We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay, would definitely come back”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, would definitely come back”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here fri-sun with my girlfriend for my birthday and couldn't really complain about anything

Location: The hotel overlooks the town square to the front and the river to the back. Less than 30seconds walk to the shops, pubs, cafes, restaurants and supermarket

Food: We had dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 days and couldn't fault the quality of the food at all, well presented, reasonably priced, quick service and the staff were happy to accommodate my dislike of potatoes with skin on and made me mash and roast potatoes instead in record time, set menu had a huge choice of starters/mains and desserts too, also had a vegetarian option at dinner and breakfast

Staff: Every member of staff I spoke to from the receptionist, manager, bar staff, waiters, cleaners were very polite and professional and I felt they were genuinely interested in what I had to say or any questions I had, especially Holly.

Service: we phoned reception for an ice bucket and in less than 1 min it was at our room, full of ice and free of charge, ordered 6 ice buckets over our stay and was always delivered ASAP and with a smile.

Rooms: We paid an extra £40 to upgrade from a standard room to a superior room and really thought it would've been a bit "fancier". Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, was supposed to be a king size bed but was 2 large single divans together and I could feel the gap where they met when I was moving abou the bed, would've preferred one large mattress.

So all in all we had a great time and would definitely go back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrenkusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    255
    146
    65
    47
See reviews for
117
309
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

one night late deal through classic Britain on a b&b basis with bottle wine and coffee &cake on arrival £35pp . standard double room slightly dated but comfortable enough for short stay. very pleasant and helpful lady on reception who couldn't do enough to help. breakfast had a good choice and cooked food was piping hot. leisure facilities were quite good and clean enough. overspil car park to rear could do with lowered kerbside access for cars. overall an ok experience but found the actual surrounding area could do with a massive litter picking campaign as the amount of litter on river embankment and close to co op is poor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacaglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had an occasion to have a meal here one evening last week as we were on holiday with our family in the area. We have stayed at the Angus several times in the past although have not visited since the refurbishment of the public areas - very pleasant and tasteful.

Our meal was of a good standard and was served without delay by pleasant,efficient staff - as a result of this, we intend to return - this time to stay - thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just back from tribute night in Angus hotel blairgowrie, hotel was nice ,clean and staff we,re very helpful and nice , tribute duo weren't too good felt they didn't give you much Motown more commercial soul stuff and disco on inbetween didn't keep the momentum of the Motown theme going on when tribute duo went off, the meal was good , stayed the Sunday and had set meal which we felt was good but heard some folk complaining about theirs , staff on reception we're excellent very friendly and helpful ,felt the service at bar was sometimes slow but was down to the lack of staff rather than quality maybe a few more on when you have your tribute weekends , we will be returning to see some other tribute nights as over all experience was good , just won't be a Motown one, room was clean and decode was nice , area is really nice plenty attractions near and some nice walks

Room Tip: Per order drinks before tribute show at bar as you will have a wee while too wait if you don't .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Just back from Motown tribute weekend.
Found the hotel lacked the staff to cope with tribute weekend. Chap on reception was first class as was female manager .

The majority of the staff on Sunday presented an unfriendly manner. The tribute weekend are great value for money as I would imagine it would be quite quiet otherwise.

With regards to Motown Magic it was more Motown tragic as they were the worst tribute duo I have ever seen , they murdered most of the songs, and did not even sign in harmony. Would not go and see them again was a bit of a rabble.

Food was average on tribute night for what we paid very small portions.

The fish and chips we had for lunch however was faultless. Also breakfast was very good when we got it after a long wait on the Sunday , understaffed and they worked very hard to cope with all the guests.

We had a refurbished room it was ok . The shower was terrible very old fashioned.

The indoor pool area is lovely , this is a nice hotel.

To sum it up , please do visit this hotel , we just were unlucky with out tribute band , it's a fabulous hall well decorated . DJ bit hit and miss. Having wrote this review we would return again to future events .

Lovely walks in the area as well .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our friends booked this hotel for the Mowtown Tribute weekend 12/13th April. We found the hotel to be very welcoming, the staff are all exceptional and polite. Nothing is too much trouble. On arrival we ate in the Bar area and found the menu comprehensive and the food was of a good standard, and very reasonable in pricing. Our rooms although the standard ones were clean and comfortable, the beds being at least a superking size!! We did have one hiccup with our room concerning a none functioning shower, but this was dealt with immediately and we were given another equally nice room for our stay. Communal areas are clean, well furnished and decorated and the pool area is nice, surprisingly quiet each time we used it. We had the inclusive package for Dinner B&B both nights. Our first night dinner in the Strathearn Suite was a surprising delight! Beautifully set out tables with linens and polished cutlery and glasses etc, (we eat out in Bistro type restaurants all the time, so it was a refreshing change to see classy style) this was not something you would expect on such a reasonably priced package. Our second night, the Tribute night, was again in the suite. Again beautifully set tables around a dance floor, drinks previously booked set out on the table. We were placed on a table with 6 other guests and we all got on and had a really good time. On each night the menu choices were very good.. 4 of each for starter, main, pud and inclusive tea or coffee. Each course was of a good standard and the waiting staff were amazing! each course being bought to the table hot and together with others who were dining with us. What a good job they do! we were informed that half the staff were away at one of the sister hotels catering a wedding...so if thats what the standard is for a depleted staff ratio, they are a credit to the hotel. Breakfast both mornings was very good and with no complaints. All in all a very nice stay..the tribute evening was a great, everyone up dancing all night and a friendly crowd of mixed ages from teenagers to great grandmothers/fathers. We enjoyed the weekend and we feel we got a good deal from the hotel, we have stayed in more exclusive hotels and some worse and dont review every time, but on this occasion wanted to put down our thoughts.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are adequate, needing a bit of a refurb, but clean and functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTigger555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having been served some excellent food elsewhere in Blairgowrie, we decided to try The Angus for a bar meal. The service was good and fairly prompt. I ordered fish and chips, and was disappointed to find oven chips, not freshly prepared. My husband ordered the Bacon and cheese burger, which frankly tasted like spam! Not the freshly prepared fayre we were lead to expect. I could have made better at home. Disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gussymil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Property: Angus Hotel
Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing