We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Traditional charm and quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinloch House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kinloch House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Traditional charm and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in a great setting. It has that perfect old world country house charm to it and the service is fantastic with nothing a problem for the staff who went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    47
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
174
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for one night for a getaway. Lovely small feel to the hotel, traditional decor, unique pieces rather than mass produced chain stuff. Located in the middle of farmland so lovely setting. We stayed in the Marlee junior suite which was very spacious with a 4 poster. No shower though. Food was lovely, portion sizes perfect so you could manage 3 courses. Only 3 choices per course. My dessert was amazing! Salted caramel iced parfait with honeycomb and apple purée. Breakfast nice, but choice again quite limited. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived till the moment that we left we were made to feel extremely welcome at this wonderful hotel in Perthshire. The hotel is extremely well presented and the staff amazing, nothing is ever a problem or an issue for them. The food is first class and the wine list extensive. The whole dining experience exceeds expectation. Aperitifs and amuse bouche served in one of the drawing rooms at your leisure and orders taken. You are then invited through in your own time to enjoy a fabulous dinner and everything runs like clockwork. I can't recommend a stay at Kinloch House highly enough. Without doubt one of the best hotels in Scotland.

Room Tip: request a room on the "front" of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickNakLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely setting with a great view over the countryside, however I got a back room with no view.
Rooms had obviously been done to a high standard "back in the day" but now looking worn and dated.
Service was very good by all the staff.
Dinner food was amazing, but breakfast definately lacking. Toast and coffee were good but, no mushrooms, beans, tattie scones and the scrambled egg was cold on a hot plate?

There is not a lot to do in or near the hotel (that you can walk to). This is somewhere to go just before you go into a retirement home......to see if you're going to like it.

For a certain age group or activity level I would imagine this is totally relaxing place. Like many places in Scotland it has not moved forward and is catering to a different age.

There was a hair dryer, which was probably as old as the hotel with very little output. I would not like to dry any kind of volume of hair with it.

I also struggled outside of the dinning room to get a chair I could get in and out off! All very low.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a new hair dryer. No worry about getting a noisey room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I took my wife here several years back for a night away. What an amazing place. The accommodation was very nice and clean, the interior of the house was beautiful and comfortable, the open log fires and furnishings made you feel like sitting back, putting your feet up and having a whiskey on the rocks. With the big brown bear!

The food, delicious. The grounds and walled garden, tranquil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This has been our third trip to Kinloch House and it was just as good as ever. We come here for the peace and quiet and to chill out for the weekend. On one trip we had the place to ourselves for most of the day and we felt like we were the lord and lady of the manor!
It doesn't matter what the weather is like outside because it is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. The staff could not be more attentive and friendly, and the manager Paul is always on hand.
If I had one criticism it is that the menu hasn't changed much in the three trips but the food you get is excellent.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have good views of the countryside.
We'll keep coming back as long as the standards stays as high.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

A wonderful country house hotel which delivered a high quality overall experience which exemplified all that is best about an establishment where all the staff are completely confident and excel in their responsibilities.
The decor and furnishings are entirely suited to a country hotel; the spaciousness of the bedrooms and public areas is generous and the whole establishment has a lovely comfortable feel.
The service and quality in the dining room matched the standards set everywhere else, thoroughly complementing all other features of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silver60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
5.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
14.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.9 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch House

Property: Kinloch House
Address: Kinloch By Blairgowrie | Perthshire, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kinloch House 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of glorious Perthshire, famous for its stunningly beautiful countryside with lochs, rivers and trees, Kinloch House is the ideal base from which to explore the area while staying in a family-run Scottish country house providing a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. Dating from 1840 the charming house offers bedrooms and public rooms individually appointed with fine fabrics and furnishings and a stunning entrance hall with log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kinloch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch House Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing