We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Country House”
Review of Kinloch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinloch House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lovely Country House”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Yet another wonderful experience at Kinloch House Hotel. A warm welcome on a chilly March evening--from the moment you step through the door you have that feeling of total relaxation.

Our bedroom suite was perfect, with wonderful views. Individual lounges created a wonderful atmosphere for us and our party guests--the staff are most attentive, a joy to be looked after by them.

What can we say about food--other than excellent, as usual! The whole ambiance of this Perthshire gem is breathtaking. Kinloch House we look forward to returning soon!

Thank you so much for making our three day visit so enchanting.

Mr & Mrs Bob King Yexley

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaYColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    50
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
24
193
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

As a winter treat we have just spent Friday and Saturday night at kinloch hotel. We had a superior room which was large, well equipped, warm and comfortable. The hotel looks the part and from the moment you walk into the reception and the six foot bear by the door startles you, it's everything you would expect from a country gents home. We ate in the restaurant and the al a carte menu was very good and service too match. The only thing I found strange for a hotel of this standard was no tea making facilities in the bedroom and a small charge if you requested a pot of tea in your room. The other item was poor wifi coverage in hotel, even in public areas where they advertise having free wifi. I would urge the owners to consider improving the wifi and at same time include bedrooms as in this day and age more and more people just expect immediate access to internet. Overall, hotel, food, setting and room very good and would stay here again. It was a very relaxing atmosphere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after a day skiing at Glenshee.
Met by name at the entrance and our bags taken up to our rooms.
Two very spacious rooms with lovely bathrooms.
Menu for dinner was in the room and we were phoned at six for our order to dine at seven.
Dinner was to a very high standard and tasty. After dinner we withdrew to one of the lounges with a log fire.
We had planned to go skiing after breakfast but decided to linger a little longer at the lodge and enjoy its luxurious rooms.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had a voucher deal for this hotel. Arrived to be given a junior suite which was huge. The staff were exceptional, attentive but unobtrusive, the food was lovely, including canapés and coffees with petit fours. The whole experience was exceptional. Would recommend it to anyone. The fires were the best for whiling away the afternoon with a book.

Room Tip: Clunie was excellent. Ground floor, huge and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsheDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My partner was celebrating a special birthday and I booked two nights at Kinloch House for us. What a special place is this 5star Hotel. Walking in through the front door the relaxed warm atmosphere hits you, open the door into the reception area and a gorgeous log fire was burning away nicely. The rooms were beautifully decorated spacious and very comfortable. I have been fortunate to have visited several Hotels of distinction over the years including Isle of Eriskay Hotel, Dalhousie Castle, Borthwick Castle and Turnberry Hotel. Kinloch House is in my opinion comes top of the list, an outstanding place to visit where the staff are exceptional, professional extremely friendly and courteous. We will not hesitate to return later this year, nestled a few hundreds yards off the road, Kinloch House is such a serene place to be to relax and recharge the batteries. The menu offered a appetising selection of Scottish produce and was beautifully presented. A big thank you to all the very professional and friendly staff who made this Birthday surprise unforgetable.

Room Tip: Any room is certainly worth laying your head down, although we were in a suite which was an experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Appin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in the hotel with four other friends earlier in January. The hotel is lovely and warm and welcoming with lots of soft sofas and log fires. Our welcome from Paul was excellent and we enjoyed fantastic shortbread, fruit loaf and lemon drizzle cake with our afternoon coffee. Rooms are really nicely appointed with lovely bathrooms and all the extras you would expect from a Relais & Chateau member. Dinner was also fabulous but I have to say I was a bit disappointed in the service from all except Paul. It was very stiff and formal totally lacking in any smiles or friendliness which was a great pity. While it didn't really detract from the experience at dinner, breakfast the next day was a different matter. Sunday breakfast is available only from 8.30 until 9.30 which was a bit of a surprise however Paul told us provided we were there at 9.30 it would be fine - unfortunately he wasn't on duty and the some of the staff made it abundantly clear that they weren't best pleased at us taking a leisurely breakfast by standing behind our table with arms folded and faces like thunder..... If this could just be sorted out by the hotel owners (who were away that weekend) it would get an excellent rating from me. Perhaps we just got the staff on a bad day - I hope so as the "hardware" and the food were really good. It is pretty good value for money given the quality of the rooms and the food and in a beautiful setting an easy drive from Edinburgh & Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

What a lovely experience- From the atmosphere walking in and being served tea and shortbread on comfy sofas, to the perfect and personal service and the gorgeous food, not forgetting the generous rooms (rather hot though!) Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
5.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
759 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
112 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,898 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
2.9 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch House

Property: Kinloch House
Address: Kinloch Kinloch By Blairgowrie | Perthshire, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kinloch House 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of glorious Perthshire, famous for its stunningly beautiful countryside with lochs, rivers and trees, Kinloch House is the ideal base from which to explore the area while staying in a family-run Scottish country house providing a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. Dating from 1840 the charming house offers bedrooms and public rooms individually appointed with fine fabrics and furnishings and a stunning entrance hall with log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kinloch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch House Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing