We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go if you want to have a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altamount House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't go if you want to have a good time”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

horrible staff and manager, we had music on at 9.30pm and our courtyard door was not closed properly so the manager barges in our room no knock or anything telling us that we were to noisy! so the next morning at breakfast nothing was said to us got dirty looks from most of the staff, then at half past 3 in afternoon we were asked to leave as they did not trust us to make more noise that evening!! we had paid for 2nights why should have to leave for that reason it is disgraceful!! no refund just told to leave, terible attitude of manager will not be back.

Room Tip: if you want to listen to music and have a good time this is not for you, you will be evicted!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hol1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    60
    28
    24
    17
See reviews for
33
95
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Booked a two night stay through groupon with my partner, what a lovely hotel with lovely staff. We stayed in the old stables and the room was very clean with tea and coffee making facilities. The stay included breakfast and there was a great choice and it was really good food. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cara250472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Husband booked this for a birthday present for two days.... We upgraded to the honeymoon suite (£70) extra for 2 nights, as husband felt our room was quite basic. Must say the honeymoon room was lovely..it's not 5 star but its not 5 star prices either... It's quaint, romantic and v friendly, the reception, waiters n waitresses could not b nicer, especially Sheila... There's plenty near by to occupy urself whatever ur taste! Wud recommend the hotel restaurant and cargills bistro in the centre is a 5 min walk away..
Would def stay again
Lesa Gibson.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked through Groupon earlier in the year but due to work commitments etc we almost ran out of time to take up the deal until a very friendly member of staff offered us the honeymoon suite as a last minute deal.
Very romantic we thought and very romantic it turned out to be with check in done a very friendly young lad showed us to our room, told us about dinner times and breakfast then served us drinks at the very cosy bar.
Dinner was very tasty, served promptly and efficiently and could not be faulted.
Drinks later in the tv lounge were relaxing before we headed for our room and attempted to climb onto a very lalrge and comfy 4 poster bed......for a great nights sleep.....
Breakfast was again served on time and hot and tasty.
The hotel is an old and charming building with lovely grounds with plenty walks. Would certainly stay here again on a longer basis to take advantage of the beautiful area around blairgowrie.
Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Blairhill room. Might be worth the Groupon price of £99 for two for two nights, but if I had been paying the 'supposed' £360', We would not have stayed. The central heating did not work and so on the first night we were frozen (5th October) until we found a fan heater in the wardrobe and eventually instructions in a drawer. We were not advised of this and definitively not the standard we expected. The furniture was old which would have been acceptable if good condition but great difficulty opening a drawer because a handle was missing! The walls of the shower cubicle were stained with soap! On the plus side the staff were very pleasant, sandwiches served in room were excellent and room was cleaned on second day but not shower. Nice touch was the bottled water provided in room and replaced for second night. Breakfast cereal table was a bit sparse with no grapefruit or other fruit but porridge was excellent as was fresh fruit salad which was only available as an alternative to a cooked breakfast. Are the worst rooms given to Groupon as other reviews refer to rooms as good and brochure looked lovely as did website?

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Hull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just had a 3 night break at the log cabins. Cabins are comfy and clean. If you want a secluded site this isn't for you as it is off a main road. We were lucky enough to get one that was high up and away from the road and the view from the window was of trees. It is a 5 minute walk into the town which is very nice and the people are friendly. Would stay here again as a great base to tour the Highlands.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 12 good spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

1st impressions a bit doubtful, however this very quickly disappeared as the staff could not be anymore helpful ,friendly and could not do enough for you. The meal was to a high standard, rooms well heated and very clean. Would visit again and also recommend it

Room Tip: Courtyard was good as we were able to sit in the garden however it could have been a problem if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.4 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
101 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamount House Hotel

Property: Altamount House Hotel
Address: Coupar Angus Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altamount House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altamount House Hotel in Blairgowrie has reopened in March 2014 under new owners after extensive refurbishments. It is a family run business and we like to think that we can provide you with a "home from home" experience in one of Scotland's most magnificent Counties. The Georgian house was built as a private home in 1800, and although restored in some areas we have managed to maintain all of its Periodic Charm. Altamount House is set within 6 acres of beautifully peaceful gardens and mature woodlands in the heart of Perthshire and we welcome you from near or afar. Although the Hotel is only a 5 minute walk into the Blairgowrie town centre, it is very quiet and secluded in its grounds, which makes it a perfect venue for Weddings, Conferences or just a romantic break for 2!!! If you prefer a more action packed holiday Golf, Fishing, Shooting and Skiing are all on our doorstep. Rosemount and Lansdowne Championship Golf courses are just 1 mile away, with a further 40 courses within 10-30 minutes from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altamount House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamount Hotel Blairgowrie
Altamount House Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing