We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An amazing hotel with great food and staff equalling a perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge of Cally Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel with great food and staff equalling a perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My boyfriend took me to this hotel last weekend as part of my birthday treat and we had an amazing time so much so we didn’t want to leave. The hotel was warm and inviting with so much attention to detail in keeping with its history and the local surroundings.

From arrival to check out, the staff were lovely and so helpful we couldn’t have asked for a better service and they were very friendly with it. They recommended local attractions and walks including the riverside walk into the Cateran trail which starts on the hotel grounds.

The food was out of this world with so many different dishes to choose from as was the selection of whiskies in the hotel bar. Our room was lovely and had great views over the hotel grounds, which was great to wake up to every morning.

The only dampener which isn’t down to the hotel was there were some residents staying that became quite loud and aggressive towards the staff and management when they were refused to drink their own beer in the hotel bar issuing threats to put up bad reviews on trip advisor if they weren’t allowed which I found not only cheeky but appalling behaviour. However the way in which the management dealt with the matter was very well handled and ensured that there was very little disruption to those of us sitting in the bar.

Overall we had a fantastic time and can’t wait to go back again, thanks to the management and staff for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovestotravel2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    161
    59
    34
    42
See reviews for
89
317
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Staff were excellent as I travel with a disabled husband and lots of kit including a rather heavy hoist. It was no trouble to them to carry the stuff in. Bedroom was very comfortable and to my delight had a bed with room under it for the hoist legs. Divans are harder to deal with. Food was ok, a better vegetarian menu would have been better.

Room Tip: We had room 16 which could be accessed with a wheelchair. No walk in shower, shower over bath. Wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bridge of Cally hotel.
Our staff are always on hand to help our guests, it is our job to make sure your stay is as comfortable and stress free as possible.
And we will look into introducing some more vegetarian dishes onto the menu.
If you wish to return please take a look at our website where we have some upcoming special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed at the Bridge of Cally for three nights on business. The hotels bedrooms are very clean and comfortable. Restaurant and beer garden lovely. Food fantastic and freshly made. Made to feel very welcome throughout the stay. Will definitely return if on business nearby and would also go for a holiday. Beautiful countryside and walks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bridge of Cally hotel.
We like our guests to feel welcome from when they arrive to when they leave.
We do take pride in our beer garden which is a lovely place for people to sit out at during the warmth. And all our food is locally sourced.
We hope we will see you again.
Please visit our website for our special offers for summer and winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had a short break at Bridge of Cally hotel last month.This is my third visit this year! I look forward to going there as you are always made to feel most welcome by the staff and they are always most helpful.The food is fantastic and there is a wide range of choices. There is a cosy little bar and lounge where you can relax and there is a good selection of malt whiskies! The surrounding Perthshire country side is beautiful and peaceful and there are plenty of tourist attractions nearby to visit. Dogs are made to feel most welcome and there is always a bowl of fresh water in the bar for them! I look farward to returning.Wonderful for arelaxing break!

Room Tip: I have been in different rooms when I have stayed there and they are all very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bridge of Cally hotel.
We always like to promote a friendly and warm atmosphere to our guests and their 4 legged friends as well.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This used to be a well run establishment on the road to Glenshee but after the worst lunch experience I have ever had it has fallen to an all time low. Service took an hour for an order despite asking for a menu and a drinks order lunch took over 3 hours. The staff were sullen and very unhelpful they just didn't care. We were in the company of two disabled ladies and there was no disabled parking for access to the hotel? The food was mixed but my steak pie (listed as a favourite why?) was tough and the vegetables were a pile of red cabbage almost inedible. I won't be back ever!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are sorry that your experience at the Bridge of Cally Hotel was as you had previously experienced.
We apologise for the steak pie, it was not up to our usual high standards. And our staff as well, usually they are warm and welcoming.
The car park has always been as it is, but if you need to get closer to the doors, if you come into the hotel and let us know we will gladly make space for you to park your car.
We would like you to give us a second chance to show you how good our restaurant is.
Please don't hesitate to contact us of you wish to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have never been spoken to with such contempt and disrespect by anyone in the hospitality industry, let alone a proprietor.

Earlier in the day, I had inquired about whether we could drink our own beer (since we are craft beer aficionados) and I was told that we were welcome to do so if we paid 50p per bottle consumed. Not a problem. We were very happy with that arrangement.

When we returned in the evening and prepared to sit down with our beers in a lounge area of the hotel, we were told by a staff member that we were not allowed to drink our own beer. When I relayed what we'd been told earlier, she went to check and said that we needed to order food and then it would be ok. We'd just eaten elsewhere and it was 9pm so we were not going to do that. I expressed my disappointment. She disappeared for a while.

The proprietor then arrived in full force and said "Right, are you the lads with your own beer. Well, it's not happening." And proceeded to lay into us about how he's been in the industry for 40 years and never heard of a hotel that would be so accommodating. I told him that we would appreciate a little bit of respect as his customers. We understood there may be rules, his staff may have got it wrong initially, but that he did not need to approach us in such an aggressive manner. He continued with his argumentative approach and so I told him to expect a Tripadvisor review from us. He said he doesn't care about Tripadvisor and would respond to our posting by refuting everything we said.

We finished up our drinks and retired early. Not the end of the world, but not exactly the most pleasant way to end an evening.

The following morning, we decided to cut short our stay because this encounter had left us feeling unwelcome and deflated; it had not turned out to be the relaxing weekend break we had planned.

I asked for a refund for the one night we would not be staying and the same man called me into a back room and told the other members of staff to "scoot."

He then said that we were not entitled to a refund because we had booked using a Living Social voucher, which is simply not true. We had booked directly with the hotel. So now he was making up a scenario.

This next bit is perhaps the most shocking.

He said that had we not been traveling with children he'd have kicked us out of the hotel the night before. I challenged him on this. He then showed me the door and in front of 6 other guests, said: "As the proprietor of this hotel, under Scottish law I order you to leave."

So we left, without our refund, but very relieved to be putting that horrible experience behind us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Matt77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Matt 77 London,
I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Bridge of Cally Hotel.

My name is Donald Allan and I am the proprietor of this property. I returned to the property one hour after you left my property. On arriving at my Hotel I gathered all information from my Team that evening, I also had numerous guests mention the incident to me and stated that they could not believe the audacity and mannerisms that you displayed whilst talking to my Team on the night in question. Guests and Staff have stated that you brought your own beer into my lounge and expected to drink from your own stock / carry out all night. Other Guests also mentioned that you were shouting and stating you were a travel writer and that you would put bad trip advisor onto our hotel page if you were not able to drink your own beer in our property? As a Travel writer you must be aware that this is not normal practice and that it is also against Scottish Law. I also investigated the reasons why you were asked to leave the property and both my Team and guests stated that you were shouting at other guests asking them to leave and complain. Had I been present within my property I would have contacted the police and had you arrested for breach of the piece.

I do not know why you acted like you did in my Hotel but you upset my Team and many of my Guests with your actions. I also do not understand why you would bring you own alcoholic bottles of beer to drink in my bar as this is not normal practice within any bar that I know of within the UK. We also allowed you to use your voucher during a bank holiday weekend of which it clearly states in your voucher terms that bank holiday weekends are not applicable. We also put two cots into your room free of charge.

I have worked in hospitality all my life, I ran 3 large Hotel companies for 12 years and I have never experienced someone bringing drink into my bar and then getting angry when they are asked to put it away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The moment we arrived we were made to feel like part of the family. The man who greeted us at the door and got everything sorted was brilliant. Then we went fr a drink in the bar and got recommended certain drinks which my girlfriend loved. Dinner was superb. Bit costly, but in my view you need to pay for nice food and it certainly was. Haggis and black pudding was superb with the apple between. Breakfast was good too. All cooked to order. Had a bit of a wait for the actual breakfast, but plenty of cereal and toast to choose from so no worries. We will definetly be back thats for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bridge of Cally Hotel.
From the moment you arrive we like all our guests to feel welcome.
Many of the products we use in our food and some of our drinks behind the bar our from local suppliers, which we always like to promote, and many of our guests seem to like this.
We would always like to welcome you back, if you take a look at our website there are plenty on special offers on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
3.9 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
17.7 mi away
Breadalbane Arms
Breadalbane Arms
#4 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
4.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge of Cally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge of Cally Hotel

Property: Bridge of Cally Hotel
Address: Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge of Cally Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bridge of Cally Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Of Cally Blairgowrie
Hotel Bridge Of Cally
Bridge Cally
Bridge Of Cally Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing