We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted and Pleased”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Angus Hotel in Blairgowrie.Really spacious double room with large en- suite bathroom .Dined and entertained in the ballroom to a 80s party night with live band,mmm band very average but food on both nights very good.Hotel rooms and public areas very good do not take notice of other reviews that say there are smells and shabby décor, this is a 3 star Hotel that offers comfort and reasonable food for the money. Plus use of the pool and spa are a real plus.
We would book again for the right entertainment package.

Room Tip: If you do not like a few stairs to different levels avoid, as all rooms are above ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear vincat1,
Many thanks for you constructive review. We are thrilled that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, we work very hard to deliver an excellent product which is reasonably priced. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Angus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 770 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked the hotel thinking this would be a lovely weekend stay with entertainment included. The hotel smelled musty, the room was dirty, and the food was absolutley awful - stale rolls served! How anyone hotel serves food presented the way it was waS beyond belief. I would never recomend this hotel to anyone - the location is beautiful but my advise is drive past this!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziep69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rooms are terrible, dated, smell strange and bed was very lumpy from old spring mattress. Staff are a friendly bunch that don't know what they are doing. Swimming pool is uncomfortably warm which does not match the old and cold decor of the pool room and historic changeling facilities. Breakfast was dreadful. We left straight after.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StuPio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear StuPio,
Thank you for providing us with your review, I am sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy a recent stay with us, our rooms are graded annually and do meet the 3 star standard we advertise to be. I would be very grateful if you could email brian@theangushotel with a little more detail with regards to the room that you stayed in and what specifically made breakfast dreadful as it is normally well received to allow us to rectify any issues identified.
Kind Regards,
Angus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Went in after trying eat elswhere was scuppered.

We sat down. It isn't table service. Like Weatherspoons you order at the bar with a table number. We were with another couple. Both women went to order. Then they went to the toilet. In the meantime i went to order drinks. Well the gurl serving was very unpleasant. Her tone was quite aggressive. P'off even. I asked for a red wine. She huffed and said what kind. I asked what they had. Merlot, Shiraz. I said shiraz. Thing was she was clearly p'd off I had had the temerity to interrupt. Anyway, she ignored my answer and paused, then said A...N...D syrah' i said Shiraz again. This was then srill a hassle because she said what size as if she couldn't be bothered. Again I asked what size they were to be told small and large. 175ml and 250ml. Clearly I was inconveniencing her.

Anyway I got my drinks 1 coke and one glass of wine £7.80. No wonder pubs are goin down the drain. And tghis is a pub, not a restaurant. Order at the bar.

Thing is my wife returned and said she disn't like the girls behind the bar's attitude. Surpise. When she had gone up to order she gave her order and the other wife from the other couple ordered too. The hullabaloo that people at the same tavbke were ordering seperately. Come on, this cannot be unusual. Yeah I can undersrand an issue with large groups but 2 couples, c'mon. It's a pub for godsake. Anyway the girl serving turned to her colleague and said sarcastically "they are ordering seperately" and made a face. Nothing like making people feel valued and welcome. It's difficult to explain without you having been there how sarky and hissy this girl was. A little more tolerance would be appreciated while a course on wine would be helpful. Syrah is shiraz.

I had already written this review but somehow it didn't appear.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foogswipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Foogswipe,
I am sincerely sorry that you were to experience such service within our Bay Tree Bar and Restaurant, whilst you are right to expect better, it is unfortunate that this incident wasn't brought to the attention of our management team, all of our staff wear name badges and it would be very useful if you were to provide me with a name, date and time of your visit in order for me to fully investigate this, I certainly do not wish any of our guest to have such an experience. Please email brian@theangushotel.com at your earliest convenience.
Many thanks,
Angus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked a deal with meals. This hotel is used by coach tours and has a reduced menu each day for them. This gives a good range of options and includes tea or coffee. You can also use an allowance of £15 off the ordinary menu. excellent breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff. Room adequate but not roomy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewrat222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Stewrat222,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a positive review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Angus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was not happy with this place, it had a stale smell through out hotel. I noticed the carpets were old and looked 30 yrs old. It ws disappointing that swimming pool opens at 8am. Which is late for any early risers. Breakfast is also late starting. Not good for business travellers.

I only liked the room and the bed. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: breakfast and the swimming pool starts late not good for those on business and early risers. y
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Dreamz75,
Thank you for your review.
We advertise that we have wi-fi in the public areas of the hotel. We benefit from an ongoing refurbishment programme and do not have any carpets 30 years old, you are the first to claim we have a stale smell throughout. Our bedrooms are serviced everyday, if you were unhappy with this service it may have been beneficial to let us know, likewise access to the swimming pool, we always try to accommodate our guests.
Kind Regards,
Angus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited The Angus for Dad's birthday meal.
The staff were all very helpful and we ran a tab for the evening which was easy to set up and add to.
The menu had excellent choices, catering well for vegetarians as well. The salmon fishcake, Rob Roy chicken and the white chocolate and raspberry brulee cheesecake were all fabulous.
The food arrived hot and quickly, prices were good.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Melissa A,
Many thanks for providing us with a positive review, it always pleases us to know that our guests have had an enjoyable time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Angus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Blairgowrie
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
141 reviews
0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
669 reviews
16.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range: $86 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing