We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Booked a superior double room online. Well harry potter must have been away cause we got his cupboard. Room was absolutely freezing. Phoned reception they said heating would be on at 9. Its now 10.15 and still not on. Will never stay here again. £96 per night , ive had better £ 40 rooms. Rant over

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    27
    17
    7
See reviews for
14
56
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nice and friendly hotel, very helpful staff.
I did not use the restaurant for an evening meal but the breakfast was really good, more than adequate with a good choice, full breakfast, cereals, toast, and tea or coffee.
There are plenty of places to eat out for your evening meal, I just wanted to explore the town.
Room was ok, nice and clean and hotel was quiet enough to get a good nights sleep.
Would and will use again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rddbranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but just went out for a meal to try the restaurant. We won't be back a second time. The menu is limited to fried things and pie if you don't want to eat burgers or steak. My partner had a tiny overcooked portion of scampi and I a weird tasting hake from the chef's menu. We enquired about the choice of beers and all we were offered was Tennent's, Stella and Belhaven best. When we went to the bar to pay, we found out there were others. The staff seemed not too happy to see us and weren't very helpful. The conversation between them certainly wasn't family friendly. I personally wasn't too happy to have to listen to a football game while eating. We came in with high expectations, but unfortunately we left very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moushmoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blairgowrie hotels

montose scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was one of the worst Hotels that we have ever stayed in. The room that we were given( room 60 )smelt of damp and was in some 1970 's annex. I know that I am shortsighted but the television was microscopic! I asked to be upgraded and it cost me 20£ extra.This was not a bad room but the furniture was all stained .Old water was left in the kettle.We had cold showers each day as there was no hot water.We had to telephone the hotel to get into our room at night as the outside door was locked.The breakfast was excellent.It was like Faulty Towers how could anyone rate this Fantastic.

Room Tip: Have a superior room if you can afford it!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sensation3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband & I booked an Easy Breaks Late Deal for two nights (Friday & Saturday) last weekend. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who informed us we had been upgraded to a superior room at no extra charge. The room was large with a huge king size bed with sparkling white linen. So comfortable! Best couple of nights sleep I have had in a long time. The bathroom looks as if it has been recently refurbished. The shower was great - very powerful.
Dinner was served in a small area beyond the lounge bar. The three course menu selection was good and the quality and presentation was first class. Both my husband and I have dietary issues, but the staff could not have been more helpful in offering substitutes. I ordered biscuits and cheese and was presented with a lovely selection of cheeses (enough for 2 or more) served with grapes, celery and the best chutney I have ever tasted.Husband's cheesecake hit the spot for him. The wine selection was of good quality and not over the top price wise.
Breakfast was served in the Glen Restaurant and offered a good selection of cereals together with a full Scottish breakfast cooked to order. All in all a very enjoyable stay with excellent, friendly and helpful staff. It was great value for money and we hope to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the superior rooms - enquire about an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaMxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked a short 3 day late break through Easy Breaks. We got an extremely competitive deal.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. Our room was upgraded to a superior. It was spacious with a king size ,comfortable bed and an en suite with shower but no bath. It was extremely quiet and peaceful throughout our stay. The breakfasts were tasty and the evening meals were excellent with a different choice each evening. The bar staff were very friendly and engaging. Nothing to fault in this hotel and we would definitely stay again. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyGillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked through easy breaks for a one night stay here. We arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Our room overlooked the car park which wasnt a great view but and was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and had great nights sleep. Our stay included dinner at night and we found the food and service bit great. Breakfast in the morning was great good selection and my husband had the full breakfast which was good. We will return and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: A room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#3 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#8 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altamount House Hotel
Altamount House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing