We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ruthven Steadings
Nearby Hotels
Columba House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
McInnes House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Highlander Hotel(Newtonmore)(Great Value!)
$121
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
$124
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
152
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat kitchenwarm welcomegrantown on speygreat hostslovely spota wonderful staythe cottagesbird feederstop qualityshort drivehome from homesecond visitjuleswalksjudybarracks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 153 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2011

When you find a gem, you are tempted to keep it to yourself but unfortunately we find ourselves telling all our friends about our stay in Ruthven Steadings. The owners were very cheerful and so relaxed they made us feel at home from home. Our room with en-suite was very clean and after a day of mountain biking there was loads of hot water to thaw out. There was a drying room which was essential for our clothing and equipment plus our bikes were stored in the workshop. The breakfasts were all first class with home-made bread and local produce – if the alarm couldn’t get us out of our cosy bed then the smell of fresh bread certainly did. We will definitely be coming here again and the owners (Julie & John) were perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jitmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed in the old tractor shed 3rd to 6th of october the room was spotless with a king sized bed and julie the host was very attentive to all our needs.The location is very beautiful and peaceful allowing us to fully recharge our batteries, with plenty to do in the surrounding areas especially if you like walking and wildlife can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

From our arrival in Kingussie(John picked us up from the station) we were made to feel so welcome Our room (the dairy room) was fantastic and all the facilities that it offered could probably not be matched in many expensive 5 star hotels.The selection of teas,coffees and even a jar of hot chocolate together with a jar of bisuits was great.
The breakfasts were just the thing to set you up for the day great in quality and the homemade bread fabulous.We have booked again for next year and and it can,t come too soon
Chissie & Tony Wright

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

My new favourite room in my new favourite B&B is the Old Tractor Shed at Ruthven Steadings - spotlessly clean, huge, stylish and comfortable with an amazing vaulted beamed ceiling and great bathroom - what else could you want? ... free WiFi? ... yup, got that too!
It's a short walk (take a torch!) into Kingussie for evening meals - recommend Silverfjord - but save plenty of room for Julie's delicious breakfasts - recommend everything!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eligor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

A terrific bed and breakfast. The owner Julie does a magnificent job, she is a mine of information on the local things to see and do. The dairy room which we stayed in was spotless and breakfast kept us fed all day, she is the perfect host. You must visit the finnish potting shed its approx 5 miles away. Coffee, cake and a real close up view of several species of small birds and a red squirrel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdaviesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews