We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another warm welcome at the Angus”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Reviewed November 5, 2013

for the second time this year i had a short stay at the Angus and received a warm welcome. The food was excellent and the bedrooms comfortable. The staff are always helpful with information about buses and the surrounding area. WiFi available in the public areas and it would be nice to have it in the bedroooms but not exactly essential to enjoyment of the stay. The swimming pool was warm enough for early mornings and towels freely available at reception. will be back next year

Room Tip: pay the small amount extra for a superior room. if you have mobility issues ask for a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 770 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in Oct for the weekend which included the Gary Barlow Tribute. When you consider what you recieive in terms of service , food , plus use of leisure facilities and entertainment I believe the Angus Hotel offers great value for money. We once again enjoyed our weekend , on Friday had a swim plus jacuzzi , good meal in the evening and finished up with a dance . On Saturday after a ' fill yer boots breakfast ' ( excellent ) we went on our annual pilgrimage , walking from Pitlochry to Killiecrankie and back , colours this time of year are amazing , then it was back to the pool and jacuzzi , then back to our room for a couple of glasses of wine , box of chocs and a good read. In the evening we enjoyed a very good three course meal , listened and danced to , both the tribute act ( good performer ) and the disco afterward. On Sunday after another very good breakfast , had a swim then drove up to the Spittal of Glenshee for cake and coffee. NOW that is the way to enjoy a weekend.
PS We always enjoy a dance and find the dance floor okay , we have danced on floors that are like ice and others that feel like sticky glue , I think it's fair to say that the floor at the Angus Hotel suits us , wether we're waltzing / cha cha / salsa or just up for a jig about , and has never stopped us from having a good time.
Thank you very much to all the staff for our stay ...we WILL be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good choice of venue for tribute nights. We stayed 2 nights along with another two couples and we were all pleasantly surprised at the service offered. The night of the tribute was a full house and although busy our meal was served very efficiently as well as being very good. Rooms were quite small but clean. All staff were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable.I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordyw210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have just returned from a four night break at the Angus Hotel,20-24th oct,was part of bus trip,there were seven in our party five who had learning disabilities.the rooms were dated but clean, the staff were delightful very helpful,they rearranged our rooms for us so we could be nearer to our service users.The food was first class, lots of choices and great service, the waiting staff were pleasant and helpful,Many thanks to all of you, our service users cannot stop talking about there stay once again THANK YOU

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where the guests who provided "excellent" reviews have stayed before as they can't have much to compare to. Personally I've stayed in cleaner, less dated b&bs with double the standards of service.

Found a used shower gel bottle in our bathroom. Grime along the bath. 20years plus since room 1 and 3 were up dated/refurbished. Telephone was thick with grime and didn't work. Cramped. No idea who trained their staff, not one member of staff offered drinks at any of our meals. Only water. Average food. Tables were left uncleared around you while you ate, sign of under staffed or just lazy staff and unprofessional.

Overall poor standards for the prices paid.

However the "stand in" beauty therapist was wonderful and friendly, only decent member of staff and she didn't even work there full time.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bankier13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

we went for my wifes birthday and stayed for two nights, on arrival the Receptionist was not very helpful and parking was a nightmare. in the evening we went into the bar for food and drinks and we waited too long to get served so we decided to go up to the Royal Hotel for tea we highly recommend it.Overall we had a great time at the Angus, as there was Scottish dancing on, so we decided to watch them with great delight.We had Room 46 and it was FAB if you ever book try and get this room. i am not knocking this Hotel as we had a Wounderful time there. Great breakfast and Swimming pool area. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 46 is a delight to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyable 2 night break but spoiled on arrival to be told that the only time left for breakfast was 8.00am ! We are up early every day & the last thing we wanted after 2 late nights dancing is to be up that early both days. I was told that this was because there was 90+ dancers in our party & we had to be spread out 8.00,8.30 &9.00, but we were all served 3 courses & coffee together at dinner, so surely breakfast would have been easier if we had been allowed to walk in between 8 & 9.30 I think most folk did that on Sunday anyway !
Room was very small & a funny shape & walls paper thin, I could hear someone snoring & toilet flushing & fan going on & plugs being switched on ! Breakfasts & dinners were very good tho' but the biggest disappointment was the dance floor it was so so sticky & made our dancing very hard work. The organisers asked for it to be cleaned but was no better on Saturday night. Really spoiled a good weekend with great company.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheilabilly6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear sheilabilly6066,
Thank you for your review. When we are dealing with 170 people it does become necessary to control the times with regards to breakfast and dinner, service is different from breakfast to dinner. If we allow everyone to come as they please it will be at the end of service and I can assure you that the experience would not be pleasant. I am unsure as to why the dance floor was a problem and will have this checked.
Kind Regards,
Angus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Blairgowrie
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
141 reviews
0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
668 reviews
16.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range: $86 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing