We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, comfortable and well located hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value, comfortable and well located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

There were quite a lot of us staying in this hotel prior to participating in the Cateran Yomp 54 mile non-stop endurance walking event on the Cateran Trail over the weekend - the start point is in Blairgowrie. I had a good room in the Annex which was fortunately quiet and we were able to fortify ourselves in the bar before turning in for an early start, Really helpful staff organised continental breakfast for about 30 of us at 5.30 in the morning - not a problem. This hotel was clean, comfortable, excellent value and perfect for our purposes. We will be booking a lot of rooms in this hotel again next year

Room Tip: If there is a disco or ceilidh try and avoid a room directly above it if you need a full nights slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    30
    19
    10
See reviews for
17
62
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed for a night in this hotel as we were attending a wedding in nearby Coupar Angus.

Room was really small and dated (we were in the "new" wing). Bed was comfy enough though. Toilet and shower room were small but adequate.

Breakfast was great and TBH saved our stay! Well done on getting it just right.

I would stay here again as it had a central location, but would book in to room in main part of hotel.

Room Tip: Old part of building seems to be a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

staff varied from really excellent to completely dreadful. Dinner, a salad, was the worst meal I've had in ages and the wine was undrinkable.

Comprehensive review form in each room which I completed but so far, no response.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christina081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blairgowrie hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel due to the snow. We booked a double room through Laterooms.com for £55 per night Bed and Breakfast.

My advice would be not to stay here if you can help it as there are plenty of other hotels and B&Bs in Blairgowrie. The £55 per night rooms are in an annex to the back of the hotel and it is absolutely freezing if they haven't put your heating on for arrival. We ended up moving rooms three times 1) we were given a twin when we booked a double 2) the shower didn't work in the next room and 3) the room we settled on was warm but had crumbs from a previous guest everywhere, the coldest bathroom I have ever experienced and a lovely view of the staff accommodation.

The hotel is badly organised, short staffed and dirty. The staff don't seem to care and the breakfast/ check out service was a joke.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank perthscotland22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We booked on a late deal. £55 for a double room. We found out later that superior rooms were available. If we were to go again we would pay the extra. Ordinary rooms were in the annex, which we christened Colditz. Built in the 80's the decor reflected the decade, it was cold and uninviting. We had a large room with a big comfortable bed but the heating wasn't suitable for the size of room so we were cold. A private birthday party was taking place in the function suite so we had the added 'attraction' of a disco blaring out until midnight. We booked breakfast for 8.30 but when we arrived our name wasn't on the breakfast sheet so there was some confusion. We were shown to a table in the Glen Restuarant which has obviously been recently decorated and was lovely. Breakfast was o.k., nothing out ot the ordinary but the young lady who served us was lovely. To be honest if I go back to Blairgowrie I will probably stay at the Angus. We went there for a bar meal and the decor and the meal was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed for one night as were going to Dougie Maclean concert at Clunie.
All staff were friendly,helpful & attentive especially Tomas who couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. We arrived early and were delighted to get checked in right away.
Our superior room was large,bright and nicely decorated and furnished with all amenities as expected. We stayed in "Turnberry" which overlooked the main street,but there was no noise at all to disturb us, maybe we were lucky in that there were no functions going on and the hotel seemed very quiet.
The kingsize bed was comfy,two singles zipped together. Shower room had modern tiled decor,shower worked fine,a shelf for toiletries would be helpful.
Had lunch and dinner in lounge bar,quality and choice of menu was excellent as was service.
Breakfast was piping hot,the stornoway black pudding was excellent.
We would stay here again in the same quality of room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squidgitmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

I was booked by a hotel booking company for this hotel and stayed for business purposes. On the good side the hotel is centrally located and has a beautiful old georgian facade. Check in was quick and painless. The rooms are old fashioned and poorly decorated - it is a long time from I have seen so much wood chip wall paper in the same place! Everything was clean though and the cleaners do a good job I am sure it is a difficult one in an old place. The corridors are cold and unwelcoming. The hotel was needing a re-furb to bring it up to modern expectations. This hotel has old world charm but has been destroyed by rather poor 1980s decor. Breakfast was terrible I had a special request which was not adhered to and it was a relatively simple request. I did not eat in the hotel the night before as I saw the restaurant was deserted and instead I followed the crowd into CHARLIE CHANS chinese which is opposite which incidentally was EXCELLENT. The bed in room 61 was lumpy so I would avoid staying in this one if you can. The shower room was clean. The location of the mirror really high above the basin was really inconsiderate and I would say the average woman would find it difficult to apply make up etc. The light for this mirror was about 200 to 300 mm from the ceiling no mere mortal could operate this! Television in the room was a LCD and ok. Would I stay here again? No, not if I can help it ! I would be prepared to get up 90 minutes earlier and drive from Dundee rather than stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparky-parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.2 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#7 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing