We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic break”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic break”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and i just had a two night break at the Angus Hotel Blairgowrie. From when we arrived to when we left the service that we got from all the staff was excellent. We could not find fault with anything and look forward to our next break in this hotel.
Mr & Mrs Brown Glasgow

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    255
    146
    65
    47
See reviews for
117
309
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not good when you have to wait over an hour for your food to come the waiting staff doing there best the management are no ware to be seen bad planing a head other guests inthe same boat. LOOK FOR A BETTER HOTEL.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank growlersniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Growlersniffer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We accept that service was not to our normal standards on Friday night due to a heavily overbooked restaurant, I strongly disagree about your comments with regards to no management presence, with 3 member's of management within the restaurant inc myself , our food and beverage manager and our director. We have a member of management on every shift and I made myself available all weekend and on check out. All guests departing and indeed within our comments forms stated that they had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend despite the difficulties we experienced on Friday. This type of occurence is extremely rare and we have never experienced this level of demand for the a la carte restaurant before, lessons have been learnt.

Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This had been booked by my husband as a Xmas party night in between Xmas & New Year. It's a family run hotel and looks lovely when you arrive....small/olde worlde. We checked in and got to our room....very small although modern decor with a very small ensuite in need of repair. The hotel creaks and there walls are paper thin, we could hear every person open doors and walk past our room and then someone in a neighbouring room put on radio and we felt we were in a nightclub. The staff are very helpful, they attempted to deal with the noise issue, the service in the little bar is pretty good, the food is typical pub grub....the let down is the rooms, conversion to hotel has been done on cheap and the rooms need better soundproofing.

Room Tip: if you are fussy about rooms, book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blairgowrie hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from an Elvis tribute break.
The staff were friendly & polite, the service was excellent, rooms were clean & spacious, & the food was fantastic.

The evening of Elvis, over 100 guests were seated & presented with three courses in just over an hour. The entire event was very well organised . . . . . . & Elvis was the best lookalike & soundalike I have seen!

Room Tip: Wifi is better closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmorgan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked the 2 night weekend deal that included an Elvis tribute night. We had a great time from start to finish, the staff throughout the hotel were polite, welcoming and helpful.
Food was good at both breakfast and dinner and the room was great, nice view over the river.
My boyfriend also had a massage in the hotel spa and thought it was excellent. Lots of free parking right beside the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeentravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

just back from a 2 night stay for a ski-ing trip - and really must say what a very welcoming and comfortable hotel this is to stay in. all staff were helpful and keen. we stayed with our pet dog and had nothing but help and positive comments form the staff who were actually busy with a special event ( Elvis appeared apparently - we missed him as ski-ing makes you go to bed early) .
food was delicious and generous portions, breakfast in particular excellent .
no doubt we will return!

Room Tip: travel with a dog -- we had a lovely big room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulme_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M27 8HX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just been on a 2 night break to the Angus hotel for what used to be a very good weekend but not this year. Food was very poor,1 small new potato cut in half to make it look like 2,3 petit pois,5/6 small slices of carrot and 2 very small thin pieces of pork,the Burns night itself was about the same but we got an extra half potato yippee!!,slow service,piping the Haggis in was very poor no Burns music,they forget to do the Selkirk Grace and then served the Haggis as a starter with a choice of that or scotch broth.On a Burns night Haggis is served as an extra course but not at the Angus this year.Poor entertainment concluded the weekend.RUBBISH!!! P.S..The breakfast was good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachman0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Property: Angus Hotel
Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing