gate we were welcomed by a large rainbow which was actually a feast to our eyes though. Kingussie is beautiful. Ruthven was like the cream on the cake. The home is wonderfully and creatively made and decorated with wood largely. We were booked for The Dairy Room. It was so large and spacious. The biggest B&B we've stayed in so far. There's even separate space for keeping ur luggage. Huge hospitality tray with lavish portions and fresh milk. Plenty DVDs and books. Breakfast was an absolute Delight with home made bread and delicious pancakes which was Julie's specialty. When we requested a slightly different fruit bowl with our favourite local produce, they never said a No. The best part was to see a note from Julie at the door on reaching home after a good day asking - " Hope you had a good day".. Nothing was too much trouble to them. We still want to come back to Cairngorms. Thank you so much for making our trip extremely memorable. Glad we chose to stay with you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Owner at Ruthven Steadings, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Dear Guests,

Wow, such lovely compliments, thank you for such a wonderful review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

best wishes,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sutherlands Guest House
Sutherlands Guest House
#4 of 22 in Kingussie
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthven Steadings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthven Steadings

Address: Ruthven Steading | Ruthven, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range: $43 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful cottages in the Cairngorms national park each sleeping 4 in 2 bedrooms: Double with en-suite. Twin with shared bathroom. Secluded garden with visiting wildlife. Within walking distance of Kingussie, RSPB Insh Marshes, Ruthven Barracks. Close to Highland Folk Museum, Loch Insh Watersports and the Highland Wildlife Park. Well equipped kitchen, spacious open plan lounge-diner, sun deck and lawn with bbq & furniture, hall/drying room with generous hanging. Free Wifi, Free-sat TV, DVD. Free use of table tennis & 2 shopping bikes. Free use of Washing machine & tumble drier ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruthven Steadings Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing