We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Improvement Required” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altamount House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altamount House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Improvement Required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Have just spent a weekend in Blairgowrie and 3 nights at this hotel. Our rooms (!!) were situated on the 1st floor both numbered rather than named - therein may lay a tale. The first room positive was that it was spacious but had a bizarre collection of furniture that may have come as a job lot from a boot sale - all clean but totally mismatched and not at all as one might expect from a £100 a night room!! Worse still was that the windows were difficult to open (one other was 'locked' by paint) and 2 roof lights without blinds, thus admitting sunlight at the earliest hours of the morning. The shower enclosure was in desperate need of a proper clean. Concerns were compounded by a district power failure on Friday night - candles to take to bed and no cooked breakfast the next day as the power outage persisted. We insisted on a change of room. 'Mark 2' was much better, small but coherently furnished. We particularly disliked the electric macerator attached to the toilet (fortunately the electricity was restored late Saturday afternoon!) but were able to sleep until a more civilised hour (no roof-lights and all the windows could be opened). The water system seemed unable to meet demand in that water almost stopped completely on Saturday night and hot water was unavailable from around 8:45 on Monday morning.
The hotel needs some careful and attentive management and a more critical eye cast over the guest facilities. There was just one lady who skilfully 'held the fort' all weekend and seemed to be the receptionist, the acting manager, chief cook and bottle washer - the owners were conspicuous by their absence.
Breakfast was 'served' in a huge function room and service was desperately slow. Three, sometimes four, wifi routers were 'visible', depending on your location in the premises, yet only one security password for one router was known by staff thus internet access restricted to the area around the reception and bar.
Despite all the issues, the 'per night' room rate was not adjusted, despite suggestions that a goodwill gesture would be in order. Indeed a coffee and a couple of evening drinks totalling £15 taken during the stay was added to the bill!!
The hotel is well located but that is about all that is going for it at this time - it could be so much better - be warned and book with eyes open - the rooms we had did not justify the price tag!!
We have talked of making Blairgowrie an annual trip for our group as the 3 golf courses are superb but Altamount Hotel will not be high on the list of residence options, indeed may not appear at all.

Room Tip: I would ask to see the offered room before accepting it - we believe the named rooms are generally g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    60
    28
    24
    17
See reviews for
33
95
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

On the plus side its a good location, the room in the courtyard was lovely and generally its a nice place. BUT here are my suggestions for the negatives:
- the hotel needs to be managed much better and focus on excellent customer service
- do breakfast in the restaurant not in the function room and get staff to take orders from guests rather than guests having to wait 20 mins and then find a member of staff to take their order
- get a back up generator for when the power goes off again
- take a look at the restaurant is overpriced and obviously under-occupied, change it or lose it
- refurbish the restaurant and the hotel in something more contemporary
Some younger members of staff are trying to deliver good customer service and with good management it could be a much better hotel

Room Tip: Courtyard is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blairgowrie hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a room in the courtyard. It was so peaceful and relaxing - apart from me running from the peacocks :) My partner loved it. The bed was huge. We had a few drinks at the table at night after coming back from dinner and nothing was said. Breakfast in the morning was brilliant. Buffet to begin with then a hot breakfast. We would definetly return on a deal again as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I guess from the reviews that the hotel has been promoting itself through ItsOn, and we took advantage of that these offers too. We booked a double and were placed in a twin, but when we queried this they immediately apologized and gave us another room, this time with a double and a single - oh well, plenty of space then. The peacocks certainly add a certain atmosphere to the hotel and they didn't manage to wake me up, but they are noisy animals!
The 'snug' where we had a few drinks before dinner was lovely, and dinner itself was very nice indeed. Nothing stunning, but very nice.
Breakfast was in the vast, echoing, conservatory - it was very nice, staff were attentive, and the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Altamount park last November but in one of the lodges. We returned last weekend using the Itison voucher. It was £89 for a two night break. We had two rooms and stayed in the courtyard rooms as we had a dog with us. The rooms were nice enough, the doors weren't great to open and close but suited our requirements. We went to their new Italian restaurant on our first night and were told it was quite busy that night so to make a reservation. When we were in the restaurant it was fairly quiet maybe only 4 tables... Our meal wasn't overly enjoyable. I had a garlic bread pizza to start, that had no taste and followed by a carbonara pasta dish that was covered in pepper so much so I didn't eat it for all I could taste was black pepper. My parter and dad ordered two different steaks from the menu. These were expensive and not inclusive of any veg or chips and when they arrived were tiny. They had asked for their steaks to be cooked differently and received the right steaks but cooked wrongly. The overall bill would have been over £100 but as it was frankly a but of a disaster they only charged us £58. Another thing to point out is their distinct lack of choice at the bar, there was only two ciders and no lagers or beers. We didn't rate the experience highly. We had breakfast both mornings and this was a different experience, you could eat as much continental as you wanted and order hot food too. The tea and coffee wasn't overly warm, served in flasks but we did enjoy the breakfast and it filled us up for the walks we undertook in the nearby forest. The young waitresses were very friendly and helpful. We found the main lady a bit abrupt, I don't think she meant to be but that's how it came across. She did ensure we had a good nights sleep and enjoyed breakfast following our dinner on the Sunday. I love Perthshire and this is a brilliant location but I think we preferred the lodge to the hotel. I would stay here again at one of the lodges but I'm not sure either the lodges or the hotel are worth what they charge.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikz2989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a one-night stay at this hotel last night and the room we were given was ok. Couple of wee problems - no hairdryer in room (we were given one by reception quickly) and the shower door kind of fell to bits when we opened it! Probably in need of refurbishment but was fine for the price we paid. Noisy plumbing is an issue but not one the hotel can probably do much about. Clean room and an adequate supply of coffees, tea, hot chocolate and even water (oh and delicious shortbread). Our room was exceptionally hot and one of the windows doesn't open - phewww!! We intended having dinner there however had reservations when the manager told us of teething troubles - chefs leaving etc - we then decided to go instead to the Angus Hotel for the tribute act / food. Breakfast was very tasty - great selection - and service with a smile was definitely what we found, with the general manager joining us while we had a drink at the bar on arrival and the waitress who served our breakfast was very attentive to our needs. Overall a nice hotel which has bags of potential - I hope it can get there. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sn0rm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Having just left the Altamount Country Hotel in Blairgowrie we can only state what a disappointment! Having thoroughly checked the location before we booked two months ago this hotel does not live up to its advertising. It is under new ownership and they have recently lost the Italian chef.

The rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. The Scottish restaurant is non existent, the Veneziano Italian restaurant bears no relation to any Italian restaurant we have ever visited, no pizza, no lasagne and vegetarian option. We were offered the three main courses chicken, fish or steak, we ordered chicken and fish mains which we all agreed was dreadful over cooked chicken undercooked potatoes some of the worst food we have ever tasted. Prior to booking we requested vegetarian courses, no problem the manager said but we served the same starter and main course and when we queried this he just shrugged his shoulders and walked away.

Breakfasts were better but we would not recommend a stay here until changes have been made.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.3 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#7 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamount House Hotel

Property: Altamount House Hotel
Address: Coupar Angus Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altamount House Hotel in Blairgowrie has reopened in March 2014 under new owners after extensive refurbishments. It is a family run business and we like to think that we can provide you with a "home from home" experience in one of Scotland's most magnificent Counties. The Georgian house was built as a private home in 1800, and although restored in some areas we have managed to maintain all of its Periodic Charm. Altamount House is set within 6 acres of beautifully peaceful gardens and mature woodlands in the heart of Perthshire and we welcome you from near or afar. Although the Hotel is only a 5 minute walk into the Blairgowrie town centre, it is very quiet and secluded in its grounds, which makes it a perfect venue for Weddings, Conferences or just a romantic break for 2!!! If you prefer a more action packed holiday Golf, Fishing, Shooting and Skiing are all on our doorstep. Rosemount and Lansdowne Championship Golf courses are just 1 mile away, with a further 40 courses within 10-30 minutes from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Altamount House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamount Hotel Blairgowrie
Altamount House Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing