We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who needs Austria when you can have Glenshee Scotland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
BATH
2 reviews
“Who needs Austria when you can have Glenshee Scotland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Having had a disasterous skiing holiday in Saalbach Austria in Jan 2010, my partner and I booked a last minute ski package to Glenshee to take advantage of the snow and to try and renew my faith in skiing. We opted to stay at the Angus despite reading negative reviews. We could not fault the service we were given by Noel McNally (assistant manager and his team). All staff were polite and willing to make sure your stay was an enjoyable one. We had a good sized room - big enough for our skiing clobber as well as everyday clothes. There are obvious signs of the ongoing refurbishment and with a hotel of this size that is going to take time. The quality of the food is excellent, with many traditional (scottish) dishes on the menu. We would certainly like to return to the area and see more of the historic sights and not spend all our time on the slopes. Well Done.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angielouBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBlairgowrie, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
I am delighted that you enjoyed your skiing holiday, it was a great skiing season at Glenshee and we were very busy as a result. Many thanks for your kind comments, Noel was certainly very happy that you recognised his efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    249
    142
    64
    43
See reviews for
113
300
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

We recently visited the Angus Hotel for a Motown weekend special deal with a couple of friends. We asked for one of the upgraded rooms as I had been before and the older rooms are a bit tired, however they are in the process of doing them up. The rooms we had were excellent - spacious with a large comfortable bed. The meals were good and staff are friendly and efficient. The party night was a huge success. Lovely meal follwed by a bit of disco, Motown caberet and back to disco. The hotel has a pool and sauna which is very welcome if you have have a hangover! Nothing much in Blairgowrie but it is a good base to travel around Perthshire.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBlairgowrie, Operations Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Angus Hotel and Leisure Club, we are indeed refurbishing our standard bedrooms in a rolling programme. All rooms will soon benefit from Plasma TV's and many will be re-carpeted over the coming months, we have recently installed Sky TV.
As a family business, the hotel benefits from continuous investment to ensure that we offer the very best to our guests. Our tribute nights are extremely popular and we have more confirmed up to April 2011. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the friendly and efficient service from our team.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUMFRIES
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Just had 2 night break at hotel, room was clean and comfortable but shower and sink with regards water pressure were terrible, need updated, the food was excellent when it arrived as on both Friday night and saturday morning we were forgotten about and waited 40 mins for main meal and breakfast, aslo candelit dinner in resteraunt on Friday was normal setting in bar. Abba were excellent though at less than 1 hour hardlyworth going for whole weekend and disco poorly attended, through this however staff were very polite and helpful at least, although we had a good weekend we would not repeat

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChippyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBlairgowrie, Operations Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
Many thanks for posting a review and giving us you constructive feedback of you recent stay at the Angus Hotel and Leisure Club. I am pleased that you found you room clean and comfortable, it is unacceptable that you experienced poor water pressure.This will be solved when we upgrade our hot water storage capacity soon. I am also delighted that you found the food excellent and deeply apologise for taking 40 mins to serve you at both dinner and breakfast, this has been addressed with our F&B team. All our tribute acts are contracted for a minimum of 2 x 45 mins performances and I have addressed your comments with them. As a family owned business we are passionate about delivering our very best at all times, please be assured that your feedback has been taken on board.
Thank you for the kind comments about our staff.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

This is the third year we have been to this hotel for the tribute weekend and it just gets better every year. The hotel is getting refurbished and is looking great. All the food was good as usual. Service is better than most hotels. This year was a Rod Stewart tribute by Bob Wyper and he was super two hours non stop. When he was done the disco was on till the early hours. Looking forward to next year already. In fact if I get a chance I might try for a visit in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coatbrigjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBlairgowrie, Operations Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your third year staying with us, my team are delighted that you have found your experience to get better each year and is a credit to their hard work. Bob Wyper's tribute to Rod Stewart is indeed superb, he will be entertaining again on Saturday 1st May 2010 and we would be thrilled to welcome you back for this. We have several dates during the summer for more fantastic tribute dates, feel free to call and we will update you. Thank you for your kind words.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Angus hotel. We had a lovely large room and found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The swimming pool, sauna and spa were very inviting and relaxing. We booked this hotel as we wanted to go skiing at Glenshee - the staff were very helpful printing out the relevant details for us. As we were there over Valentine's, there was champagne and chocolates in the room for us to enjoy. While the Neil Diamond tribute night wasn't our cup of tea, the meal and service beforehand was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is wanting to get away for a few days of relaxation, skiing, hillwalking or pampering.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolanlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBlairgowrie, Operations Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
My team are delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Angus Hotel and Leisure Club. It is very pleasing for us to be praised by our guests and for us to know that you have had a fantastic time. We are very popular with skiers for the reasons you have discovered during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Just spend a weekend at this hotel and although the hotel is going through an extensive redecoration, we were made to feel very welcome. This is an ideal central hotel for walking round the hills and exploring the beautiful scenery of Perthshire. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was tasty and the service was good and our room which had just been redecorated had a great flat screen TV and plenty hot water to rest our weary legs in.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBlairgowrie, Operations Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Angus Hotel and Leisure Club. Our refurbishment of reception, bar and restaurant has been completed and looking great. I am very fortunate to be supported by a superb, hardworking and dedicated team and we have a strong emphasis on looking after our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinbrugh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

just been for weekend ski break stay at the angus great hotel will good when fefurnishing finished good pool and spa to relax in after ski on saturday night was burnsuper food was great and ceilidh made for a great night will be back in fed for 4 days

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edinbrughkelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBlairgowrie, Operations Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
I am delighted that you have had a relaxing stay with us, the pool and spa is certainly a great place to go after a days skiing. The refurbishment of our reception, bar and restaurant is now complete and we have been receiving superb feedback from our guests. My team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#7 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Property: Angus Hotel
Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing