We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary!”
Review of Gilmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gilmore House
Ranked #3 of 14 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

To this day, I regret that we had but one night to stay. An visions of returning to Scotland center around the ability to return to this lovely B&B. Gilmore House was my first night on my first visit to Scotland and it was wonderful! The rooms were update and recently and superbly remodeled bathrooms. The rooms were incredibly well-furnished and comfortable. We great enjoyed the sitting room at the mid-level and used it extensively. I regret that we didn't venture down to the living room until we were about to leave, as I noticed that excellent Scotch Whisky had been laid out! Breakfast was full and extensive with the standard Scottish fair with wonderful fresh fruit, French-pressed coffee with a wee-bit o'whisky for the coffee and oatmeal. Jill service was excellent and very hospitable. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Scotland. It may seem "out of the way," but the town of Blairgowrie is quaint, and a beautiful place to retreat.

Room Tip: Top of the stairs, turn right, room to the right, excellent!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramlorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay and Blairgowrie, I hope we can welcome you back one day for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Gilmore House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

An excellent B&B, well furnished. Bathroom spacious and well appointed - even bathrobes and nice toiletries. The twin room was comfortable - agood nights sleep. The lounge is comfortable and the reading materials were great. The breakfast was great with a great choice of cereals, cheeses and fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast was also very good. Jill was very welcoming and friendly. A B&B I will certainly use again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

With regret we only stayed one night. We had a peaceful room, thoughtfully provided for all our needs, enjoyed the sun room upstairs with the entertaining collection of informative Scottish books. Divine breakfast, the best on our trip. Jill must be very proud of the place and deserves lots of praise for her efforts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandDaveat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Many thanks for the review and the lovely e-mail you sent me on your return home, glad you enjoyed the scones/cakes during the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Excellent hosting, impecable facilities and a smashing breakfast with lots of choice.
Jill is a lovely woman who was happy to go the extra mile to make our stay a fantastic and memorable one to say the least.
Would definitely recommend a stay in this lovely house, we hope to stay agian in the future.
Angela & Scott

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and we would love to have you back to stay again. The beavers have 3 kits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A very enjoyable one night stay. Twin room well appointed with spacious en suite bathroom. Guest lounge bright and comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and nicely presented, with special mention of fruit salad. No hesitation recommending to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and very pleased you would recommend us. Hope to meet you again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spend our first night in scotland in Jill's wonderfull B&B. Our first and until now the best B&B we stay during our scotlandtrip. Our room was beautyfull furnished with lounge chairs, writing desk, tv and a large bathroom with bath and shower. At the evening we enjoy one of the different teas, which are ready for us. Next morning, after a hot shower, we've the breakfast with homemade marmelade, coffee, cereals, joghurt fresh fruit, cheese, cake etc. What ever you want, it was here! Wha a pity, that i haven't enough courage to try a full scottish breakfast. I think i've lost a great experience. Jill was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed every minute we stayed at these excellent B&B!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rüdiger Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Great to hear you had a good stay with us and that we ranked so highly on your trip to Scotland. We would be delighted to welcome you back should you make a return trip to Scotland - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Gilmore House B&B. Very friendly hosts. We had room 1, which is very spacious and has a bath and shower, as well as a lovely view over the garden and fields beyond. Very comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was fantastic and I would rate it the best breakfast I've had at a B&B in Scotland. There was a selection of fresh fruit, homemade jam and marmalade, homemade bread with a selection of cheeses, and a fantastic cooked breakfast (I would recommend the potato scones). We will stay here again whenever we are in Blairgowrie. Thanks for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Many thanks for the positive review of our B&B and we are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast selection. We look forward to meeting you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
4.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#5 of 5 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
751 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 5 in Blairgowrie
298 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore House

Address: Perth Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range: $95 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional detached late Victorian family home, offering bed and breakfast in 3 en-suite rooms. Comfy, homely and warm ambience. Well situated to explore Perthshire and beyond. Within walking distance of town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gilmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing