We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gilmore House
Ranked #3 of 20 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Flawless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at Gilmore House for a night after walking the Cateran Trail. Gilmore House is a ten minute walk from the town centre (where there are lots of eateries, bars etc.), but Jill was happy to pick us up from the town when we called for directions. This was the beginning of an extremely hospitable stay. This is a characterful Victorian House with original features and lots of character, but it has been refurbished to the highest possible standard and provides every amenity a couple of tired walkers could have wanted. The owners have literally thought of everything their guests could want - the rooms have bathrobes, nail files, razors and plasters as standard! Extremely comfortable beds, large en-suite with bath and shower, good breakfast, all with eco-friendly credentials - absolutely flawless experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opera2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and delighted with your very positive words and experience. Also lovely to hear great feedback about the Cateran Trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Comfortable, friendly, great breakfasts - you couldn't ask for any more.

It was the small touches that iced the cake: fresh milk in a flask on the hospitality tray instead of the usual ghastlyUHT, a couple of chocolates on the dressing table

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyHyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Many thanks and I look forward to maybe welcoming you back to enjoy the mountains again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

A warm welcome and attention to detail in a fabulous house with history and character, why would you want to stay in a hotel?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thanking you for the feedback and hope to maybe see you next time you return to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Well, what to say really,we loved it! Me and my wife usually staying in hotels when travelling , but this time decided to give B&B a try-we were not disappointed, it was faultless! Great service, comfy bed and delicious breakfast. We could not recommend it highly enough. Thank you Jill& Arnaud!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolceritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a positive Bed and Breakfast experience and we didn't disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I completely agree with all of the brilliant reviews. We stayed for 3 nights over new year. Extremely clean cosy rooms, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. such a treat on new years morning to be brought breakfast and champagne in bed! We'd like to thank Jill for her friendly hospitality and such good value for money. We'd love to come back next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
A lovely review to start of the New Year, thank you very much for your comments and we would be delighted to welcome you back - Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Gilmore absolutely deserves a full 5 stars. The rooms were cosy but beautifully furnished with lots of thoughtful touches and plenty of space. Great bathrooms, spacious, well fitted out, Beds supremely comfortable. Charming hostess. This place is way above the normal standard for its category and incidentally, excellent value. We will return with pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagacious_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Gilmore House so positively and delighted that you had a great stay and consider us to be value for money. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My cousin and I stayed at Gilmore House the night before starting our 5 day walk on the Cateran Trail. Our stay here certainly got us off to a good start! The rooms were lovely, but it was the food that caught our attention. Oh my! We had never experienced anything like the Perthshire breakfast that greeted us in the morning. It was the most amazing breakfast I have ever been served. As it turned out, we ended up walking 18 miles that day, so it was good we had eaten such a substantial meal!

I can't wait to return to Scotland, and when I do I will be spending a few nights in Blairgowrie again just so I can enjoy the hospitality of the Gilmore House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristieinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted yourself and your cousin enjoyed your stay and breakfast. It would be great to welcome you back if and when you make a return visit to scotland. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#7 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore House

Property: Gilmore House
Address: Perth Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional detached late Victorian family home, offering bed and breakfast in 3 en-suite rooms. Comfy, homely and warm ambience. Well situated to explore Perthshire and beyond. Within walking distance of town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gilmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing