We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gilmore House
Ranked #5 of 19 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Great location, with easy parking. A short stroll to the shops and restaurants. Spotless bathroom - the biggest en suite I've seen at a B&B. Homely touch with the toiletries. Two visitors' lounges - a pity we couldn't have stayed longer to make more use of them. The breakfast was fantastic - lovely fresh fruit, yogurt, full Scottish or a big egg and bacon butty

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

At Gilmore House you get much more than "just" B&B. The room was spacious and immaculately clean, as was the ensuite bathroom. The whole house is beautifully decorated -- it could be a destination in and of itself. There are two very nice lounges available to guests, and a lovely garden. Breakfast was always done to perfection, with an incredible array of choices. Jill goes out of her way to accommodate special requests. The house is within walking distance of restaurants and shops. We highly recommend it, and will stay there again whenever we're in central Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OftenAmazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I took my parents (51 and 53) on a two week road trip through Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and England. I pre-booked at 10 different B&Bs and Gilmore House was the best by far. (My parents used to run a B&B agency which involved inspecting establishments and they couldn't praise Gilmore House highly enough.) The prices are excellent, but I would highly recommend splurging if it's a bit higher than you planned to spend - it's worth every penny. I chose this location based on the photos and information on their website, the fact that it's near Edinburgh (we spent the following day in the city but I didn't want to pay the prices found at locations right in the city), and I'm a fan of the TV show Gilmore Girls so I liked the name of the B&B! The beautiful interior, large rooms, convenient location, cleanliness, and impressive breakfast far exceeded our expectations. All of our B&Bs were in a similar price range and we were baffled that Jill's prices weren't higher as the service far surpassed the other places we stayed at. From what I can remember, breakfast offered a buffet with selection of juices, cereal, yogurt, cheeses, and breads (including pastries and banana bread). Her full English breakfast was delicious and my dad was pleased to finally have an opportunity to try black pudding. Two beautiful sitting rooms were available for us to use and my dad enjoyed lounging in one while reading one of the books about Scottish clans. The location was peaceful and quiet. Jill has two children but we weren't aware of their presence until we heard their voices in another part of the house when we came downstairs for breakfast. The garden is lovely - I believe they were awarded second place in a gardening contest in 2008. I cannot

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We had a one night stay at Gilmore House in Blairgowrie, Jill, the soft spoken hostess was very sweet and a wonderful cook. The breakfast room was large and bright. You could have the full Scottish breakfast (sorry--don't like blood pudding!!) or have fresh fruit, yogurt, pancakes, fresh squeezed juice etc. The other guests were from england. We had interesting conversations with them. You have your own private table so it is not necessary to mingle.
The location of the house is very central. You can go off to many towns, castles, botanic gardens in all different directions.

The room was spotless and decorated nicely. The front garden was pretty as well. We happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I was visiting friends and stayed at Gilmore House. The accommodation was lovely, the owners very friendly and Gilmore House had a lovely atmosphere. I would definitely recommend Gilmore House to anyone visiting Blairgowrie.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winchgrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lisad1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
4.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
141 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenshieling House
Glenshieling House
#1 of 19 in Blairgowrie
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rosebank House
Rosebank House
#2 of 19 in Blairgowrie
290 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.2 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore House

Address: Perth Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional detached late Victorian family home, offering bed and breakfast in 3 en-suite rooms. Comfy, homely and warm ambience. Well situated to explore Perthshire and beyond. Within walking distance of town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gilmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing