We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neil Diamond tribute weekend”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We Stayed in the Angus 9th and 10th March it was a gift for us to have a weekend away. the Angus is a great hotel the staff are very nice. the room very clean warm and comfortable as for the meals we could not falt. The entertainment was a Neil Diamond Tribute this was a real bonus for us as the singer was fantastic. We will be back to the Angus later this year. Blairgowrie is a lovely place and a nice easy drive to Pitlochry for the afternoon. all in all great hotel fab food and super entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear ourrobbie,
My team and I are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel for our popular Neil Diamond Tribute, thanks for taking the time to give us your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 774 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked the Angus for one nights dinner, bed and breakfast on our way back south after a 17 day trip. My husband had stayed there several times before and enjoyed it. Sadly things had changed since his last stay and we found it a bit impersonal, more like a 'chain' hotel. Upon check in we were advised that our booked room was not available due to a maintenance issue and were placed on the very top floor away from our friends on floor one. Our room was a family room and in dire need of a refurb with a very dodgy portable TV. Our friends room by contrast was lovely, bright and airy with a great view and large TV. The top floor carpet was in urgent need of a hoover.
We found the food at dinner a bit uninspiring but breakfast was better apart from the dreadful tasting orange juice. The staff were very obliging by bringing in a lighted birthday cake for one of our party, (We had purchased the cake locally although the hotel can arrange a cake)
The leisure facilities are good and the pool area clean and tidy.
All in all it was good value for the money paid, the staff were friendly and we would stay again but make sure we were allocated a better room

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear nessief,
Many thanks for providing us with your constructive comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. We are a family owned hotel and I do not feel that we are simply a "chain" type of hotel, we offer a very personal service to our many repeat customers. Our rooms are currently being updated and refurbished, with 89 bedrooms this does take a bit of time and considerable investment. We do offer excellent value for money and I am delighted that you would stay again. All of your comments have been taken on board and have been discussed with our team.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just back from Angus Hotel we went for the Rod Stewart tribute weekend. We had a great time hotel room very clean and comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and could not have been more helpful. The food on both nights was excellent and the breakfasts both mornings are delicious. THe surrounding area very nice and the staff are very helpful and informative about local walks and things to see and do.
Whole weekend was very enjoyable and we plan to go again would certainly recommend the tribute weekends the acts are of a very high standard.

Keep up the good work we will recommend to our friends and will see you all again.

Mr and Mrs Jack

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Jack,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at our extremely popular Rod Stewart tribute night, Bob Wyper is certainly the leading Rod Stewart tribute in Scotland. I am delighted that you mention our friendly staff, a comment I receive on a daily basis. Our team work really hard to offer the best possible experience to our guests. It is fantastic when our guests take the time to notice these efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just back from a 2 night B&B stay at the Angus Hotel. My husband and I really enjoyed staying at the hotel and will certainly go back. Breakfast was fab and staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMS2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear LMS2910,
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is our 4th weekend at the Angus. Staff great, Rooms very comfortable and clean. Food was good both nites and Breakfast was even better. Was a bit dissapointed that the Sauna was not working although not a big deal. The spa/hot tub could do with a good clean. Overall would recomend the Angus for a weekend, Blairgowrie is a nice little Town to walk around, there are a few local pubs also and you are made welcome there also

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordon123Belshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear gordon123Bellshill,
Many thanks for providing us with your positive and constructive feedback, the points you have raised have since been dealt with. I am grateful that you will recommend the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again as a valued repeat guest.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Two night bed & breakfast breakfast deal for family of four. For the price paid we were really happy with the service, accommodation, food and facilities. The only two gripes we have was the pool area could have done with a clean.The other gripe was the shower which was very low pressure understandably we were on the 3rd floor but a thermostatic bath shower mixer is essential especially when you have small kids to stop the chance of scalding. Would definitely go back to this hotel if the showering experience was sorted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WULLIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Wullie G,
Many thanks for your constructive comments. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently upgrading our hot water system throughout the hotel with most areas now completed and this has addressed your concerns, the remaining will be upgraded over the coming few months. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have just got back from weekend skiing in Scotland. We arrived at 11:30pm on Friday night and staff virtually insisted on making us something to eat, great service. Great food (quality and value for money), great beauty treatments, swimming pool, and warm rooms with everything we needed - Just great. My sister is a pregnant, vegetarian who is a fussy eater at the best of times, the chef made her what she wanted (when she arrived earlier than us on Friday.) Just great will be going back next time there is snow!!!! Thank you and well done Angus hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Vicki W,
We are thrilled that your party have enjoyed their recent stay with us, we are fortunate to have a great team of people offering outstanding customer service. We work hard to ensure that every aspect of our guest experience is the very best we can offer. It is great to be told when we are delivering our aims. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson, Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Blairgowrie
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
143 reviews
0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
3.7 mi away
Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range: $89 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing